• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SSD Caching

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#1
hey, im new to SSD caching. sooooooooooo got a few question

I was thinking of buying a SSD Cache Drive

1.But will it support X58 Boards??
2.If i can put one in my system, Can it work with my SSD Boot drive (i also have 3 Hard Drives)
3.If i can with my Setup. Are there SSD caching drives that dont make you re-install Win7?

also does it just do caching for 1 drive or all?

lol and if there's anything more i need to know just throw it in your post

:toast: thanks
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#2
Pretty sure SSD caching is only supported by Intel chipsets that are Z68 and newer.
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#3
Pretty sure SSD caching is only supported by Intel chipsets that are Z68 and newer.
yeah. lol ive been told that but not sure
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
619 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#4
Pretty sure SSD caching is only supported by Intel chipsets that are Z68 and newer.
My motherboard is a AMD chipset (790FX) and I have SSD caching.

hey, im new to SSD caching. sooooooooooo got a few question

I was thinking of buying a SSD Cache Drive

1.But will it support X58 Boards??
2.If i can put one in my system, Can it work with my SSD Boot drive (i also have 3 Hard Drives)
3.If i can with my Setup. Are there SSD caching drives that dont make you re-install Win7?

also does it just do caching for 1 drive or all?

lol and if there's anything more i need to know just throw it in your post

:toast: thanks
1 - Yes every motherboards are supported.

2 - No it won't work with your SSD.

3 - All SSD caching solution wont make you re-install windows.

4 - It can only cache 1 hard drive.

Why do you want SSD Caching? (Since you already have a SSD).
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#5
not sure. just saw them and was wondering if they could benefit me at all. but im guessing not

but would it work good for my game hard drive?... or is that just unnecessary and a waste of money

my drive setup is
ssd - boot & firefox only
1tb - games only
1tb - random storage (moved my Temp files on this drive)
80gb - programs (i moved my users folder on this drive)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#6
My motherboard is a AMD chipset (790FX) and I have SSD caching.



1 - Yes every motherboards are supported.

2 - No it won't work with your SSD.

3 - All SSD caching solution wont make you re-install windows.

4 - It can only cache 1 hard drive.

Why do you want SSD Caching? (Since you already have a SSD).
I imagine you are referring to a software solution, which isn't the way I took his question.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
978 (0.43/day)
Likes
215
Location
coast ,melbourne
System Name THE MEDIAMACHINE
Processor i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus gene v z-77 matx.
Cooling Antec h20 620
Memory 2x4gb g.skill ripjaws z 2400
Video Card(s) h.i.s radeon 7950 reference 3 gb- hooray!!!
Storage samsung 128gb~830 ssd. samsung 500gb hdrive.
Display(s) 22 inch tele.
Case circa 1996 grey rat box with no sides front.until my own is finished
Audio Device(s) inbuilt creative.supreme effects 3
Power Supply thermaltake tt-500w
Software win 7 x64-
Benchmark Scores Coming soon
#7
If you've got an ssd as your primary boot drive, then there's no point i'd imagine.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
619 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#8
not sure. just saw them and was wondering if they could benefit me at all. but im guessing not

but would it work good for my game hard drive?... or is that just unnecessary and a waste of money

my drive setup is
ssd - boot & firefox only
1tb - games only
1tb - random storage (moved my Temp files on this drive)
80gb - programs (i moved my users folder on this drive)
You could see a benefit, if your caching SSD is using SATA 3. I personally have a Corsair accelerator SATA 2 since my motherboard is limited to SATA 2 and my loading speed are a little faster but the main thing is the boot time that has drastically changed.

I imagine you are referring to a software solution, which isn't the way I took his question.
I'm referring to NVELO and you were referring to Smart Response? Both are great.







 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#9
You could see a benefit, if your caching SSD is using SATA 3. I personally have a Corsair accelerator SATA 2 since my motherboard is limited to SATA 2 and my loading speed are a little faster but the main thing is the boot time that has drastically changed.



I'm referring to NVELO and you were referring to Smart Response? Both are great.

http://img.hardcoreware.net/wordpre...crucial-adrenaline-crysis-2-launch.png?9d7bd4

http://img.hardcoreware.net/wordpre...l-adrenaline-crysis-2-new-campaign.png?9d7bd4

http://img.hardcoreware.net/wordpre...2/05/crucial-adrenaline-bf3-launch.png?9d7bd4

http://img.hardcoreware.net/wordpre...rucial-adrenaline-bf3-new-campaign.png?9d7bd4
cool, so now im thinkin just get one for my game drive lol

do you recommend it?
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
619 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#10
cool, so now im thinkin just get one for my game drive lol

do you recommend it?
If you have a SATA 3 port that is not in use (since you only have 2 sata 3), yes I would recommend it, Crucial Adrenaline or Mushkin Enhanced Catalyst would be my personal choice.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
351 (0.12/day)
Likes
149
System Name Desktop [Custom] / Laptop [Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830T]
Processor Intel Core i5 6600K [3.5GHz/3.9GHz Turbo][4C/4T] / Core i3 2370M [2.4GHz][2C/4T]
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 [Z170][F22i] / Acer JM40-HR [HM65]
Cooling CPU: CM Hyper 212 Evo 2x120mm Case Fans: Front-120mm, Rear-120mm, Side-120mm Blue LED
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR4 2400 16GB [1x16GB][15-15-15-35] / DDR3 1333 8GB [2x4GB][9-9-9-24@1.5V]
Video Card(s) (Gigabyte) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8GB FE [Driver: 385.69] / Intel HD 3000 [128MB]
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS] / Agility 3 120GB [FW: 2.22][OS]
Display(s) DELL 27" S2740L [1920x1080@60Hz][IPS][LED] / InnoLux 14" [1366x768@60Hz][LED]
Case COOLER MASTER Storm Scout (SGC-2000-KKN1-GP)
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core 3D / Conexant HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750W [+12V@ 60A 720W][Typical Efficiency: 83.92%]
Mouse Logitech M570 Trackball
Keyboard Logitech Access Keyboard 600
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional [64-bit][SP1] / Windows 10 Pro [1709][64-bit]
#11
You may also want to consider SanDisk's ReadyCache SSD, it uses Condusiv Technologies ExpressCache software instead of NVELO's Dataplex software, which is used with the OCZ Synapse, Crucial Adrenaline, Corsair Accelerator, and Mushkin Enhanced Catalyst caching SSD's.
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#12
alright cool. how long do these drives usually last for?

and i take it i should take my game drive off sata 3 and put it on sata 2 and put the cache drive on sata 3

note i only have 2 sata 3 ports ssd on 1 of them and game drive on other

lol this should be my last post

srry for all the questions. i just dont wanna skip anything

EDIT: looking at the sizes and what size do i get??, my game folder is 46GB and may get bigger later on.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
619 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#13
alright cool. how long do these drives usually last for?

and i take it i should take my game drive off sata 3 and put it on sata 2 and put the cache drive on sata 3

note i only have 2 sata 3 ports ssd on 1 of them and game drive on other

lol this should be my last post

srry for all the questions. i just dont wanna skip anything

EDIT: looking at the sizes and what size do i get??, my game folder is 46GB and may get bigger later on.
IDK how long it will last but mine is running since 6 months, I had to reinstall NVELO 3 or 4 times, because of the updates and loss in performance. (If you feel like it's getting slower, just uninstall and reinstall than the perf should be back to normal).

IDK what your performance will be if your hard drive is in SATA 2 and your caching SSD on SATA 3. Maybe someone knows but I don't. BTW it should not be slow.

With NVELO the maximum hard drive you can use is 2TB. Since your hard drive is 1tb, you should not have a single problem. Like I said my personal choice would be Crucial Adrenaline 50GB or Mushkin Enhanced Catalyst 50GB (or 100GB if the price is low).
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#14
yeah, i just benched the drive on both SATA 3 and SATA 2 and there was only a 1.2Mb read difference lol

so ill only see improvements with a cache drive