• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Spot Signs of SATA Performance Degradation on Cougar Point P67/H67 Chipsets

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
Apparently there's a "slim" chance of users actually being affected by the recently-discovered chipset design error plaguing Intel's Cougar Point 6-series chipsets that drive the SandyBridge processors. Intel pegs this at 5% performance degradation caused due to data transfer errors over a period of 3 years. Users of Romanian tech community Lab 501 found out a way of detecting if your hard drives connected to the damage-prone SATA ports are already showing signs of errors.

Show full news post
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#2
Ironically, rectified batches of Barcelona/Agena AMD Phenom/Opteron processors also carried the "B3" revision. :)
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2010
Messages
56 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Processor i7 950
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Extreme
Memory Kingston HyperX 3x 2GiB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 570
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + 8TB
Power Supply Chieftec 750W
#3
So.. Where is the screen where exact drive is connected to sata3 port and showing different smart values? Looks like bad drive to me.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
When I had a bad sata cable, There was only errors on (C6) Ultra DMA CRC Error Count.
In screenshot I see faulty drive and errors caused by chipset. It looks to me that it's affecting HDD's contrary to what Intel said, or HDD used for test is bad.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,015 (0.98/day)
Likes
477
Location
Hong Kong
Processor AMD FX-8350 @4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asrock 990FX Extreme9
Cooling CoolerMaster Seidon 120XL
Memory A-RAM DDR3 2000
Video Card(s) PowerColor HD7970 3GB V3
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G + Max IOPS 120G + Seagate 7200.12 250GB *2 Raid 0 + Samsung HD103UJ 1TB *2 RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster S24B370
Case SilverStone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair TX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#5
Ironically, rectified batches of Barcelona/Agena AMD Phenom/Opteron processors also carried the "B3" revision. :)
So are there any bios fixes for it this round? :laugh:
 

faugusztin

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor Core i5 750
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1333 CL7
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX570 Phantom
Storage Patriot Torqx 128GB
Display(s) HP LP2475w
Case Fractal Design Define R3 Arctic White
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#6
@Swamp Monster: no, the drive is not having problem. Look at those values. Spin up time of 677248117 seconds ?

This screen simply shows unreliable data transfer, which results in scrambled and stupid SMART data => sign of the errors in data transfers.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
582 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Latvia
System Name Spyder
Processor Phenom 2 x4 940 @3.5GHz
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 612S
Memory 2x2 GB Patriot Viper + 2x2 GB Kingston Value 800MHz [5-5-5-12] DDR2
Video Card(s) MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
Storage Crucial M550 256GB+WD Black 1TB + WD Caviar RE 500GB + 2TB Seagate Ext backup
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master Elite 430
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum+custom made HP AMP+Sennheiser HD380
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850w Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard ElE Game1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
^If it damages smart data, then ok, I understand. But it reveals another problem - One can't see when HDD is actually making errors ,becaue its already showing false errors.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
40 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#8
from one of the guys at lab501
It's not about the actual SMART data, but about the fact that HDTune reads it corrupted. What we know is that the problem is an excessively polarised FET transistor in the clocking circuit of the S-ATA II interface (reliable info, not sure if it's official), that only some motherboards show the SMART corruption in HDTune and only on the S-ATA II ports, and this SMART corrupted readout is sometimes associated with other type of software errors. Putting it together, results SMART corrupted readout in HDTune is a sign of early S-ATA II degradation; we haven't yet seen completely not working S-ATA II interface (as Intel says that's the final evolution of this bug), but in time they should show up.
and although they omitted the results on SATA3, they tested it and there are user screenshots in the forum topic opened there (but u need to be registered to see them )

time and more user feedback will tell

PS. I posted pictures from the topic there, but too see them u need to browse the forum, and not the direct topic in the site
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
802 (0.18/day)
Likes
462
Location
Romania
Processor i5-2500K
Motherboard ASRock P67 Extreme4
Cooling Ninja 3 fanless
Memory Corsair 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9 XMS3 rev. A
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6GB
Storage Intel 535 Series 120GB + WD 6400AAKS
Display(s) Benq EW2420
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Win 10
#9
My two cents here.
I have a user on another forum. This is how it looks in HDTune

hdtune.jpg

And how it looks in CDI or another SMART reading software.

cdi.jpg

So I'd take HDTune results with a grain of salt.
 

faugusztin

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor Core i5 750
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1333 CL7
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX570 Phantom
Storage Patriot Torqx 128GB
Display(s) HP LP2475w
Case Fractal Design Define R3 Arctic White
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#10
Do you realize that that other software could do something like checksum test, or try to run same test few times, while HDTune takes the first result value ?
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
205 (0.06/day)
Likes
45
Location
Richmond,VA
Processor FX8350 @ 4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FX-GD80 v2
Cooling Hyper 212 evo
Memory 16gb G.Skill 1866 8-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7950
Storage Samsung 512GB 850 Pro SSD ; 3 x 1TB Seagate Drives Standalone
Display(s) Twin Dell E2215H
Case Rosewill Blackhawk Ultra
Power Supply Seasonic 850X Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#11
yeah....i'll think I'll wait before pulling the trigger on I7 2600K
 

Andy77

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
119 (0.04/day)
Likes
11
#12
yeah....i'll think I'll wait before pulling the trigger on I7 2600K
You mean P67/H67... AFAIK 2600K is a fine CPU!

Also I wouldn't trust them so much. I've read them in the past and they did some n00b-ish mistakes and this might be just one of those mistakes.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
#13
No idea what this means but I have lost 8 drives in total on this Asus WS Revolution mb so far on the 3 Gb/s ports. This latest install is on the 6 Gb/s port.

These tests on the 6 Gb/s port -






Followed by these on the 3 Gb/s port -



 
Joined
Jul 19, 2008
Messages
1,160 (0.34/day)
Likes
236
Location
Australia
Processor Intel i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120
Memory Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz 4X4GB
Video Card(s) Asus R290X
Storage Samsung 850 Pro SSD 256GB/Samsung 840 Evo SSD 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S23A950D
Case Corsair 850D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 x64
#14
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#15
Why do they recommend HD-Tune Pro to check SMART values? It's available in the free version as well; I use it all the time at work.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#16
Has anyone tried to test with HDD Sentinel? I have this prog and it's great to detect problems with non-RAIDed (and some RAIDed ones) HDDs. Unfortunately, i'm still on socket 775 so i can't test this myself :(
 

bear jesus

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#17
I have been kind of hoping that a tech site would stress the chip to try and show the effects, if Intel received complaints then managed to reproduce the problem all in the short time since release i assumed it would pretty easy to reproduce the issue in a short time and not the years that Intel has suggested.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#19
Why do they recommend HD-Tune Pro to check SMART values? It's available in the free version as well; I use it all the time at work.
You're missing out on a more updated program with more SMART values then...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardware/2011/02/04/gigabyte-releases-sandy-bridge-fault-checke/

If you actually want to check the Chipset, Gigabyte has a vendor neutral solution for it.


edit- Oh man... completely disregard this as a solution. Instead consider it free LOL's at Gigabyte for their... solution.




It checks what ports are being used, and flags thet SATA-2 ones... for being in use. lol
lol what an awesome program.

what'll be funny is if you use it and it just claims that all sata II ports are faulty, even on external sata controllers.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,573 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,474
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#21
Ironically, rectified batches of Barcelona/Agena AMD Phenom/Opteron processors also carried the "B3" revision. :)
i also found it to be a bit funny that the "cursed" B2 stepping plagued not only AMD but also intel :p its only funnier that they have repaired them and called them B3's :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,647 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#22
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
662 (0.21/day)
Likes
85
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#23
I have been kind of hoping that a tech site would stress the chip to try and show the effects, if Intel received complaints then managed to reproduce the problem all in the short time since release i assumed it would pretty easy to reproduce the issue in a short time and not the years that Intel has suggested.
Give a system to me in my nas.
It loads 35mb/sec 24/7.