• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

State of DX10 Summer 2007. How's it going for you?

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
#1
First of all if you aren't using the latest drivers for your video card. Then don't post performance here. :laugh:

The new nVidia 162.22 drivers for my GeForce 8800GTS (640mb) have changed my outlook on DX10 Gaming.

Befoe the new drivers I couldn't stand to play Company of Heroes in DX10 and the Lost Planet Demo would only run at low resolution with all the DX10 effects turned all the way up.

Now with the new drivers and a little overclocking;) everything is great. I can see my box running games like Crysis this winter because I know nVidia (and ATI) will keep updating drivers optomizing DX10 game play. And the game manufactors will too. Also, FRAPS has been updated to work with DX10 and will continue to be updated.

Here is my "State of DX10 Summer 2007" Post yours and please show your graphics settings.

First Company of Heroes DX10

Yes, that's right everything as high as it goes including the resolution.
DX10 Performance? (Overclocked 650/1000)

Very playable for a RTS game.

Second Lost Planet Demo DX10


DX10 Performance? again overclocked.


20FPS for RTS
and
over 30FPS for First Person Shooter.

I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and it is beautiful.

Post your progress here, please. And also someone please tell me how to do the thumbnail post.:toast:

Thanks,
1STRIVE
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Messages
4,413 (1.07/day)
Likes
147
Location
England
Processor Intel Core i7-7700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix Z270E Gaming
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 4x 8GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 2133MHz
Video Card(s) 2x NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti FEs
Storage 512GB SSD, 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) AOC U2879VF, AOC G2260VWQ6
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
Thumbnails -Add the image as an attachment.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#3
Just a quick question, do you need an HDCP Monitor to be able to play DX10 games? Or Vista?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#5
So HDCP is required for Vista...aww that sucks.
 

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
#6
So HDCP is required for Vista...aww that sucks.
Talk about a thread jack!

Now HDCP is not required. He is saying you need Vista to play DX10 games.

Anyone have anything on topic?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#7
In response to the entire DX10 thing, I just wanna say...

Whoever said "don't buy a DX9 GPU in September 06, DX10 is just around the corner!" needs to be beaten with a large, blunt object.

I could have had an X1950, but I chose to wait, and look what all that waiting came to :mad:.
 

1Strive

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
682 (0.16/day)
Likes
30
Location
Texas
System Name Back in Black
Processor AMD Opteron 180 @ 2.6GHz (Dual Core)
Motherboard Asus A8N-SLI Premium
Cooling All Antec Case Fans (3-speed and Quiet as they come.)
Memory 2GB DDR440MHz (Corsair XMS LED Series) 1GB x2 [Dual-Channel]
Video Card(s) 8800GTS G92 512mb (eVGA-745/1000) 9474 in 3Dmark06 at Defaults.
Storage 2 WD 74GB Raptors in RAID Zero for Vista. WD 250GB for XP and Storage
Display(s) Acer 22' widescreen. 1680x1050 res / 5ms
Case Antec Black Server Chassis / Logitec G7 Wireless-Laser Mouse
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Music w/ 5.1 Surround Sound Headphones
Power Supply Antec 500Watt ATX2.0 Modular
Software Vista Ultimate (64-bit) / Playing: Crysis in DX9 on XP @ 1680x1050 High with 30FPS
Benchmark Scores Over 9k in 3DMark06! That's better than 80% of all systems tested and logged according to 3Dmark's s
#8
In response to the entire DX10 thing, I just wanna say...

Whoever said "don't buy a DX9 GPU in September 06, DX10 is just around the corner!" needs to be beaten with a large, blunt object.

I could have had an X1950, but I chose to wait, and look what all that waiting came to :mad:.
:laugh:

I agree with you there. It was/is furstrating that I have had my 8800 since Nov06 and just now I have finally gotten DX10 games that work and play well. That was a heck of a wait.

As far as you waiting for an ATI card. That's your own choice. You sleep in the bed you make. Just like in Nov07 when Crysis comes out I expect there may be 2nd gen DX10 cards or soon thereafter. I will have to live with my choice and go SLI with another 8800.
 

FAXA

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
234 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @3.15GHz
Motherboard Asus P5N-E SLI NF650i SLi
Cooling 2x120MM fans, Stock Intel Cooler, 1x80mm fans
Memory 2GB DDR2 PC5400 (2x1GB Corsair XMS2 w/ Heat Spreaders)
Video Card(s) Inno3D 8800GTS 320MB 650MHz Core
Storage 2x 250GB SATA300
Display(s) Dell D1226H 1600x1200 CRT
Case Windowed Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 24-bit
Power Supply 520W Corsair HX Series Modular PSU
Software Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_rtm.061101-2205)
#9
I have Vista in the post and I can't wait to drool over that DX10 prettiness.