1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SSD upgrade for laptop

Discussion in 'Storage' started by mad1394, Apr 23, 2017.

  1. mad1394

    mad1394

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
  2. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Location:
    Spain
    The 9.55 mm adapter is needed for some brackets in laptops, to make the SSD thicker (SSDs generally are 7 mm. the exact way I don't know because I hadn't used it.
    In my case, with a Samsung and Asus I didn't need it, but YMMV depending on the model.
    If you can get it mounted and such then you won't need it :)
     
    Devon68 and mad1394 say thanks.
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,882 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,100
    Location:
    London,UK
    Is the 2TB really that necessary??? Youre paying a lot of money for something thats honestly not worth it. Buy a 256-512GB M.2 drive, clone all your data over to your SSD or do a complete reinstall then wipe it and use it as a spare. you could honestly save yourself so much money.

    [​IMG]

    I see two hard drive bays but i think one is a dud. There is space for two M.2 SSDs though and you just missed an offer for two 512GB M.2 SSDs in the FS section
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. mad1394

    mad1394

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    I read somewhere that not all m2 drives are compatible with the laptop's bios. MSI does not offer a compatibility list. I have a strong suspicion that the samsung drives would work but.... thinking I should get rid of this hdd first.
    Not buying anything under 1tb. The 1tb mx300 is 300 pounds. So the price scales nicely. I have about 1tb of data to backup on it and I would love the extra 1tb for games. A bit overkill yes but this is a drive I will migrate to my next pc as well.
     
  5. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,621 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,223
    Location:
    Oregon
    Not all laptops can handle a 2Tb drive What chipset is your laptop ?
     
  6. mad1394

    mad1394

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    It is the laptop from my system specs : MSI gt72s 6qe.
    The chipset is Intel Sunrise Point CM236.

    PS: Think I figured it out. Some 2.5mm hdd's have a height of 9.5mm. So probably this is where the adapter comes in. Not sure what height is the one MSI uses. Probably might have to disassemble it before I order.
     
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,621 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,223
    Location:
    Oregon
    That's an easy fix. Some new thin laptops are 7mm
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,882 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,100
    Location:
    London,UK
    I partially think that thats all BS. Ive heard of manufacturers like HP. Dell. CompaQ & Lenovo that run a blacklisted bios on their machines that can only use the hardware it rolls out off the production line with but hard drives have always been exempt from this list unless there are compatibility issues between UEFI and Legacy bioses.

    Theres a member here who managed to get an NvMe M.2 SSD to boot into windows on a X58 platform with a Samsung 960 Pro but those are £300 for 525Gb.

    Just go into your device manager, See if your laptop is using an M.2 drive and find if theres a higher capacity version of it. Crucial MX300 M.2 drives should also work but fingers crossed that you can boot from it. Only thing i can think of is buying one off amazon to try out and if it dont work then wipe it and send it back or keep it for games then use a PCI-E adapter to use it with your PC when you get around to it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    6,171 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,439
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I made a similar upgrade for a customer's laptop a year and a half ago. The laptop but I only had room for a single drive which was a 2.5 inch piece of junk 5200 RPM platter. He was adamant that he wanted at least a terabyte of storage but at the same time I also wanted the speed of a solid-state drive. So I went on Amazon and found a fake DVD drive adapter/caddy for solid-state drives. That way he could have a solid-state drive in the Caddy where the DVD drive went, and I also ordered him a 1 TB standard hard drive for the default Drive location. I mention this because a lot of people don't use their DVD drives in switching it out it's so easy it's just two screws and it hotswaps. Just figured I'd mention it. They cost about 20 bucks on Newegg or Amazon,using iPhone dictation sorry if it's a little weird
     
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,882 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,100
    Location:
    London,UK
    great idea too! Ive been telling my dad to do just this for the longest time and it just kind of slipped my mind!

    Again, theres no proof if its possible to boot from it or reach the max speed of the SSD though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Mighty-Lu-Bu

    Mighty-Lu-Bu

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    120 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    2TB SSD? Might as well just buy another laptop. You will spend $500-$700 on that easy. I would go with a 1TB SSD to be honest... you can get a Reactor 1TB for like $250.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)