• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Stability gone on my 3770K

Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
I just ran Prime95 memory test and it crashed within an hour, which I found really weird, considering everything was perfectly ok a few months ago when I built this PC.
I have all BIOS settings related to memory on auto, performance enhance is set to turbo.
CPU voltage is, I believe, set to normal with -0.045V offset.

Is there anything I could try in advanced voltage settings that could bring memory stability back? I have to point out the Small FFTs test doesn't give any errors at all.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#2
I have to slightly correcy myself: I did have Performance Enhance set to Extreme (which obviously did work in past though). After swithing to Normal, Prime passed well over an hour without problems. I have to test it further, because it still crashes when I use Turbo, which is thedefault value. This is not right.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#3
Make sure you do not use the predefined overclocking modes that the board comes with. Each chip and board is different so it may do things like ramp up the voltage here and there thinking the CPU needs it when it does not.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#4
I didn't touch all that much. My original goal was some reasonable overclock from default speed at stock voltages (or lower), which I kind of achieved after lenghty discussions with cadaveca (thanks again). I extensively tested it and it was stable. Weird...

Attachments pretty much sum all the important stuff I changed up.
 

Attachments

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#5
many possibilities as to what is causing the issue. Could even just be new software. You'll need to test a bit more and get some crashes, and provide the info about those crashes, before we can really assess what's going on.

You aren't running really high clocks, or voltages, and sometimes things have a tendency to "settle in" a bit after first OC as the system gets "used to it", so what you are reporting is relatively normal.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
That's a possibility I thought about, some sort of "burn in".

BTW, are there any specific settings that could let me increase the voltage offset? Something in the advanced voltage options or whatever.
(of course provided I get back to rock stability again)
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
This is seriously weird.
Prime95's "In-place large FFTs" keeps crashing in under an hour (usually much faster, like 30 mins or so), while Small FFTs (which as I understand is stressing CPU the most) can happily pass a few hours.

The original DVID offset was -0.045V, and the Small FFTs test could go without errors even at like -0.055V (wouldn't think it stable at all, but it's interesting). I've been repeating the former test all the way down to -0.020V and then stopped, because the problem must lie elsewhere. But where?
All the other major voltages are set manually to their defaults (VTT=1.050V, PLL=1.800V, IMC=0.925V) just like always. I also tried to set BCLK and multipliers manually (to the same values though), and it didn't do anything as expected.

One more thing I am trying right now is going back to the original offset, but having Performance Enhance option set to normal instead of turbo (what in the hell does it do anyway?). After that I am completely out of ideas. (edit: fail in 6 minutes. fking hell...)
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
To add to the weirdness.
DVID offset doesn't seem to do anything. I compared min and max values of VCORE in CPU-Z during idle and load, and then switched from -0.045V to pure auto setting, and the voltage was absolutely identical. Just wtf...
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#9
Re-flash BIOS to previous version, and then flash to latest. Sounds like you've got the UEFI bug that's making the rounds lately.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#10
Oh? Can you elaborate further?
I haven't flashed anythhing since... october. Whoa.

Is that something that happens out of the blue?

edit: the weird thing is positive offset seems to work (or increase VCORE somehow at least).
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#11
Hmm, I dunno, I have found some bugs with UEFI caused by Windows crashes, I think. Changes in settings have no effect. A couple of brands have this problem right now.

But if you can change some settings, that's odd, kinda similar, but not quite.

And yes, out of the blue, after a crash that is software- OR hardware-related.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
Ok I reflashed it as you suggested... and exactly the same numbers. This is seriously weird. Especially the reported VCORE under load.

And Prime95 is crashing, even with positive offset - tried +0.010V so far. I don't believe I'd need to increase anything for just 4.2GHz though???!
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,613 (0.83/day)
Likes
648
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#13
UEFI bug?

Just earlier tonight I had similar problems with my Asus P8Z77-V; after replacing the stock TIM on my H100 with Arctic Silver 5, I noticed that changing the multiplier in BIOS didn't change the clock speed in Windows. After several attempts using every setting available, still the same result - zilch. I had updated to 1805 when it came out a few weeks ago. I remembered reading another post about someone with the same problem who re-flashed the previous BIOS and solved the problem, so I flashed 1708 using USB flashback and now I can change settings.
I think I'll just keep this BIOS until a new one comes out. I never had any problem with 1708 and also my temps seem to be lower.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#14
I switched memory completely for some 2GB piece of shit, and it passed like 9 hours. Could be coincidence, but after plugging my regular memory back in (in different slots now just to give it a go), Prime95 crashed in 22 minutes. I will test this once more. Interesting fact is MemTest passed without problems. Could it be some weird incompatibility?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#15
I think I am fucked. Flashed a lot newer BIOS (which says improves some compatibility as well) and sure enough, Prime95 crashed in minutes.
There's no way in hell I can RMA this since no store gives a flying fuck about what program a random hippie uses for stability testing. They'd throw Memtest at it at most and would charge me for RMAing working product.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#16
I think I am fucked. Flashed a lot newer BIOS (which says improves some compatibility as well) and sure enough, Prime95 crashed in minutes.
There's no way in hell I can RMA this since no store gives a flying fuck about what program a random hippie uses for stability testing. They'd throw Memtest at it at most and would charge me for RMAing working product.
Christ,

You do not RMA to the store! You call Asus support or whatever manufacture and get an RMA ticket, and send it in. They process the RMA, and they send a replacement back.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,693 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,926
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#17
I switched memory completely for some 2GB piece of shit, and it passed like 9 hours.
This and the fact MemTest runs fine ... hmm .... could it be that Prime95 heats up the cpu and it's huge heatsink which can be close to huge fins corsair vengeance has?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#18
Yeah but there are serial numbers written on the invoice from the store I bought the stuff in. I would value that warranty over anything.
What you say is definitely a possibility as well, though.

UPDATE:

I should have friggin' guessed - the dumbass XMP profile! I'll have to set timings manually and experiment with values, but manually setting 1866MHz and having timings on auto doesn't seem to give me any errors.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#19
And it works. Who would have though. Hope Gigabyte will fix this with future BIOS somehow.

Btw, I even managed to make the memory run at 2133MHz.

The big question:
Is going from 1866@9-10-9-27 1.5V to 2133@9-13-13-36 1.65V worth the pretty big jump in voltage?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,524 (0.55/day)
Likes
635
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#20
Nobody mentioned this here but best practice for updating Bios is to set Bios to Default settings before attempting any sort of update/flash. This means no overclock settings.

Since I ran in to a problem once with a UEFI flash, I have taken to disconnecting all HDs and SSDs for this step and setting up Bios or UEFI by resetting after the flash the AHCI, XMP, etc. then rebooting. I then tweak memory and voltage settings, rebooting to see that settings are working, shut down, then reattach the drives. Seems like more work than it should be but it appears to make certain that the flash and settings work without corruptions.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#21
Never heard about that before. I do however load optimized defaults after each flash before I start changing stuff.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,524 (0.55/day)
Likes
635
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#22
I do however load optimized defaults after each flash before I start changing stuff.
Loading optimized defaults after the flash is the problem area. It needs to be done before you flash.

Once you load optimized defaults after the flash (second time), then you need to reboot again and then adjust settings. This assures a clean deck.

Steps would be:

System off, disconnect HDs and SSDs.
boot to UEFI/Bios
load defaults, set primary source drive to optical or usb drive (flash source), save, exit
boot with flash program, flash gives ok to restart
boot
load default values again, save, exit
boot
program AHCI, XMP, etc
power off
reconnect drives
boot to Windows.

As a side note I have been using a USB drive to flash from. The .bin file you would scroll to (pick from list), if there are more than just the .bin on the USB drive. Some motherboards may want a dedicated/clean source for file and by that I mean a USB with only the .bin file.

I also use YUMI http://www.pendrivelinux.com/yumi-multiboot-usb-creator/ to load ISO files for updating SSD Firmware. You can also use YUMI to load Windows, Ubuntu, etc... any ISO file.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#23
Like I said, never ever heard I should load default before flash.

Once you load optimized defaults after the flash (second time), then you need to reboot again and then adjust settings.
That's what I do.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
4,659 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,009
System Name Obelisc
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling H110
Memory 16GB(4x4) @ 2400 MHz 9-11-11-31
Video Card(s) GTX 780 Ti
Storage 850 EVO 1TB, 2x 5TB Toshiba
Case T81
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply EVGA 850 T2 80+ TITANIUM
Software Win10 64bit
#24
Idk if you have to disconnect drives. This is what Asus says to do:

1. Reset your UEFI to Optimized Defaults, reboot, enter UEFI and then flash to the new UEFI build.
2. After flash and restart, enter Windows/Linux, then exit and shutdown.
3. Remover the power cord from the power supply, wait thirty seconds, press Power On button to clear any remaining charge, clear CMOS for five seconds, reattach the power cord, power on the system, enter UEFI, set to Optimized Defaults, save and exit.
4. Enter UEFI, set your system to customized settings based on your system configuration (RAID, OC, etc), save and exit.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
660
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#25
That sounds pretty stupid to be honest. Similar to those "regtweaks" which in fact don't do anything but have been circulating the internets for ten years.