• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

SSD instead of Raid0 HDDs...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#26
Aquinis can be the patient voice of reason. I am all about the dramatic here.

For the love of god do not let Windows XP, much less not a clean install, touch a sweet new Samsung 8xx SSD! Why don't you just use punch cards?

Seriously, dude, XP can't even align that thing properly. Also do you even have SATA 3? An older SSD may make more sense.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#27
An older SSD may make more sense.
Not if he isn't willing to use AHCI and re-install windows anyways. Running an SSD in IDE mode is absurd and old software raid might be worse. :roll: Being a C2D rig, I bet that it is SATA2.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#28
Oh. Yeah. So this is "even worse". Heh.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#29
Aquinus and Wrigleyvillain (and the other persons not experienced with a raid0) please stay out of my topic, I'm not here to use 7 or 8 instead of my XP...
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#30
Aquinus and Wrigleyvillain (and the other persons not experienced with a raid0) please stay out of my topic, I'm not here to use 7 or 8 instead of my XP...
....but they are right. You need to get off your XP high horse and face the facts whether you like it or not. Another factor that is going to come into this is how much data you actually have on that raid0 array. Because depending on how much, your looking at possibly getting a single high capacity SSD, which will cost you quite a bit.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
252 (0.11/day)
Likes
55
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8H61-M LX (B3)
Cooling Intel stock HSF
Memory 2x 4GB Kingston DDR3 @ 1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 6750 OC
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
Display(s) HP W2072a 20"
Case Cooler Master Elite 430 Black
Audio Device(s) Integrated (Realtek ALC887)
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#31
Aquinus and Wrigleyvillain (and the other persons not experienced with a raid0) please stay out of my topic, I'm not here to use 7 or 8 instead of my XP...
Good luck then. :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#32
....but they are right. You need to get off your XP high horse and face the facts whether you like it or not.
No !
I'm only expecting an answer like:
1. No, it's not possible because of this...
2. Yes, it's possible in doing that...
Why they don't speak about Linux or Apple also...:rolleyes:

Another factor that is going to come into this is how much data you actually have on that raid0 array. Because depending on how much, your looking at possibly getting a single high capacity SSD, which will cost you quite a bit.
May be a solution could be to use SSD + HDD...
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#33
Aquinus and Wrigleyvillain (and the other persons not experienced with a raid0) please stay out of my topic, I'm not here to use 7 or 8 instead of my XP...
You asked for a solution so we gave you one. If you're not willing to accept the answers provided then you shouldn't keep asking. I also know a lot about SSDs and RAID-0, a lot more than you might think. I also like to think that having a degree in Computer Science says that I don't just know how it works, by why it works and why it does what it does. So I'm insulted that you think so low of me that your word is the last word. I work on computers every day for a living, I like to think I know what I'm talking about.

No !
I'm only expecting an answer like:
1. No, it's not possible because of this...
2. Yes, it's possible in doing that...
Why they don't speak about Linux or Apple also...
I didn't recommend Linux because it's very obvious that you have applications that require Windows so I wouldn't even try to derail that train because it never left the station. Your resistance to Windows 7 is unfounded IMHO and I don't think that I've heard one real legitimate reason for not upgrading to Windows 7 which is what is frustrating me and the other users here to help you. You don't want to upgrade, fine, but don't expect people to try to help you when you insist on using a dead (it already died, that ship has sailed,) operating system, then there is little for us to do other than tell you that you're making a critical mistake.

I never said you can't use XP, but it will most likely still require a clean installation which is why I'm recommending that you upgrade to 7 because you have to do a clean installation anyways and what is better than having a version of Windows that actually has security and stability updates regularly.

If you don't want my help, fine. You don't need to have it. :mad:

By the way, I do run a RAID and I have a RAID-0 and RAID-5 on my machine locally and my RAID-0 is two SSDs. :slap:
raid.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#35
Pfft. Good luck dude. You're gonna need it.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#36
:shadedshu Aquinus, don't mix your ego and my need...
You're confusing "ego" with "knowledge and experience". Good luck with your problem. I'm done trying to help you. :mad:
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#37
You're confusing "ego" with "knowledge and experience". Good luck with your problem. I'm done trying to help you. :mad:
I don't confuse anything...
FYI: your father was not born when I touched my first computer... (that was to get my D. Sc. in Applied Mathematics)
:laugh:
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#38
I don't confuse anything...
Now that is ego and arrogance you tool. :slap:

FYI: your father was not born when I touched my first computer... (that was to get my D. Sc. in Applied Mathematics)
I'm not going to presume how you even possibly could determine my father's age and I'm pretty sure if you're that old, the first computer you used had vacuum tubes instead of transitors and 16k of memory was way more than you ever needed. Also a degree (a higher degree noless,) in applied math gives you no foundation to be telling me how computers work, considering I do have a degree in Comp Sci and I do work in the field and that education doesn't mean anything if you don't actively do anything with it. Times change and so does technology and if you're not willing to change with it you're not going to just be a douche, but you're going to be an unknowledgable, self-centered, dominearing douche, which is why everyone has gotten tired of talking to you. You saying that having a D.S in Applied Math makes your knowledgable about computers is like saying that an EE is inherently good at programming. It's not neccessarily untrue but way more often than not they're mutually exclusive and judging from what you've said you have not proven to me or anyone else that your knoledgable modern computers and software and that you think you know way more than you actually do.

Good day.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#39
My advice...

1. Acronis your RAID to a single spinner drive. (3.5" sata)
2. Remove the raid drives from the system. (safe and sound)
3. Attempt to boot the single drive.
4. Install the ahci drivers.
5. Reboot into BIOS and enable AHCI.
Success?
Yes - Acronis single drive to SSD. DONE.
No - Enter BIOS, enable RAID, put your RAID set back in and update thread.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#40
I don't confuse anything...
FYI: your father was not born when I touched my first computer... (that was to get my D. Sc. in Applied Mathematics)
:laugh:
Time to not be stuck in the technological past. In various ways. And you're probably not older than me, for the record. If you are, I'm sorry.

Note an "IDE install" can be changed to AHCI with a registry entry change but, once again, nothing about this is a good idea or the proper way to use a modern solid state drive.

Also, have you been running your ancient OS install this whole time on RAID 0 with no backup(s)? Sure sounds that way or this thread wouldn't have been necessary. Talk about 'computing dangerously'.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#41
Hi Guys,

To close down this thread, I'd say that I've successfully installed WinXP on a single Samsung 830 SSD from an Acronis image of my raid0 HDD.

Everything works fine but required some optimizations...

Samsung Magician is useless...

Thanks to those who understood my need...

;)
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#42
XP was good OS at the time, but things have changed and Windows 7 has a lot better support for more current hardware.
This is why.
Microsoft are not going to give support for XP as they want people to be on Windows 7 at least.
Software and hardware developers have to put resources primarily towards making their devices compatible.

I liked Windows XP but I have had to move with the times due to hardware and software supporting Windows 7.

So when I considered an SSD I knew I will be on Windows 7 primarily.

Do I prefer Windows 7 now?
Yes.
Would I have preferred Windows 7 on my Q6600 machine no.

As a response to SSD to replace RAID 0.
All the way SSD.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#44
I have used Acronis True Image to copy raid setup to a raided SSD. But i have used Acronis True Image to copy a raid setup to a single HDD without issue but again this was all done in vista and not XP.. It's was all so on the intel chipset.

But really you might want to invest in a never OS.

Any chance you have a spare HDD ?. if so copy the raid'ed HDD's to a test HDD and see if it works for you. And make sure the new drive you plug in tot he system is loading after the raid on the 1st boot.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
202 (0.11/day)
Likes
22
Location
Paris France
#45
AsRock, in fact I replaced first a raid0 of 2 HHD's by my SSD.
As the result was good but not much more efficient, due to the sata2 limitation, I preferred put my SSD on another PC using only one HDD.
As this HDD was build in the past from my raid0 (therefore with the raid driver into it), I only used Acronis again to do a copy...
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#46
Well thats what people were trying to warn you about.. How ever i had no issue doing it but then again were you not using XP ?, were i was using Vista which would make a world of difference..
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#48
Just kill me now.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#49
Status
Not open for further replies.