• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

StarCraft II FPS problem

Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
Hi all,
During the campaign in some missions during large battles the fps drops from 60 to 40-50 while the CPU usage is about 20-25%, and my GPU usage is about 60-70%. I have set the energy profile in windows (which in theory prevents core parking) and the power managament mode via Nvidia Control Panel to “Maximum performance”. Nothing has changed. I use the “High” profile (Antialias ON) in the game’s graphics settings). I think my rig would be able to run the game at constant 60 FPS (specs later in the message). Or am I wrong?
The game runs on a 7200rpm WD Caviar Black HDD (if it counts).
How can I force my CPU/GPU to work at higher load in order to prevent FPS drops?
Thanks,
My specs are:
CPU: i7-6700K @ 4GHz
RAM: 16 GB DDR4 @ 2133MHz
GPU: NVIDIA GTX 980 @ 1316/1753MHz (core/memory)
hazazs
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,250 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
20-25% CPU usage on an i7 6700K is one thread. In other words, game is single threaded for the most part and you feel this.

You can lower physics settings and a few other tidbits in the graphics menu. Hover over each option and it says whether it impacts CPU load. Try and tweak for best results.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
20-25% CPU usage on an i7 6700K is one thread. In other words, game is single threaded for the most part and you feel this.

You can lower physics settings and a few other tidbits in the graphics menu. Hover over each option and it says whether it impacts CPU load. Try and tweak for best results.
So is this behaviour absolutely normal? And in order to gain FPS my only option is to lower the graphic settings? It is sad.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
19,879 (4.33/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Be Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NF-P14s|1xCorsair ML120 Pro|4xML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {AVR:Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150}
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
So is this behaviour absolutely normal? And in order to gain FPS my only option is to lower the graphic settings? It is sad.
From what I have read. Yes. The engine is very old and not optimised for multi-core/threads at all if not extremely badly. I have read that people with previous get ryzen cpus have the exact same problem.

Thats just how the game is
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
1,491 (0.48/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Crucial P1 NVMe, ScanDisk Ultra 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
@Vayra86 is correct, SC2 only uses two cores with one basically dedicated to the UI. The majority of the game relies on one core which in turn prevents the GPU from stretching its legs.

Your best bet is to OC your 6700k and try playing the game with HT off (OC will help some while HT off may or may not). In all honesty I would say your FPS is not bad and there is a whole thread of people on blizzard's SC2 forum having worse issues with the games lack of multicore CPU support.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,250 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
So is this behaviour absolutely normal? And in order to gain FPS my only option is to lower the graphic settings? It is sad.
It is indeed, now try playing this with a good old AMD Bulldozer, so you can feel good about your Intel ;)

Basically those users had 15 FPS or worse, most of the time. Was a real thing back then.

We are pretty damn spoiled these days with high refresh gameplay being actually feasible and 60 fps 'expected as a given' :)

Here have a laugh. Check out GPU utilization

 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
We are pretty damn spoiled these days with high refresh gameplay being actually feasible and 60 fps 'expected as a given' :)
After buying newer, and newer, and newer and expensive rigs, people would believe that constant smooth 60 FPS is not a dream or myth, but an expectable "reward" for their money. But the real life is cruel and doesn't sort its actions. :)
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,250 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
After buying newer, and newer, and newer and expensive rigs, people would believe that constant smooth 60 FPS is not a dream or myth, but an expectable "reward" for their money. But the real life is cruel and doesn't sort its actions. :)
Never underestimate how important the fastestest possible CPU is for gaming. This is one of those 'edge' cases (I don't consider this edge case FYI, but many ppl do - lots of games hinge on one thread for performance even if they say they use more) that underlines that very clearly.

For future reference, you might want to setup your RTSS monitoring a bit more detailed, and give yourself the benefit of seeing every CPU thread in the OSD instead of the total CPU load. Total load tells you nothing, for CPU, especially with HT on.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
115 (0.80/day)
Location
Hungary
Processor Ryzen 5 1600x
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B350-F
Cooling Be quiet! Pure Rock Slim 'CPU', x3 Raijintek Auras 12 + x3 Cooler Master MF120L non led
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3200MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 570 Gaming 4G
Storage 1 TB WD Blue, 3 TB Toshiba P300, 120 GB WD Green 2.5 SSD
Display(s) LG 29WK600-W
Case In Win 101c Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Kingston HyperX Cloud Stinger
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W MWE Gold
Mouse Motospeed V20
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K10
Software Windows 10 Pro
Yep thats a thing with SC2 like others said.

More like a Blizzard games thing,except for Overwatch maybe but Diablo 3 does the same 'Playing it myself since relase' and WoW also had issues with this and they just started trying to 'update' it not long ago tho thats only from what I read/heard cause I don't play that game.

Last time I've played SC 2 I had a i 3 4160 and with that I had drops down to mid 30s @ late story maps with lots of Zergs,etc.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
For future reference, you might want to setup your RTSS monitoring a bit more detailed, and give yourself the benefit of seeing every CPU thread in the OSD instead of the total CPU load. Total load tells you nothing, for CPU, especially with HT on.
Thank you for this advice, I will definiately try it. ;)

More like a Blizzard games thing,except for Overwatch maybe but Diablo 3 does the same
Yes, I can confirm that case with Diablo 3. It was full of frametime spikes with my old i5-4570 since my 8 years MSI laptop ran it without problem (as I remember) with a Core 2 Duo / 9600GT combo. Maybe because of the lower resolution (1680*1050).

128514


I don't get it. CPU1,3,5,7 shows loads between 34-69%. What does it mean? Does the game use 4 cores/threads?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,604 (1.09/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Uncore @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L with Arctic MonoPlus and Yate Loon D14BH-12 Fan
Storage OS Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Games Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, Data WD10EZEX HDD 1TB
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Razer Naga Chroma '14, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
My 3770K could run SC2 with no issues never had dips. Phenom II would dip but no issues with the 3770K. You should be able to run it smooth with 6700K. I would turn off anti aliasing.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
67 (0.64/day)
Location
RSA
System Name Gen2~Ryzen3000
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 - 3600
Motherboard MSi B450m Gaming plus
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire CPU Cooler, Armageddon 120mm RED Led Case fan
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ribjaws V, 3200Mhz (XMP), stable at 3466Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Armour Radeon RX-580 O/C
Storage Primarily: WD - 500GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 27" IPS
Case ANTEC P7, Red line
Audio Device(s) JBL E-55 BT Headphones
Power Supply RM-RX-730W(80+) Modular PSU
Mouse Gigabyte Ghost, Logitech MX-518
Keyboard Coolermaster Devestator 3, Logitech Wave
Software Windows 10.v190x Pro~64bit
Benchmark Scores SOTTR Benchmark 1080p ultra - 80fps
Interesting, my 3770k also, SC2 was a great game back then, I played it back in late 2011 /2012 just before the expansion packs came out, all were very smooth in 1080p, still had a 2.5" 500gb hybrid SSD drive back then with DDR3, 1600mhz and a Radeon HD 7870 !
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,250 (5.43/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Thank you for this advice, I will definiately try it. ;)



Yes, I can confirm that case with Diablo 3. It was full of frametime spikes with my old i5-4570 since my 8 years MSI laptop ran it without problem (as I remember) with a Core 2 Duo / 9600GT combo. Maybe because of the lower resolution (1680*1050).

View attachment 128514

I don't get it. CPU1,3,5,7 shows loads between 34-69%. What does it mean? Does the game use 4 cores/threads?
The game uses more threads but there is only one that really impacts the game performance; the heaviest one. On top of that, you also see the scheduler at work and Intel has its ways of switching workloads between cores all the time, a lot of that can happen faster than your OSD refreshes with data. Another limitation is RAM, which can cause lower CPU utilization as well if saturated. And usually, if you have core grunt left but still stutter, the cause is RAM throughput. Last, background processes are also visible in CPU load.

Another one for Starcraft specifically is engine limitations. Lots of units is a LOT of calculations and a number of those are sequential (if this, then that). If you've ever used the Starcraft Editor you will have an idea of that. Each unit has its own pathing and a ton of other stuff going on. The engine itself may just not be able to do this much faster. After all, 40-50 FPS is pretty playable and I don't recall having it much higher myself ever in this game - only in multiplayer skirmishes in the first five minutes or so would you have solid 60+ FPS.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
By the way according to your advice I have set all the three CPU related settings (Reflections, Effects, Physics) to their lowest value. Now there is no noticeable visual reduction by the changes at all, but constant 60 FPS. But I think It is still shame to use the lowest settings to reach a stable 60 FPS in a 10+ years old game with an i7-6700K @ 4GHz..

Anyway, I have searched among the utilities my MOBO has on its official MSI site, and I have found this:
MSI DPC Latency Tuner:
128594


Should I tweak these settings to reach maximum performance of my CPU in other games? For example disable all the energy save modes? But I don't know which one they exactly are. Maybe Intel C-State EIST and C1E support. And if I disable these, will it affect the performance on the desktop as well? I don't want to waste my money by using the CPU at full load on the desktop, only in games. Is there a golden road to reach that? Or should I set these in BIOS instead of this program?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
67 (0.64/day)
Location
RSA
System Name Gen2~Ryzen3000
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 - 3600
Motherboard MSi B450m Gaming plus
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire CPU Cooler, Armageddon 120mm RED Led Case fan
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ribjaws V, 3200Mhz (XMP), stable at 3466Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Armour Radeon RX-580 O/C
Storage Primarily: WD - 500GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 27" IPS
Case ANTEC P7, Red line
Audio Device(s) JBL E-55 BT Headphones
Power Supply RM-RX-730W(80+) Modular PSU
Mouse Gigabyte Ghost, Logitech MX-518
Keyboard Coolermaster Devestator 3, Logitech Wave
Software Windows 10.v190x Pro~64bit
Benchmark Scores SOTTR Benchmark 1080p ultra - 80fps
The gaming did not feel slow to me at all, maybe you should hide the fps osd, 35-40 fps in strategy games is fine...
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
228 (0.12/day)
System Name hazazs
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K @4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI B250 GAMING M3
Cooling be quiet! Shadow Rock Slim
Memory 2 * 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 @2133MHz CL13 Red
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 120GB / WD Caviar Black 500GB
Display(s) Dell P2419H / SONY KDL-43W755C
Case Cooler Master Silencio 652S
Audio Device(s) Creative Inspire P580 / Sennheiser PC 320
Power Supply Cooler Master V550 Semi-Modular
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Logitech Ultra-Flat
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
The gaming did not feel slow to me at all, maybe you should hide the fps osd, 35-40 fps in strategy games is fine...
No offense, I really appreciate your approval with playing happily at 35-40 FPS, but
first: I did't spend tons of money for my rig to not running games smoothly
secondly: I can see the 35-40 fps with my eyes without fps counter as well, because in that case any game is full of stutters. I really would like to be a person whom stutter and/or tearing doesn't bother, but 35-40 fps (in any type of game) is everything but not smooth and enjoyable for me. Yeah I know, poor for me.. :)
It's one thing you can ignore them, but stutters and tearing are exists, it is a fact, not myth or malarkey of a pc masterrace fanboy. Someone can ignore, someone can't. I think you wont be happy if you buy an expensive Ferrari, and its max speed is 50mph.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
67 (0.64/day)
Location
RSA
System Name Gen2~Ryzen3000
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 - 3600
Motherboard MSi B450m Gaming plus
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire CPU Cooler, Armageddon 120mm RED Led Case fan
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ribjaws V, 3200Mhz (XMP), stable at 3466Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI Armour Radeon RX-580 O/C
Storage Primarily: WD - 500GB SSD
Display(s) Dell 27" IPS
Case ANTEC P7, Red line
Audio Device(s) JBL E-55 BT Headphones
Power Supply RM-RX-730W(80+) Modular PSU
Mouse Gigabyte Ghost, Logitech MX-518
Keyboard Coolermaster Devestator 3, Logitech Wave
Software Windows 10.v190x Pro~64bit
Benchmark Scores SOTTR Benchmark 1080p ultra - 80fps
Ok cool I get you ;)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,514 (1.96/day)
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 3.0
Processor i7 8700k @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus X APEX
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 16GB 3600 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 4TB
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Corsair 1200W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Hey, hope your fps problems get better. Feel free to add me online, I enjoy playing vs bots and Co-Ops. Mlee49
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,533 (6.30/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
When I Kerrigan Omega Worm Zerg rush, the framerate always tanks because so much is happening so fast. As Vayra86 said, I don't think it can really be helped other than lowering graphics settings so there's overall less to render. I think I actually play the game on low settings now because FPS is more important to me than pretties.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,844 (2.07/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet ($789 total)
Processor Ryzen 3600 @ 4.10 all core 1.30v ($162)
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus MAX ($99)
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 (re-use)
Memory G.Skill 2x8GB (16GB) 3800 CAS 16-17-16-32 FCLK @ 1900 @ 1.45v ($108)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC ($410)
Storage 860 Evo 2TB SSD (re-use)
Display(s) X-Star 27" 2560x1440 @ 110hz (re-use)
Case Corsair 110Q Silent (graduation gift)
Power Supply EVGA 700w GD 80+ GOLD (graduation gift)
had 0 issues running starcraft 2 campaign (and using cheat codes to get massive sized armies) on i7-7820hk cpu and gtx 1070 laptop. never had frame drops always ran smooth as butter.
 
Top