• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD not detected by anything

Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
107 (0.11/day)
Location
Idaho
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Core I5 3570 @4 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX R9 380 4G
Storage 120gb Micron SSD, 2X 1TB Samsung Hard Drives
Display(s) LG 24" 1080 75Hz
Case Zalman S2
Audio Device(s) Realtech built in audio
Power Supply 750W LSP Ultra
Mouse Redragon M602
Keyboard Cheap RGB kb
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 is 1008
So a few months ago i bought a 128gb micron ssd for 10$ from a local retailer i trusted, and while trying to boot into windows 10 safe mode(which requires turning the laptop off while the windows logo is showing), and all of a sudden, the ssd doesnt exist to any computer ive tried it in. the laptop is my dell latitude d630. is there anything i can do to get it working again?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
521 (0.39/day)
Have you tried opening "Disk Manager" (diskmgmt.msc) and see if the disk is there but not formated / assigned?
Can you check with a live linux CD to see if it's detected in GParted?
using a Windows Boot CD, can you check with the command "Diskpart" in the command prompt if the SSD is detected.
Does the BIOS/UEFI sees it?
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
107 (0.11/day)
Location
Idaho
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Core I5 3570 @4 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX R9 380 4G
Storage 120gb Micron SSD, 2X 1TB Samsung Hard Drives
Display(s) LG 24" 1080 75Hz
Case Zalman S2
Audio Device(s) Realtech built in audio
Power Supply 750W LSP Ultra
Mouse Redragon M602
Keyboard Cheap RGB kb
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 is 1008
i dont have the ssd on me right now but last i tried it was not detected by either my dell laptop's bios or my custom pc's uefi/bios
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2018
Messages
839 (0.77/day)
Location
Haswell, USA
System Name Bruh
Processor 10700K 5.3Ghz 1.35v| i7 7920HQ 3.6Ghz -180Mv |
Motherboard Z490 TUF Wifi | Apple QMS180 |
Cooling EVGA 360MM | Laptop HS |
Memory DDR4 32GB 3600Mhz CL16 | LPDDR3 16GB 2133Mhz CL20 |
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 3080 (2100Mhz/18Ghz)|Radeon Pro 560 (1150Mhz/1655Mhz)|
Storage Many SSDs, ~24TB HDD/8TB SSD
Display(s) S2719DGF, HP Z27i, Z24n| 1800P 15.4" + ZR30W + iPad Pro 10.5 2017
Case NR600 | MBP 2017 15" Silver | MSI GE62VR | Elite 120 Advanced
Audio Device(s) Lol imagine caring about audio
Power Supply 850GQ | Apple 87W USB-C |
Mouse Whatever I have on hand + trackpads (Lanchead TE)
Keyboard HyperX Origins Alloy idk
Software W10 20H2|W10 1903 LTSC/MacOS 11
Benchmark Scores No.
Likely dead
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2019
Messages
64 (0.08/day)
Plug it into power but not data and leave it overnight.

I had the same thing happen to me too and someone on a forum said to do that. I thought it wouldn't work but really had nothing to lose so did it anyway and I'm still using the SSD to this day after that.

I could only guess at why it broke the way it did and why it started working again after leaving it on but I'm not complaining.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
107 (0.11/day)
Location
Idaho
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Core I5 3570 @4 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX R9 380 4G
Storage 120gb Micron SSD, 2X 1TB Samsung Hard Drives
Display(s) LG 24" 1080 75Hz
Case Zalman S2
Audio Device(s) Realtech built in audio
Power Supply 750W LSP Ultra
Mouse Redragon M602
Keyboard Cheap RGB kb
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 is 1008
im not sure ive heard about that solution as well i will try it when i get home from scgool, i would love to get back to my windows envirement due to linux not running certain programs i need for school
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
107 (0.11/day)
Location
Idaho
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Core I5 3570 @4 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX R9 380 4G
Storage 120gb Micron SSD, 2X 1TB Samsung Hard Drives
Display(s) LG 24" 1080 75Hz
Case Zalman S2
Audio Device(s) Realtech built in audio
Power Supply 750W LSP Ultra
Mouse Redragon M602
Keyboard Cheap RGB kb
Software Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 is 1008
So funny thing, as i am using this ssd right now. i managed to fix it by using a usb-sata adapter to attempt to recover the contents, through linux, and by magic, i rebooted and it detected the ssd!, now i had to reinstall windows but that wasnt a major problem, so i dont get how it works, but it did!
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,870 (0.68/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
I believe it's a simple issue of whether the drive is "populated" or not, if it's not then Windows just ignores it as an invalid drive. It's also a bit of a pain to make it work with Windows in some cases, personally I just let Linux (Gparted) do the work to get it setup then migrate it over to Windows and take things from there.
 
Last edited:

Chosen Idea

New Member
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
As John Naylor had suggested, the dock would have worked (as your adapter did). After having bought a dock to utilize some internal type drives for backup, I've found it an invaluable tool for helping me through system maintenance issues. Most of the the dual docks have a standalone cloning function, which I use to regularly to clone my SSDs incase of disaster.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2014
Messages
547 (0.22/day)
If is not found in BIOS, what Linux could do?
It was just a matter of initialization of the drive by the BIOS loader, it happen to me too on one older PC (BIOS pre-SSD era).
Same thing, plugged in another PC... It started working, including in the old PC.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
14,899 (6.04/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Audio Device(s) Situational :)
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II (Best K/B ever... <3)
Software W10 x64
I believe it's a simple issue of whether the drive is "populated" or not, if it's not then Windows just ignores it as an invalid drive. It's also a bit of a pain to make it work with Windows in some cases, personally I just let Linux (Gparted) do the work to get it setup then migrate it over to Windows and take things from there.

I don't. I believe this has a lot to do with unexpected power loss and protections kicking in. SSDs suffer damage from sudden power loss, data can get corrupt, etc.

Also when you plug in a new SSD you don't need safe mode or anything usually to make it work. It just gets recognized as a flash drive or an SSD with no partition.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
924 (0.24/day)
System Name future xeon II
Processor DUAL SOCKET xeon e5 2686 v3 , 36c/72t, hacked all cores @3.5ghz, TDP limit hacked
Motherboard asrock rack ep2c612 ws
Cooling case fans,liquid corsair h100iv2 x2
Memory 96 gb ddr4 2133mhz gskill+corsair
Video Card(s) 2x 1080 sc acx3 SLI, @STOCK
Storage Hp ex950 2tb nvme+ adata xpg sx8200 pro 1tb nvme+ sata ssd's+ spinners
Display(s) philips 40" bdm4065uc 4k @60
Case silverstone temjin tj07-b
Audio Device(s) sb Z
Power Supply corsair hx1200i
Mouse corsair m95 16 buttons
Keyboard microsoft internet keyboard pro
Software windows 10 x64 1903 ,enterprise
Benchmark Scores fire strike ultra- 10k time spy- 15k cpu z- 400/15000
I don't. I believe this has a lot to do with unexpected power loss and protections kicking in. SSDs suffer damage from sudden power loss, data can get corrupt, etc.

Indeed, that's why it is essential to have at the very least a proper UPS, also there's a rumour that ssd's lose data once long time without power(say in storage)
 
Last edited:
Top