• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Static in tower case

Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
There is static running all over the metal parts of my case, as in if i touch my case on the back or in the inside i get this slight electrical surge

The rootcause:
- DVI Cable and the HDMI cable (hdmi connected to my LCD TV)

When only i remove both of them the case no longer has any static

My question is, is it safe to leave it like that?

Thank you
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
Thats not static. You mean you get a small shock when you touch the case? Do you live in an old home? And no its not safe to leave it like that. Unplug and get it checked out. It might be an extension cord, bad plug, ground. And so on
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Sorry, got the words all wrong

Yes i get a small shock when i touch the case. I live in an apartment. Its fairly new..
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Yep I'm with Jetster. This is not static. You have a grounding issue somewhere. What country are you in?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,642 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,984
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#5
Sorry, got the words all wrong

Yes i get a small shock when i touch the case. I live in an apartment. Its fairly new..
what you mean with fairly new? the shock or it happen when you move to apartment
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
He lives in fairly new apartments. But we don't know what country yet. Its only happend when it hooked up to his TV and monitor.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
I live in Malaysia, and yes it only happens if i have either my monitor connected to my video card via DVI or my HDMI cable connected to my LCD TV

Flooring in my apartment is ceramic tiles
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#8
Malaysia...Hmm not totally familiar with power standards there. How many "pins" are on the plug for the PSU?
When you get a chance go into the UserCP and fill out your System Specs. Makes thing easier to know what we are dealing with :)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
Do you have surge protector on your TV and PC/Monitor
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#10
Malaysia...Hmm not totally familiar with power standards there. How many "pins" are on the plug for the PSU?
When you get a chance go into the UserCP and fill out your System Specs. Makes thing easier to know what we are dealing with :)
Malaysia uses standard 3 pin UK style.

Do you have surge protector on your TV and PC/Monitor
Surge protectors just cut the power when the current gets too big, and that feature can be found in the appliance's plug (assuming standard UK 3pin), and also the PSU. Earth trip can be found in your home's "power box".

The last time I received an electric shock from my case my PSU died within a week. If this is the same situation I suspect the PSU is on its last legs. OP if its possible try to test with another PSU and see if it happens.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
527 (0.20/day)
Likes
482
Location
Bahrain
System Name Shin-Lazarus \ Exp Gamer \ Dino
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.6GHz \ C2Q 9550\ AMD k6-2 450 @500MHz!!!
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme6 \Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P \ Gigabyte GA-5AX
Cooling De-lid+Tt Water 3.0 Extreme S \ Custom H50\ Socket7 cooler?
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz \ 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC28500 \1x128MB 2x256MB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX780 DC II OC \Ref' GTX 280 \ S3 Savage3D + 3dfx voodoo2
Storage OS=Micron C400 256GB + 4x HDD's \2.5" 500GB Toshiba \20GB quantum fireball
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE \ Dell E196FP \-
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D\ Tt V3 BE \ generic ancient case
Audio Device(s) sennheiser GSP300[]SB X-fi fatality-Logitech Z623 \ SB Audigy \ Creative CT4810
Power Supply FSP AURUM PT 850W \Tt Toughpower 600W \kobian 235W
Mouse Logitech G600 \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum \ Microsoft PS2 something something
Software WIn 10 Pro \Win XP SP3 \ too lazy to fix
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000!!!
#11
I had a case like that with my cousins "case", it was a grounding issue with the PSU, i just installed a grounded (3-pin) power cable to the PSU and the case stopped shocking him,
don't know if it's the same issue with OP but as far as i know it is a grounding issue
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,620 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#12
S.E. Asia doesn't have the best electricity supply. Here, most houses have no ground whatsoever it's impossible to buy a 3prong plug. The mains grounding is pretty much a joke.

It usually isn't a problem, just be careful when opening your case. unplug everything before you start grabbing components etc.

One way i used to solve this issue was to gound my case using an old speaker wire. I connected it to one of the screws in the back of the case and ran it to the copper water pipe.

one thing i worry about with grounding though, is that electricity is constantly being used, even when your machine is off, unless you disconnect it from the mains.

currently, i have a ups connected to the mains with a 3-prong plug (the apartment has a ground line) and then that goes to my printer, monitor and computer. No more shocks and everything is individually grounded without having electricity flowing from non-grounded equipment to grounded equipment.

Edit - i'd wager that if you go around your house and touch the metal part of any electrical appliance, you will get a small shock. But with most things now using double insulation you are less likely to notice it.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
S.E. Asia doesn't have the best electricity supply. Here, most houses have no ground whatsoever it's impossible to buy a 3prong plug. The mains grounding is pretty much a joke.

It usually isn't a problem, just be careful when opening your case. unplug everything before you start grabbing components etc.

One way i used to solve this issue was to gound my case using an old speaker wire. I connected it to one of the screws in the back of the case and ran it to the copper water pipe.

one thing i worry about with grounding though, is that electricity is constantly being used, even when your machine is off, unless you disconnect it from the mains.

currently, i have a ups connected to the mains with a 3-prong plug (the apartment has a ground line) and then that goes to my printer, monitor and computer. No more shocks and everything is individually grounded without having electricity flowing from non-grounded equipment to grounded equipment.

Edit - i'd wager that if you go around your house and touch the metal part of any electrical appliance, you will get a small shock. But with most things now using double insulation you are less likely to notice it.
Well that explains it. Exactly as I suspected. Hopefully the OP will take your advice and do the Speaker Wire Trick. I had to do with something at some time I had to that trick with(Really old receiver/amp if I recall)Simple and effective :cool:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14
Reminds me of that picture in the Taiwan floods of kids on there computer siting in 2 feet of water
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
180 (0.06/day)
Likes
33
#15
In Iraq, US soldiers were even killed by the shower. Because so many Iraqi contractors had no idea how to safety ground and earth ground. Grounding to water pipes is a safety threat. The 'tingle' from leakage inside a computer is less of a threat than grounding any appliance to water pipes.

If grounding is necessary to avert damage, then other problems still exist inside that hardware. That ground is only a secondary protection layer; made irrelevant by what should already be working properly inside the appliance. Solve the defect; do not cure symptoms. Of course, a static electric shock is completely different from the 'tingle' created by something completely different.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
118 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
Sweden currently.
System Name I7 4770K - RAID 0 SSD - Fractal Design ARC XL
Processor I7 4770K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO
Cooling XSPC RayStorm 750 EX360 WaterCooling Kit
Memory G.Skill Trident X 16GB 2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX
Storage OCZ SSD 256GB Vertex 4 Series SATA III 2.5" Raid 0 / Seagate Intern HDD Barracuda 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) AOC 2963 - Super Wide
Case Fractal Design ARC XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Headset Tactic3D Wrath Wireless
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000
Software Windows 8.1 + Media Center Licensed
#16
I had that issue before. Stopped when I switched PSU. - I think it was the PSU. I brought the motherboard, CPU and graphic card with me to a new build. That was in Denmark 5 years ago.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,620 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#17
In Iraq, US soldiers were even killed by the shower. Because so many Iraqi contractors had no idea how to safety ground and earth ground. Grounding to water pipes is a safety threat. The 'tingle' from leakage inside a computer is less of a threat than grounding any appliance to water pipes.

If grounding is necessary to avert damage, then other problems still exist inside that hardware. That ground is only a secondary protection layer; made irrelevant by what should already be working properly inside the appliance. Solve the defect; do not cure symptoms. Of course, a static electric shock is completely different from the 'tingle' created by something completely different.
I had that issue before. Stopped when I switched PSU. - I think it was the PSU. I brought the motherboard, CPU and graphic card with me to a new build. That was in Denmark 5 years ago.
Logically, you would assume that there were another issue. However, every electrical appliance with metal parts (counting at least 6 computers with different PSUs) have had this issue. It leads me to believe that it is not a problem with the equipment, but the power system in general.

I'm pretty sure it's due to the neutral wire not being balanced properly with the ground.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
118 (0.06/day)
Likes
8
Location
Sweden currently.
System Name I7 4770K - RAID 0 SSD - Fractal Design ARC XL
Processor I7 4770K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI HERO
Cooling XSPC RayStorm 750 EX360 WaterCooling Kit
Memory G.Skill Trident X 16GB 2666MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti SC SuperClocked ACX
Storage OCZ SSD 256GB Vertex 4 Series SATA III 2.5" Raid 0 / Seagate Intern HDD Barracuda 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) AOC 2963 - Super Wide
Case Fractal Design ARC XL
Audio Device(s) Creative Headset Tactic3D Wrath Wireless
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000
Software Windows 8.1 + Media Center Licensed
#18
I'm pretty sure it's due to the neutral wire not being balanced properly with the ground.
You might be right. But the next build used same power outlet + cable.

I think that the problem is, that the scews you use to tie the motherboard with sometimes transferes low current to the chassis.

This is pure speculation, however I think it is very plausible.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#19
@asanthadenz,

Is the PC and the monitor plugged in the same receptacle outlet?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,620 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#20
You might be right. But the next build used same power outlet + cable.

I think that the problem is, that the scews you use to tie the motherboard with sometimes transferes low current to the chassis.

This is pure speculation, however I think it is very plausible.
That could be the case, although i would be surprised as it has happened with 3 seperate cases and 4 different motherboards that i have had over the years. Also any other household appliance that has metal inside usually has this issue. I imagine that the inside of the equipment the ground is connected to the neutral.

"Since the neutral point of an electrical supply system is often connected to earth ground, ground and neutral are closely related. Under certain conditions, a conductor used to connect to a system neutral is also used for grounding (earthing) of equipment and structures. Current carried on a grounding conductor can result in objectionable or dangerous voltages appearing on equipment enclosures, so the installation of grounding conductors and neutral conductors is carefully defined in electrical regulations. Where a neutral conductor is used also to connect equipment enclosures to earth, care must be taken that the neutral conductor never rises to a high voltage with respect to local ground." - wikipedia

I'm pretty sure that the electricity systems here, the neutral is not connected to ground at the electricity transformer, like it should be.