• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

splinter cell double agent WARNING

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#1
Once again the time has come for the pc game company's to alienate there customers by forcing them to upgrade hardware just to play games.

I wish i would have found this out before wasting my time with this game but SCDA will only run on cards with full ps3.0 support apparently ps2.0 is now inferior plus this game uses the unreal 3 engine so i guess all u3 engine games are gonna be like this so start saving your money for that new gfx card:shadedshu
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#2
That ridiculous, I'm not impressed if all Unreal based games need SM3... I thought nearly all games before that would work on less than SM2. Everyone may have a go at valve for Steam (well they did at the time) but at least they made a quality game with the best graphics yet it could run on a very low spec PC (DX7). Thanks for the heads up.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#3
heres the full sys rec's-

PC requirements

* Supported OS: Windows® XP (only)
* Processor: 3 Ghz Pentium® 4 or AMD Athlon™ 3000 (3.5 Ghz Pentium 4 or Athlon 3500 recommended). Game optimized for Dual-processor-enabled computers.
* RAM: 1 GB
* Video Card: Direct X® 9.0c-compliant, Shader 3.0-enabled 128 MB video card (256 MB recommended) (see supported list*)
* Sound Card: DirectX® 9.0c-compatible (EAX" recommended) - PC audio solution containing Dolby® Digital *Live required for Dolby Digital audio.
* DirectX Version: 9.0c or higher (9.0c included on disc)
* DVD-ROM: 4x DVD-ROM or faster
* Hard Drive Space: 8 GB
* Peripherals Supported: Mouse, keyboard
* Multiplayer: Broadband connection with 128 kbps upstream or faster

* Supported video cards at time of release:

* ATI® X1600/X1800/X1900
* NVidia® 6600 /6800/7300/7600/7800/7900

i got it today so i'll let you know how it runs tommorow.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#4
I bet Crysis will be the same way.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#5
Nope

Minimum Requirements

CPU: Athlon 64 3000+/Intel 2.8ghz
Graphics: Nvidia 6600/X800GTO (SM 2.0)
RAM: 768Mb/1Gb on Windows Vista
HDD: 6GB
Internet: 256k+
Optical Drive: DVD
Software: DX9.0c with Windows XP

Recommended Requirements

CPU: Dual-core CPU (Athlon X2/Pentium D)
Graphics: Nvidia 7800GTX/ATI X1800XT (SM 3.0) or DX10 equivalent
RAM: 1.5Gb
HDD: 6GB
Internet: 512k+ (128k+ upstream)
Optical Drive: DVD
Software: DX10 with Windows Vista
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#6
I might sell my X800 GTO AGP and get an X1650pro AGP...

How much do you think i could get for it, 6 months old?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,909 (0.65/day)
Likes
659
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#7
i mean shit i was expecting to have to upgrade eventually or just play games at lower settings but i wasn't expecting to be completely shut out of newer games just like that because my $50 bucks isnt worth the developer creating a ps 2.0 path for the game thats why i totally agree with jimmy about valve at least they take the time to fully develop there games did css not work when it first came out?

shit even the beta the online worked flawlessly did hl2 constantly crash for no reason whatsoever ? wish i could say the same for 2142 which has more problems then the game its based off of i mean come on wtf bf2 is the same game how can you re encode the same stupid problems that plagued your first game on that engine to a new one beta test and all and still have something as stupid as the stats not updating properly didn't you guys fix it for bf2 ...

End Rant:banghead:

And the pc game industry wonders why it still sees a constant decline
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#8
heres a pic-

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
654 (0.15/day)
Likes
18
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
Processor Intel Core I7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30
Memory 32GB DDR3 (16GB Corsair XMS3 / 16GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical)
Video Card(s) AMD 280X
Storage Samsung 840 / Crucial BX100
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T / BenQ EW2430
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 831
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Recon3D
Power Supply Corsair 750W HX Modular
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Professional
#9
seems a bit early to be dropping sm2 support bad move on their part
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#10
I'm not too impressed by that SCDA screeny. It looks like the doom 3 engine with 5x the aliasing and twice the requirements :p. Reason #1 to go DX10/Vista- It actually looks good.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#11
I think that would look nice if it was brighter and a higher quality JPG.
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.37/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#12
Requires all that, but yet only a gig of ram. Isn't 1 gig of ram low for a gaming pc? IDK? But on the Vista note, I'll be a victim for it when it comes out. :eek:
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#13
1GB isn't too low for a gaming PC. 512MB should be able to run everything, 2GB makes little difference compared to a CPU or GPU upgrade at the moment. For a minimum 1GB is very high. Considering Half Life doesn't look much worse but only need 256MB...
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#14
i'll post a 1280x1024 screenie soon,that one is only 1024 coz i was expecting it to be terribly hard to run.i'll put fraps on too.
 

efilflah

New Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
The dropping of PS2.0 support is absolutely ridiculous. I can't believe they would purposely alienate 60 odd percent of their potential PC market in such a pathetically "business-like" way.

It's not as if the game needs it because it's impossible on ps2.0 cards (even though that's been the official word), it's simply because it's a buggy lazy christmas rushed port of a game developed primarily for the xbox360.

It pisses me right off since I only recently got my x800 because I didn't see the point in doing a massive upgrade with DX10, Vista and the new cards still a way off. What is the point in (in my case) upgrading, my graphics, my motherboard and my cpu in order to play one buggy port of a game?

There is none. They've just lost me as a customer until they sort this out, and if they don't...well I'll do what they want, I'll spend xxx amount of cash to upgrade my PC, but sadly that'll leave none left to buy their game, so I'll simply get it another way.

Lazy bastards.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#16
HL2 With the high res pack needs at least a 512 video card and a gig of onboard.




 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#17
Well without any extras installed my PC can run half life 2 at max settings no problem.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#18
Well without any extras installed my PC can run half life 2 at max settings no problem.
But with the High Res pack installed you need more.


I coudn't run it at all with my 9600XT and 3.0Ghz with a gig of ram. I still get stutters sometimes with my current specs.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#19
But with the High Res pack installed you need more.


I coudn't run it at all with my 9600XT and 3.0Ghz with a gig of ram. I still get stutters sometimes with my current specs.
I might have to try that sometime, see if I can get HL2 looking even nicer. I admire games like Half Life because they have been written so that they will run smooth without being a pile of bland rubbish on any system from the last few years. Some games (like BF2142 to a certain extent) don't run all that smoothly and don't look to amazing compared to other games. Admittedly in multiplayer games I make sure to turn down settings so I'm never at a disadvantage.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bronx, NY
#20
just got double agent the other day (2-3 days ago) and it actually looks damn purty, my system is ok but i still think it has impressive graphics. they made it for 360 so maybe they didnt get a chance or were too lazy to do it. i do agree that it sucks but i think this is going to happen more and more when companies are going to try to force consumers to upgrade to a certain level in order to attain a higher level of graphics and not worry about lower end users. i certainly agree it blows since i dont have money to spend like that and the rig i have now is my first new comp since 01 (upgraded it throughout the years till it got fried over the summer.)
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#21
just got double agent the other day (2-3 days ago) and it actually looks damn purty, my system is ok but i still think it has impressive graphics. they made it for 360 so maybe they didnt get a chance or were too lazy to do it. i do agree that it sucks but i think this is going to happen more and more when companies are going to try to force consumers to upgrade to a certain level in order to attain a higher level of graphics and not worry about lower end users. i certainly agree it blows since i dont have money to spend like that and the rig i have now is my first new comp since 01 (upgraded it throughout the years till it got fried over the summer.)
What specs do you have just as an idea of how well it runs?