• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD Kingston KC3000 PCIe 4.0 Slow speed(9mb/s)

Fintyara

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Hello.I bought a motherboard aorus elite v2 and ssd Kingston KC3000. My CPU is ryzen 5600.

I have very low speed on M2 ssd. Starts with gigabytes and quickly drops to 9 megabytes. I copy from a disk on the same disk. AHCI is enabled. The system sees the disks as solid state. I tried to install PCI3, PCI4 in BIOS. Tried to put in 2 M2 connectors. In the Crystall test, the speeds correspond (7 gigabytes), and with real copying, 9 megabytes. Haven't tried updating BIOS yet. The drive is a system drive
Paradise in KC3000,

1. Picture - From KC3000 to KC3000
2. Picture - From From KC3000 to Samsung
3. Picture - From Samsung to KC3000

From KC3000 to KC3000_.PNG
From KC3000 to Samsung_.PNG
From Samsung to KC3000_.PNG
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
708 (0.23/day)
Location
Earth's Troposphere
System Name 3 "rigs"-gaming/spare pc/cruncher
Processor R7-5800X3D/i7-7700K/R9-7950X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VI Extreme/Asus Ranger Z170/Asus ROG Crosshair X670E-GENE
Cooling Bitspower monoblock ,custom open loop,both passive and active/air tower cooler/air tower cooler
Memory 32GB DDR4/32GB DDR4/64GB DDR5
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX6900XT Alphacooled/AMD RX5700XT 50th Aniv./SOC(onboard)
Storage mix of sata ssds/m.2 ssds/mix of sata ssds+an m.2 ssd
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2410 , HP 24x
Case mb box/Silverstone Raven RV-05/CoolerMaster Q300L
Audio Device(s) onboard/onboard/onboard
Power Supply 3 Seasonics, a DeltaElectronics, a FractalDesing
Mouse various/various/various
Keyboard various wired and wireless
VR HMD -
Software W10.someting or another,all 3
Is picture 1 two partitions on the same drive?
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
1,130 (0.28/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360/Stock
Memory 4x8GB Patriot PVS416G4440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) 7900XTX/6900XT
Storage RIP Seagate 530 4TB (died after 7 months), WD SN850 2TB, Aorus 2TB, Corsair MP600 1TB / 960 Evo 1TB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850 1440p
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 1000watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software Win11pro/win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Does it have a cooler on? These things get hot
 

Fintyara

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
The pictures show:
1.in one partition
2.from another disk
3.on another disk

If I copy from a problem partition to a partition of the same disk (the system is there), then the speeds are normal. From 500 MB to gigabyte (the disk is still in PCI3)

Temperatures are ok

How can there be different speeds on two partitions of the same disk...

Worked fine after formatting the partition... Sorry to bother you
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,457 (0.37/day)
Location
Australia
Disable AHCI, its tech that was relevant for HDD back in the day. M.2 NVMEs do not this at all, & its been debated for yrs before if AHCI benefits even SSD.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,163 (3.58/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
Disable AHCI, its tech that was relevant for HDD back in the day. M.2 NVMEs do not this at all, & its been debated for yrs before if AHCI benefits even SSD.

This toggle is only relevant to SATA devices, such settings have no bearing in modern PCIe NVMe drives, they use a completely different protocol (that is where NVMe comes from, it stands for NVM Express).

AHCI is a must for SATA SSDs (and even newer HDDs) because it improves access latency and features a basic command queue (which NVM Express has greatly exceeded in every regard).

Hello.I bought a motherboard aorus elite v2 and ssd Kingston KC3000. My CPU is ryzen 5600.

I have very low speed on M2 ssd. Starts with gigabytes and quickly drops to 9 megabytes. I copy from a disk on the same disk. AHCI is enabled. The system sees the disks as solid state. I tried to install PCI3, PCI4 in BIOS. Tried to put in 2 M2 connectors. In the Crystall test, the speeds correspond (7 gigabytes), and with real copying, 9 megabytes. Haven't tried updating BIOS yet. The drive is a system drive
Paradise in KC3000,

1. Picture - From KC3000 to KC3000
2. Picture - From From KC3000 to Samsung
3. Picture - From Samsung to KC3000

View attachment 296749View attachment 296750View attachment 296751

If CrystalDiskMark is claiming the drive is performing to its fullest, that is good news. How many SATA devices do you have installed on your computer? Do you have antivirus software installed and enabled? Are you able to test its performance under a live Linux?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,457 (0.37/day)
Location
Australia
This toggle is only relevant to SATA devices, such settings have no bearing in modern PCIe NVMe drives, they use a completely different protocol (that is where NVMe comes from, it stands for NVM Express).

AHCI is a must for SATA SSDs (and even newer HDDs) because it improves access latency and features a basic command queue (which NVM Express has greatly exceeded in every regard).

I recall seeing reviews & analysis if AHCI actually benefits SSDs many yrs ago & in benchmarks the diff in performance was within 1% - so within the margin of error.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,163 (3.58/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
I recall seeing reviews & analysis if AHCI actually benefits SSDs many yrs ago & in benchmarks the diff in performance was within 1% - so within the margin of error.

AHCI enables hot swapping, native command queuing amongst other features that aren't supported when the serial ATA interface is set to parallel emulation (IDE mode). It's a noticeable improvement in newer devices, although in a lot of earlier HDDs, this practically didn't matter.
 

Fintyara

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Thanks for the advice. The problem was solved by recreating the problematic partition. AHCI can't disable because I also have a SATA SSD
 

seoguru

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2020
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
Yes this is a problem drive I have it in my Dell G15 SE and have spoken to Kingston EU, its a great drive but it does not like to be cloned or from another drive it also hates anything more than 3 partitions on the same drive.

I have asked Kingston many times why this is the case and got nowhere fast However keeping the partitions as low as possible helps a lot
kc3000 in passmark 11.0.png
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
3,400 (0.54/day)
Location
Northern Ontario Canada
Processor Ryzen 5700x
Motherboard Gigabyte X570S Aero G R1.1 BiosF5g
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 w/ NF-A15 HS-PWM Fan 1500rpm
Memory Micron DDR4-3200 2x32GB D.S. D.R. (CT2K32G4DFD832A)
Video Card(s) AMD RX 6800 - Asus Tuf
Storage Kingston KC3000 1TB & 2TB & 4TB Corsair LPX
Display(s) LG 27UL550-W (27" 4k)
Case Be Quiet Pure Base 600 (no window)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220-VB
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex V Gold Pro 850W ATX Ver2.52
Mouse Mionix Naos Pro
Keyboard Corsair Strafe with browns
Software W10 22H2 Pro x64
Yes this is a problem drive I have it in my Dell G15 SE and have spoken to Kingston EU, its a great drive but it does not like to be cloned or from another drive it also hates anything more than 3 partitions on the same drive.

I have asked Kingston many times why this is the case and got nowhere fast However keeping the partitions as low as possible helps a lot
View attachment 296879
As I personal rule I do not partition any SSD.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
1,648 (0.93/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
Does it have a cooler on? These things get hot
This was where I was heading, also. Just because an SSD doesn't come with a heatsink, doesn't mean it's not needed.

Easy-enough way to test if this is thermal-related:
Grab a fan, any fan. Point it at the SSD.
Even a simple AC-powered 20" box fan blowing into the open side panel will 'flood' the motherboard's surface with fresh air. (I assume the SSD is slotted into the mobo directly, and not via an adapter)


If it is heat-related, and space is too confined for a simple/better heatsink, I highly recommend some Pyrolytic Graphite/Graphene - Copper Foil conductive adhesive-backed Thermal Spreader.

I've used the material on:
-SSDs. (My Intel P1600Xs and M10s, the WD Black 1TB in my 64GB Steam Deck)
-microSD card. (The one in my Steam Deck.)
-MOSFETs, VRMs, and otherwise-uncooled Southbridges/Chipsets.
If you have an 'internalized feel' for the thermal conductivity of aluminum, copper, silver, gold, etc. this stuff seems like 'space magick'.
I've also 'paired' the thermal-spreader w/ aluminum tape to add additional sinking. (keep in mind that cheap alu. tape is not thermally-conductive adhesive backed, but the alu side on most is bare and highly conductive. A good thermal-bond can be made with the thermal-spreader applied over the top of the alu. tape.)


MagicThermalSpreader.PNG

While this (Chinese-sourced) listing uses all the buzzwords, I've ordered from them twice, and been happy both times. It's basically/exactly the same stuff that the TeamGroup Cadera ZERO SSDs (amongst others) use.
  • The combination of graphene and copper foil can efficiently speed up the heat transfer.
Chinglish aside, that 'marketing wank' is actually true.

(be warned:
The adhesive is both thermally and electrically conductive. I found this out when I killed a 16GB M10 Optane by accident. $4-9 'oopsies'. Kapton tape, clear nail lacquer, or conformal coating works great to insulate exposed traces/contacts and SMDs.
Also, do *not* 'clean' the thermal spreader with alcohol. The solvent will 'liberate' the graphene, and could be potentially toxic/irritating; It's messy/staining and ruinous-to-function, at the minimum.)
 
Last edited:
Top