• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Steam Fail

Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#1
Well I have tried to contact Steam support but no response and I trust the forums more so than steam at the moment. The problem is I have Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium, and when I install it it says that I should not run Steam with compatibility settings, which I have never had on and are not on right now. I can click ok and it does nothing, or hit cancel and it tries to boot, but after I login it will go to connecting me to steam, but it will either freeze up and cause me to end the process manually, or say that it cannot connect to the steam servers/there is something wrong with my internet. This is a new installation of steam and I downloaded the install from the steam main page. I really need to get some steam, just got TF2 and want to play so badly. please help asap
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#2
I would completely remove Steam and redownload it and reinstall.
Maybe for some reason you got a corrupt download?

I get the compatibility warnings once in awhile on programs, but have always just told it no.

Really not sure. It works fine for me on 7x64 ultimate.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#3
I would completely remove Steam and redownload it and reinstall.
Maybe for some reason you got a corrupt download?

I get the compatibility warnings once in awhile on programs, but have always just told it no.

Really not sure. It works fine for me on 7x64 ultimate.
I have done that many many times, none of them worked. I also have tried removing it from my user and system registry and reinstalling after that, which also did not work.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#4
Steam has a glitch regarding startup and news in W7. If you have backdated "news" sometimes Steam will take a whole bunch of time to startup. When you think it froze, wait, it is probably "news" being slow. Just wait, exit news, and then steam might work.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#6
Steam has a glitch regarding startup and news in W7. If you have backdated "news" sometimes Steam will take a whole bunch of time to startup. When you think it froze, wait, it is probably "news" being slow. Just wait, exit news, and then steam might work.
It isn't slow, it registers as not responding in the task manager, and if I wait like 10 mins I can get lucky and it will tell me there is something wrong with my internet or the steam servers.


Firewall or antivirus program blocking something when it tries to connect?
I have tried shutting down every non-system/windows background process and trying to connect, did not work.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#7
Make sure:

 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#8
I had exactly the same problem a week or so ago, managed to solve it and made a thread about it:

I just started my computer and out of nowhere I got this message:

http://img.techpowerup.org/101125/Untitled.png

Running Win 7, there is no option for 'compatibility settings' under 'file properties' for Steam.exe so this appears to be a dead end. Through googling I learnt that even reinstalling Steam afresh doesn't solve this problem!

The solution is:

1.Hit start->run->regedit
2.Go to key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
3.Look for a entry with your path to steam.exe
4.Delete that entry
5.If you dont find it there try HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers
Edit: Here's the error I was getting--


:toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
103 (0.03/day)
Likes
13
Location
Herndon,Va
System Name home build
Processor Core I7-3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 th
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 770GTX with 2gb
Storage 1tb + 1 120gb Sandisk Extreme ssd
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29 inch monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 400R
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Cooler Master 750 watt
Software Win 8 Pro 64bit
#9
Sounds like you are trying to install it from a user account on win 7 in which you didn't set up permissions, and that's why it is failing. Steam needs admin permissions.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#10
Sounds like you are trying to install it from a user account on win 7 in which you didn't set up permissions, and that's why it is failing. Steam needs admin permissions.
I am the one and only account on the computer, meaning I am the admin and have all permissions I believe. I am currently not at home so am unable to try any of those methods, but I will when I do get home.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#11
Any chance you can put up a Virtual Machine, or a small partition for a fresh Windows 7 install and test Steam there?

At least this would indicate whether your current 7 installation is the culprit or not.

That's all I got...
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#12
Any chance you can put up a Virtual Machine, or a small partition for a fresh Windows 7 install and test Steam there?

At least this would indicate whether your current 7 installation is the culprit or not.

That's all I got...
If the other methods don't work I will try that, but could you inform me on how to do that? It sounds interesting
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#13
Before you do that (when using a virtual machine, it cannot make use of all your video memory as a part of the latter will be assigned to the host machine), check whether your antivirus has given a false positive on one of the Steam related files and has put it in quarantaine. If so, make sure you tell your AV to trust the file and put it out of quarantaine. Also use CCleaner to clean temp files and the registry.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,670 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,254
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Your problem could have a lot of causes, unfortunately. It's the sort of problem that I'd like to look at in person if that had been possible. I've got Win7 64-bit and it's always worked fine for me, so it does inherently run ok with this OS, as one would expect it to.

If Black Panther's quick fix doesn't work, then I suggest looking at the comprehensive Steam help, here: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_cat.php?id=85 (why it's on an encrypted web page is beyond me).

The other quick thing you can do is to quit Steam and delete clientregistry.blob in the Steam install folder. Then restart Steam and after a short download, it should hopefully sort itself out.

Let us know how you get on. :cool:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
269 (0.08/day)
Likes
105
Location
Directly above the center of the Earth
System Name WTF it actually turns on!
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard MSI 990fxa-gd80
Cooling Raystorm swiftech mcp655 xspc dual bay res Rx240 Rs240
Memory 16gb ddr3 1600
Video Card(s) Power color R9 280x
Storage 2x1tb+2x2tb seagates
Display(s) 27" Samsung S27B350H
Case Tt core v51
Power Supply CORSAIR GS700
#15
I am the one and only account on the computer, meaning I am the admin and have all permissions I believe. I am currently not at home so am unable to try any of those methods, but I will when I do get home.
Right click the steam install exe and choose run as administrator anyway, ever since vista the admin does not have all admin rights.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,448 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,695
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#16
About the post above ^^, I don't remember whether I ran the installer as admin, but at least I can say that I don't run Steam itself as admin (better avoid it too, were possible, as it is safer to run it normally).
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#17
I had exactly the same problem a week or so ago, managed to solve it and made a thread about it:



Edit: Here's the error I was getting--
http://img.techpowerup.org/101125/Untitled.png

:toast:
That is the exact error I am getting, no luck by your method


Your problem could have a lot of causes, unfortunately. It's the sort of problem that I'd like to look at in person if that had been possible. I've got Win7 64-bit and it's always worked fine for me, so it does inherently run ok with this OS, as one would expect it to.

If Black Panther's quick fix doesn't work, then I suggest looking at the comprehensive Steam help, here: https://support.steampowered.com/kb_cat.php?id=85 (why it's on an encrypted web page is beyond me).

The other quick thing you can do is to quit Steam and delete clientregistry.blob in the Steam install folder. Then restart Steam and after a short download, it should hopefully sort itself out.

Let us know how you get on. :cool:
I have tried steam support, I have an open ticket sitting there now. And I have deleted the clientregistry.blob and it also did not work

Right click the steam install exe and choose run as administrator anyway, ever since vista the admin does not have all admin rights.
I do not have a install as admin selection to choose.


Did that and it also did not work. This is ridiculous.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#18
:ohwell: I did the solution before hitting 'cancel to permanently ignore the warning'....

But in this case, backup your registry, and check if there's a steam entry in:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Compatibility Assistant\Persisted

or in:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

and delete that one too.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,389 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,299
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
disable UAC

Start>run type "msconfig"> "tools" tab> change UAC settings move slider all the way down.

then install steam. after its done if it is still giving an error exit out. right click on the steam.exe

rightclick>properties>security tab> select "User (PCname/administrator)" (were pcname/user name are yours.) click edit and check the first box (all other boxes will auto be selected) press ok.

then

goto> compatibility tab> uncheck if checked "compatability mode"> check run as administrator.

press ok. reboot PC try again.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,670 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,254
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
I have tried steam support, I have an open ticket sitting there now. And I have deleted the clientregistry.blob and it also did not work
I think you may have misunderstood my post. Don't bother too much with the support ticket at this stage - if they get back to you with a working solution in a timely manner, then fine, but I wouldn't rely on it.

I think you should look at those support articles I pointed to and figure out your own solution using them. It also wouldn't hurt to post your problem in the Steam forum, as it's likely that there will be other people there just like you who have seen this and fixed it. Posting there might nail it in just a few hours. :) This is the strategy I use all the time.

Good luck! :toast:
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#21
:ohwell: I did the solution before hitting 'cancel to permanently ignore the warning'....

But in this case, backup your registry, and check if there's a steam entry in:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Compatibility Assistant\Persisted

or in:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers

and delete that one too.
Deleted both of them, that also did not work.


disable UAC

Start>run type "msconfig"> "tools" tab> change UAC settings move slider all the way down.

then install steam. after its done if it is still giving an error exit out. right click on the steam.exe

rightclick>properties>security tab> select "User (PCname/administrator)" (were pcname/user name are yours.) click edit and check the first box (all other boxes will auto be selected) press ok.

then

goto> compatibility tab> uncheck if checked "compatability mode"> check run as administrator.

press ok. reboot PC try again.
Did everything you have listed here, did not work.


I think you may have misunderstood my post. Don't bother too much with the support ticket at this stage - if they get back to you with a working solution in a timely manner, then fine, but I wouldn't rely on it.

I think you should look at those support articles I pointed to and figure out your own solution using them. It also wouldn't hurt to post your problem in the Steam forum, as it's likely that there will be other people there just like you who have seen this and fixed it. Posting there might nail it in just a few hours. :) This is the strategy I use all the time.

Good luck! :toast:
I will try the forums, I actually did misunderstand that one :)o).

This is kinda sucky, nothing seems to be working. If I was install through a live CD of linux onto my Windows location(C:\etc.) I wonder if it would work that way.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,670 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,254
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#22
I will try the forums, I actually did misunderstand that one :)o).
Hey, no sweat. :toast: You'll fix this, I promise you.

EDIT: Reading your OP, I really do wonder if this is being interfered with by your internet security software - which one do you have? It's also possible that you have a malware infection, but I tend to doubt it.

Try disabling your internet security and see if it works. If that doesn't help, uninstall the damn thing and make sure that you reboot. If it then works, reinstall your IS and see how it goes.

Finally, you can have Half-life 2 for free and completely legitimately. :rockout: See this thread: 2 free Half Life games for ati users It's one of the few games that I've ever played to completion. Hell, it was so good, that I did it three times over!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#23
Hey, no sweat. :toast: You'll fix this, I promise you.

EDIT: Reading your OP, I really do wonder if this is being interfered with by your internet security software - which one do you have? It's also possible that you have a malware infection, but I tend to doubt it.

Try disabling your internet security and see if it works. If that doesn't help, uninstall the damn thing and make sure that you reboot. If it then works, reinstall your IS and see how it goes.

Finally, you can have a Half-life 2 for free and completely legitimately. :rockout: See this thread: 2 free Half Life games for ati users
I have Microsoft Security Essentials, speaking of which that makes some sense. I believe I had bitdefender last time I was on steam. I will uninstall and get back to you
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
283 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name Build 1
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz
Motherboard MSI 770-C45 AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight, 3 120mm Intakes, 1 200mm Exchaust, 2 140mm Exchausts
Memory OCZ Gold 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 1333mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD-577A-ZNDC Radeon HD 5770 XXX Edition 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP
Storage WD Blue 640GB 7200 RPM
Display(s) ACER 23" Full HD HDMI Widescreen Monitor
Case NZXT Phantom Black
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 700W ATX12V/EPS12V SLI Ready Crossfire Ready
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#24
Did not work. Steam is still not working on my PC
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
275 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 3.4 GHZ
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 M
Memory Corsair XMS 4x 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 PC3 12800
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 970 4GB
Power Supply Corsair TX650W PSU
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#25
I had an error a while ago where Steam wouldn't install and start up properly no matter what fixes. If you're not at home, are you at a college campus or what? What fixed mine was installing it from somewhere else, an apartment or the house. Easy if you have a laptop, if it's a desktop you would need a friend with an apartment/ house nearby and of course wireless internet, and move the whole computer there.