• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

STALKER SOC, 1920x1200 300FPS!!!

Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#1
max settings, 1920x1200, 8xAA/16xAF

Crazy stuff! all i did was change lighting from dynamic to static, and my FPS triples...
Computer is in specs...
RAM, CPU, GPU is all OCed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
2,313 (0.64/day)
Likes
715
Location
Switzerland
System Name Keep spending on me
Processor i7 4790K ( 4.4 Ghz stock )
Motherboard Maximus VII Impact z97
Cooling Corsair H90 140mm AIO
Memory 16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1050Ti Strix
Storage M.2 Samsung NVMe 960 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) Asus PG258Q 1080p 240Hz G-sync
Case Cooler Master Mastercase 3
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II Impact
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Software Win 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Gaming at high performance is my priority
#2
nothing new man, it happens with my 8800 Ultra too with that game.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#3
maybe not anything new for you :p
EDIT: Let me know if there is any way i can get rid of that ultra for you.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#4
yeah but now you don't have dynamic lighting and it looks the same going at 60-70 fps :'(

still impressive performance 'tho
 

EviLZeD

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
815 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
System Name Ez - 1st custom
Processor AMD Phenom x3 8450
Motherboard Asus m3a78-em
Cooling thermaltake mini typhoon :D aerogate fan controller
Memory 6gb corsair xms 2 800mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) xpertvision HD 4850 1GB ddr3 sonic 685/1000
Storage Corsair 128gb SSD, 2x 250GB maxtor 16mb cache raid 0, 500gb 32mb cache storage
Display(s) AMD surround view 2x e172fp 17" 1x dell e248wfp 24"
Case coolermaster elite 330
Audio Device(s) creative audigy se
Power Supply hiper type r 580watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
i beleive this happens because static lighting enables direct x 8 rather than 9
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#6
the game already looks underwhelming as it is. how must it look in dx8 mode? :(

i would try but i reinstalled Windows and didn't reinstall the game :\
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#8
what code did you use to get the FPS to show like that?

Nice performance btw.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,200 (0.28/day)
Likes
131
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#9
what code did you use to get the FPS to show like that?

Nice performance btw.
i believe thats a program called "FRAPS"
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
670 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
System Name Super Budget Gamer Thing lol
Processor AMD 5600+ Windsor @3.0ghz
Motherboard ASUS M3N78-VM AM2/AM2+ Micro ATX
Cooling Thermaltake TR2-R1 Ultra Silence CPU heatsink+fan / 3 exhaust case fans
Memory 3 Gigs Kingston DDR2@800mhz
Video Card(s) PNY 8800GT 512mb OC'd 710/1740/950 - 178.24
Storage 2X 320 gig Seagate Barracuda's @7200rpm - SATA
Display(s) 22in Dell LCD 1680X1050 / 21.6in AOC LCD / Hauppauge TV Tuner
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts EA500D 500w
Software Vista, bby <3
Benchmark Scores yay it works! =]
#10
?

FRAPS?

wtf is that some new fangled fps counter? :p

what will they think of next!
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.66/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#11
fraps is a ingame video-ing program. I thought there would be a built in FPS counter..
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,365 (0.39/day)
Likes
109
Location
Alden, NY
System Name Turbo_Fighter/Pitbull
Processor AMD FX-9590/Intel i7 6700K 4.7GHZ @ 1.41 volts
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0/Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H105/Corsair H100iv2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Ares/32 GB G.Skill Trident-Z
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 Fury X/Sapphire R9 Nano
Storage Mix of HDDs SSDs Externals and a 256GB Samsung M.2 in the pitbull
Display(s) 24" Nixeus 144hz freesync/24'' Benq XL2420TE/21.5'' Asus VH226/Panasonic 42" Plasma
Case White Phantom NZXT/Fractal Define Nano S
Audio Device(s) MayFlower O2 ODAC/HT Omega Claro+/Turtlebeach Earforce DSS
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i/Thermaltake Smart 650Watt(EVGA GS 650 Watt took a shit on me)
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores They can run Crysis.
#12
i got 90 FPS on my x1600 pro with static lighting, didnt look as bad as it does in your pic though
 
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
1,262 (0.36/day)
Likes
65
System Name Geometro
Processor i5 760 @ Stock (need 1156 brackets for my cooler)
Motherboard MSI P55A-G55
Cooling Kingwin RVT-12025 HDT
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Blackline Frostbyte 1600 C9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX 275 MSI Twin Frozr OC
Display(s) Samsung 2333SW 23"
Case Lancool PC-K62
Power Supply Corsair VX550W 550W ATX 12V
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Arch Linux x64
#13
it is fraps lol
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#14
i got 90 FPS on my x1600 pro with static lighting, didnt look as bad as it does in your pic though
its because you are using a 19 inch monitor with a max resolution of 1440x900. You are viewing the image with 1,296,000 pixels, 1,008,000 less than my 2,204,000 pixels generated by 1920x1200, or 44% less pixels. Thus your image will obviously be degraded.

The difference between dynamic and static is the dynamic moves, and interacts with the world around you, creating a lot more geometric work for the GPU. This is a directX8 function, but only for the lighting, everything else is rendered DX9.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#15
Hehe, the game looks really silly with no shadows (static lighting)...
:p

Lighting does make a huge difference:


kets mod makes it look pretty good if you ask me
Perhaps you mean ketxxx's collection of mods made by others?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,365 (0.39/day)
Likes
109
Location
Alden, NY
System Name Turbo_Fighter/Pitbull
Processor AMD FX-9590/Intel i7 6700K 4.7GHZ @ 1.41 volts
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0/Gigabyte GA-Z170N-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H105/Corsair H100iv2
Memory 32 GB G.Skill Ares/32 GB G.Skill Trident-Z
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 Fury X/Sapphire R9 Nano
Storage Mix of HDDs SSDs Externals and a 256GB Samsung M.2 in the pitbull
Display(s) 24" Nixeus 144hz freesync/24'' Benq XL2420TE/21.5'' Asus VH226/Panasonic 42" Plasma
Case White Phantom NZXT/Fractal Define Nano S
Audio Device(s) MayFlower O2 ODAC/HT Omega Claro+/Turtlebeach Earforce DSS
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i/Thermaltake Smart 650Watt(EVGA GS 650 Watt took a shit on me)
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores They can run Crysis.
#16
its because you are using a 19 inch monitor with a max resolution of 1440x900. You are viewing the image with 1,296,000 pixels, 1,008,000 less than my 2,204,000 pixels generated by 1920x1200, or 44% less pixels. Thus your image will obviously be degraded.

The difference between dynamic and static is the dynamic moves, and interacts with the world around you, creating a lot more geometric work for the GPU. This is a directX8 function, but only for the lighting, everything else is rendered DX9.
i was running 1024x768 at the time on a 17'', i was just saying it looked better for me, no offense to the people it looks like garbage on
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
You can use Xfire to view the FPS as well. Static lighting looks poo honestly.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#18
actually, static lighting would look very much the same as dynamic in a screen shot. When you move and the world moves, static lighting kind of "paints" the lighting and shadows on the textures, while light moves and changes on dynamic. There would be some, but not much of a difference known in a screenshot. If you would like me to prove it to you, when i get off of work tomorrow, ill take 6 screenshots, 2 of each scenery, and you can then guess which is static and which is dynamic. I can guarantee you will have to guess.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#19
Im talking about playing not screenshots, so yes it would look like poo.

Also your 8800GTS 512mb is better than his Ultra. Idk why youd want it.

Oh and ill prove it to you in screenshots too. Look at the other screenshot compared to yours.
Your screenshot looks like im trying to play Doom3 on Voodoo2 SLI.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.83/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
#20
actually, static lighting would look very much the same as dynamic in a screen shot. When you move and the world moves, static lighting kind of "paints" the lighting and shadows on the textures, while light moves and changes on dynamic. There would be some, but not much of a difference known in a screenshot. If you would like me to prove it to you, when i get off of work tomorrow, ill take 6 screenshots, 2 of each scenery, and you can then guess which is static and which is dynamic. I can guarantee you will have to guess.
I'm up for it, just for the fun of it :p Although, I agree with you in regards to SoC and screenies.


Unless, you're running the Weather Overhauled mod, in which case, SL and FDL look remarkably different - mostly due to the parallax mapping and shaders involved.