• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD nowhere to be found, HELP

Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#51
Who makes the SSD man. I ask becuase most mfg. make a ISO you can boot from and update the firmware from it. This will be good so you dont have to run anything in his OS.

Just make sure you disconnect all his drives before you do this. Its quick and this will avoid you installing anything on his rig.
I will contact manufacturer for firmware / iso.. I agree, im fairly nervous on running this .exe file on his perfectly working OS and SSD
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#52
Who makes the SSD man?
Good question...:toast:

And I am still curious if you updated your SSD firmware for that board....? http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...em=vc-100296-1
And, ^this^ is only relevant, if, he has one of these SSDs listed in the prerequisites:
PREREQUISITES:
Usage of one of the following model Intel Solid State Drive (SSD) models:

INTEL SSDSA2BW080G3H - 80GB
INTEL SSDSA2BW120G3H - 120GB
INTEL SSDSA2BW160G3H - 160GB
INTEL SSDSA2BW300G3H - 300GB
Have you tried hot-plugging the drive?

Plug the power into the SSD(just the power cable, not the data cable).
Boot up your computer and OS.
While still on... plug in the data(SATA) cable.
If it is recognized, check the partition and format.

If, recognized and partitioned/formatted... re-boot and check.
If, everything works; now update the firmware, with, the proper firmware from the SSD manufacturer.

If that does not work, return the SSD for RMA or return to seller.

Just curious, is this a Crucial M model?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#53
Have you tried hot-plugging the drive?

Plug the power into the SSD(just the power cable, not the data cable).
Boot up your computer and OS.
While still on... plug in the data(SATA) cable.
If it is recognized, check the partition and format.

If, recognized and partitioned/formatted... re-boot and check.
If, everything works; now update the firmware, with, the proper firmware from the SSD manufacturer.

If that does not work, return the SSD for RMA or return to seller.

Just curious, is this a Crucial M model?
Thanks for the input, i will try it as soon as i get home from work :)
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#54
I will try the SSD in a total of 3 PC systems today, and i really hope that its only my HP crap that cant find it..

And, also now when i think about it, i have an 60GB spare SSD, brand new.. Maybe i should put that into the HP Elite SFF 8100, and see if that gets recognized...

Thanks for help all!!
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,411 (2.61/day)
Likes
4,014
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#56
No, and its neither one of the listed Intel models, i guess the driver doesnt matter then.. ?
messing with drivers won't do anything because its not even getting initialized on POST
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,659 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,608
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#58
I meant the SSD Firmware, you asked me to run on my friends PC..

The disk is not from Intel, so i guess i should scrap that idea right ?
Correct, that link you were given, was for a firmware update of the HP versions of the Intel SSDs listed; and, if yours is a different brand... it more than likely would not work.

You still do not say what your make and model of SSD is.
If you do get it going, you should, IMO, update to the latest firmware.
They usually issue them to fix little problems, but some do fix larger problems and may give an increase in performance & reliability.

Yes, if, you have access to another SSD, definitely try it to see if it is recognized in the bios correctly.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#59
Update:

Just hot plugged it, and nothing happened at all :(

Now im on way into the basement to get my 8 yr old PC, will bios update it, and see if i can get the ssd to show up anywhere there..

My hopes are slimming :cry:

EDIT: http://www.asrock.com/mb/SIS/939S56-M/

Thats the MOBO of my basement PC! Can anyone tell my if i even have a chance to get the SSD running on this ? Before i start to draw conclusions from it..

Noteable info: - 2 x SeialATA 1.5Gb/s connectors supports RAID,0,1,JBOD, SATA_HDD Hotplug

Thanks in advance guys!
 
Last edited: