• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SSD instead of Raid0 HDDs...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#1
Hi Guys,

I have no experience with SSD.
I intend to replace my Raid0 HDDs by a SSD (probably a Samsung 830).

Can I use (without trouble) Acronis True Image to restore an image of my Raid0 (XP Pro SP3) to only one SSD?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#2
As long as you can load the driver for the controller it should work
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#3
Which driver are you talking about?

Have I to install something (for the SSD) on my HDD's before to do an image with Acronis?
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#4
It's tricky because you're going from the RAID driver to the AHCI driver. You need to make sure that the system has the AHCI driver ready to go or it won't boot. You're much better off backing up all of your data and doing a clean installation. I highly recommend upgrading to a newer version of windows though. XP doesn't have TRIM support, not that you need it, but it can be useful to have? What does the rest of your rig have if you don't mind me asking.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#5
Do you mean I can't leave my BIOS set to Raid?
Recently with one of my PC's using only one HDD, I have been obliged to set the BIOS to Raid before to restore a Raid0 image from my other PC...

For TRIM, I think the Samsung tool (Magician) can be used with XP...

Finally, my need is to avoid a new Windows installation...
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Do you mean I can't leave my BIOS set to Raid?
Not if you want TRIM. A modern motherboard might work, but since you're running XP I'm assuming that it isn't new enough, I could be mistaken but I don't think I am. I could tell if you filled in your system specs.
Recently with one of my PC's using only one HDD, I have been obliged to set the BIOS to Raid before to restore a Raid0 image from my other PC...
If I understand you correctly, that is because of drivers if the two machines are the same. I'm a little confused with this statement though.
Finally, my need is to avoid a new Windows installation...
Any particular reason, if you don't mind me asking?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#7
My 4 last PC's use Intel Core 2 Duo (3 E8400 + 1 E6400) and the MB's are Asus (P5Q Deluxe, P5Q-E, P5E, P5B-E).

I have a lot of software/data on them and it's impossible for me to reinstall from the beginning (a lot of years ago) without to spend too much time...

Keep also in mind that only XP accept to restart from an image when the MB is replaced... (Seven is not capable to do it, it's for me only an enhanced Vista)...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,403 (0.61/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
Clean install of windows 7 would be good with bios set to AHCI or even RAID setting works with 1 SSD
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,639
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
XP does not support RAID/AHCI natively. You have to install the driver before your SSD will show up. Unless you use IDE then your image wont work. Anyway you easiest, best proformance solution is to get windows 7
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#11
XP does not support RAID/AHCI natively. You have to install the driver before your SSD will show up. Unless you use IDE then your image wont work. Anyway you easiest, best proformance solution is to get windows 7
The required driver for XP is iaStor.sys and it is already installed because I intend to use my raid0 image...
 

peri

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
I've swapped and changed drive types and raid/non raid setups many times. I've always tried the lazy way of imaging an OS to the new setup, and its probably worked 10% of the time.

Even if it does actually boot (and doesn't blue screen 2 seconds into windows starting up), it never 'feels' as good as a clean install.

fwiw, I'd just say start from scratch - its quicker and easier in the long run.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#13
Seriously, I don't remember when my first XP Pro installation was (a long time ago).
Since, I only use Acronis to copy an image without any trouble.
The only little thing I have to do is to clean the registry (deleting old drivers, adding new).
All my PC's work perfectly...
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#14
Just Back up All Your Important Stuff To An External Drive And Do A Clean Install Of Windows 7 With Ahci Set In The Bios. Windows 7 Is Infinitely Better Then XP And You Will Get Better Performance And Support For That Ssd In The Long Run.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#16
You've a great sense of humour... or you work for Micro$oft... :laugh:
As a matter of fact, I do work for Microsoft as a Lab Engineer. Still doesn't change the fact that Windows 7 is a better OS.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#17
As a matter of fact, I do work for Microsoft as a Lab Engineer. Still doesn't change the fact that Windows 7 is a better OS.
Damned !

I'm a software engineer who knew all the Windows versions (8 excepted), and I can tell you...
that I'm infinitely more performant in using XP than 7 ! :D
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#18
Damned !

I'm a software engineer who knew all the Windows versions (8 excepted), and I can tell you...
that I'm infinitely more performant in using XP than 7 ! :D
XP was good OS at the time, but things have changed and Windows 7 has a lot better support for more current hardware.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#20
Holding on to XP is only going to hurt you as it gets older and older. Even hospitals are starting to get rid of it. I recommend making a new image with Windows 7 so if you do need to do this again at least you can start again from 7. It does take time to initially set it up, but using an old installation for a long period of time will slow down a machine in itself. I think upgrading is a win/win if your software supports it.

You can be resistant to the idea as much as you want but it's the best option IMHO. Also may you will find that you don't need half of the stuff you have installed anyways. More often than not that is what happens when I reformat.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#21
Seriously. Dump XP already; you will be so glad you did. Especially now that you are planning to go SSD (and that kind of throws your "old truck" argument out the window).
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#23
Yeah I would be scared if they were still using a 10-year-old OS that was developed before wireless networking and flat panel displays existed. To say nothing of solid state disks.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#25
Bad luck, I can prove you that Seven is worst than Xp for wireless networks (see my signature)... :laugh:
A forum doesn't prove that your right. :confused:
I also don't call shared web space a good start, no offense.

Windows 7 isn't a bad OS and neither was XP. The difference is XP is out of support with Microsoft and any security holes that still exist aren't going to get patched, that is why hospitals and major institutions are upgrading now. XP also doesn't support the newer technologies coming out and can't efficiently utilize certain resources.

Also don't give me the "it is worse" garbage for wireless networks and XP. XP has had terrible wi-fi support from the minute they added. I've had fewer issues with wireless on Vista than I did on XP, and 7 didn't get any worse.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.