• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

stability issues help please

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
hey well recently i tried overclocking my processor (2.6ghz) and it was going well (games programs etc ran fine) but i didnt know if it was 100% stable i used orthos (i think thats the name) when i ran it it came up with an error so i went back to stock.

i set the cpu at 2.5ghz instead of 2.6ghz this time now when i run orthos my computer just shuts down doesn't restart. i put everythign back to stock (2.4ghz) again and tested it once more and my computer just turns off at stock now when running orthos i use the blend test with ram and cpu priority was 9. I have no idea why the system turns off at stock temperatures are fine no overheating nothing running except coretemp and maybe cpu-z.

the stress test usually last about 3 minutes until pc turnoff i did clear the cmos and tested at 2.58ghz and lasted 20 minutes it did not crash no errors and i tried it again today but my pc turned off once again so i put it at stock once again and it turned off again at about 4 minutes

im clueless i dont know why it would turn off even at stock thanks for any help
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#2
hey well recently i tried overclocking my processor (2.6ghz) and it was going well (games programs etc ran fine) but i didnt know if it was 100% stable i used orthos (i think thats the name) when i ran it it came up with an error so i went back to stock.

i set the cpu at 2.5ghz instead of 2.6ghz this time now when i run orthos my computer just shuts down doesn't restart. i put everythign back to stock (2.4ghz) again and tested it once more and my computer just turns off at stock now when running orthos i use the blend test with ram and cpu priority was 9. I have no idea why the system turns off at stock temperatures are fine no overheating nothing running except coretemp and maybe cpu-z.

the stress test usually last about 3 minutes until pc turnoff i did clear the cmos and tested at 2.58ghz and lasted 20 minutes it did not crash no errors and i tried it again today but my pc turned off once again so i put it at stock once again and it turned off again at about 4 minutes

im clueless i dont know why it would turn off even at stock thanks for any help
If its just flat out powering off, its likely the PSU..

Do you have a digital multimeter or could get one? Measure the 12v and 3.3v lines.. before and while it crashes...

I've never seen any results from hiper so I cannot account for its reliability.. but 580w seems like it could be a problem if the PSU isn't capable of the full 580, with the specs you have..
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
If its just flat out powering off, its likely the PSU..

Do you have a digital multimeter or could get one? Measure the 12v and 3.3v lines.. before and while it crashes...

I've never seen any results from hiper so I cannot account for its reliability.. but 580w seems like it could be a problem if the PSU isn't capable of the full 580, with the specs you have..
i havent got any access to a digital multimeter and it is just turning off no error messages nothing i think your right it might be the power supply
 

PuMA

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
724 (0.17/day)
Likes
28
Location
Finland
Processor lapped C2D e6850, 3600mhz
Motherboard ASUS P5N32-E SLI (680i SLI)
Cooling NOCTUA NH-U9, 3 2x120mm 1x180mm case fans
Memory 6GB A-DATA vitesta DDR2 900mhz (2x1gb + 2x2gb)
Video Card(s) LEASTEK GTX 260 (701/1408/1105)
Storage SAMSUNG F1 640GB SATAII/SEAGATE 250gb SATAII
Display(s) SAMSUNG 226BW 1680x1050 2ms
Case ANTEC three hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS SupremeFX, SONY surround AMP
Power Supply XION 630W
Software VISTA ULTIMATE x64
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06:15126 (701/1408/1105) vantage: 11698
#4
u could try to unplugg stuff off ur PC and see if the rebooting continues.
 

GumCuz

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor 4200+X2@2.74 HT@1240mhz
Motherboard ASUS A8R32-MVP Deluxe
Cooling Parallel water cooling system made 100% by yours truly
Memory 4x512 Crucial Ballistix Tracers @DDR496/ 2.5-2-2-5
Video Card(s) 2x Radeon x1800xt Crossfired w/ PE bios'
Storage 2x Seagate 250gb Barracudas in RAID-0/ 1x WD Caviar 160gb
Display(s) 19" Samsung 931b
Case Thermaltake Armor
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtremegamer Professional
Power Supply Silverstone 750w
Software Vista Premium 64bit
#5
Check your bios for your voltage monitor. watch it and make sure your voltage readings are close to nominal. if they are bouncing around, or not even close to what they should be, that can cause major instability. Normally, they will vary by .2/.3v, up or down. if it's more than that, your PSU is junk. an 8800gts is a pretty high amp draw card, and may have already been the limit of what your PSU could take. 2.6ghz on a 4600 is NOT very high. you should've been able to hit at least 2.7/2.75 @1.45v before it started getting unstable. It's a possibility you got a dud processor. Also, if your PSU has multiple 12v rails, try moving stuff around. isolate your rails, then try to balance them so there's not a ton of load on one, and not the other(ie: all your hard drives on one, video card on the other). I had a similar thing with a 4xRAID0 array, when all the drives spooled, my rig crashed. Also, since I see you're running 4 sticks of ram, run memtest86, and make absolute sure one of your sticks isn't fried. Just going on what you've said, I'd put money on the power supply too.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.74/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#6
i havent got any access to a digital multimeter and it is just turning off no error messages nothing i think your right it might be the power supply
When I had this problem I changed Power supply and the problem was fixed straightaway- although I disagree with everyone else in the fact that I believe 580W should easily be able to deal with your system. It's more likely the PSU actually has a problem. Alternatively try raising your Northbridge and Southbridge voltages up a tad. I also have a 4600 @2.81 - HT X3
 

von kain

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2006
Messages
780 (0.19/day)
Likes
47
Location
athens/greece
System Name intel-hate
Processor Amd phenom 2 955 @ 3800
Motherboard msi 790fx-gd70
Cooling coolermaster
Memory 4096 @1600 corsair
Video Card(s) sapphire 5770 @950-1350
Storage 1 seagate 80gb sata2 1 160gb seagate sata
Display(s) 20inch wide lg
Power Supply chieftech 750w
Software windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores nah
#7
you really have a power consuming rig. according to this site http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine you need 511w from your psu and you have 580w.I don't know about hiper and if they deliver on a full load but i would count on it.

there is any bsod?(blue screen of death)


p.s.you have a minimum overclock but keep an eye on the temperature
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8
Last edited:

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
The problem is Core Temp. Stop using it, delete the folder, and the shut-offs will disappear. I had the same issue for days, even at stock speeds.

I finally stumbled across it on the AMD forums. Apparently the newest revisions of the Windsor core are all effected by this.


EDIT: Found a thread. http://forums.amd.com/forum/message...05&highlight_key=y&keyword1=X2 6000 shut down
i think your totally right thanks i had a huge feeling a program was causing it but i thought it was cpu-z and therefore i would leave that closed and always have coretemp open because i used that to monitor temps

before i tried shutting coretemp i downgraded bios about 3 revision back and its stable with coretemp now and anything running really strange wen i downgraded by 1 revision the stability tests lasted longer before it would shut down until i went back 3 it got totally stable strange..

thanks for the help guys
 
Last edited: