• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Steam Games

Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,135 (0.33/day)
Likes
67
Location
England
System Name Wasleys PC
Processor Intel i5 2400 3.10GHz
Motherboard Asus P8z68-V
Cooling AC Freezer Pro
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 Hyperx Memory
Video Card(s) HIS ATi 6850 1GB DDR3
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache*
Case Antec 900 with mods
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth Xtream 500W
Software Windows 7
#1
Hello all,

Im going to reformat windows later next week. However - I don't want to download my steam games again due to my silly download limit.

Is there any way I can back up the games, and if so - what do I do...

:toast:
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,947 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,056
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
Just backup your Steam folder in program Files, all your games and info is in that folder. I use a seperate drive/partition for games/storage/programs so I don't lose stuff when I decide to change operating systems. Then just run steam.exe from that folder after the new OS install and it'll setup the client and you're set!

:toast:
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,380 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,021
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,135 (0.33/day)
Likes
67
Location
England
System Name Wasleys PC
Processor Intel i5 2400 3.10GHz
Motherboard Asus P8z68-V
Cooling AC Freezer Pro
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 Hyperx Memory
Video Card(s) HIS ATi 6850 1GB DDR3
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache*
Case Antec 900 with mods
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth Xtream 500W
Software Windows 7
#4
I should know, but in all honesty - I'm not sure how to re-install my OS without deleting files.

However - I don't want to keep ALL my files, so I think its easier to just delete the lot and restart everything. It might speed the PC up a bit.

Thanks any way :thanks:
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,135 (0.33/day)
Likes
67
Location
England
System Name Wasleys PC
Processor Intel i5 2400 3.10GHz
Motherboard Asus P8z68-V
Cooling AC Freezer Pro
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 Hyperx Memory
Video Card(s) HIS ATi 6850 1GB DDR3
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache*
Case Antec 900 with mods
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth Xtream 500W
Software Windows 7
#5
Nice one Erocker. Would thank you, but theres no button :)
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#6
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,135 (0.33/day)
Likes
67
Location
England
System Name Wasleys PC
Processor Intel i5 2400 3.10GHz
Motherboard Asus P8z68-V
Cooling AC Freezer Pro
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 Hyperx Memory
Video Card(s) HIS ATi 6850 1GB DDR3
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache*
Case Antec 900 with mods
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth Xtream 500W
Software Windows 7
#7
I know where it is - It just wasnt showing. Is now ;)
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,947 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,056
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#8
A clean slate is the way to go, I definately recommend making an OS partition or using an OS drive, then install your programs, games, and other storage goodies on the larger D: (or whatever drive letter you choose) that alleviates a lot of issues like this, and when you go to install a new OS you can do the format and clean install method that I prefer to use. I have never used the backup button, probably a better method tho!

Seeing that you have a 500GB HDD, making a 30-40GB OS partition is a good idea imo. Everyone has their own methods and some don't like having an OS partition or drive, to me it only makes sense especially with the situation you've been inquring about! Keep us posted!

:toast:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#9
Backup "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps" folder...

Reformat and reinstall your O/S.

Install steam again. Log into steam. Then log/exit out of steam.

Transfer steamapps folder back.

Log back into steam...and all your games will be there.

I have done this many many times!
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
1,037 (0.29/day)
Likes
100
Location
London, England
System Name Le Don
Processor Core i 5 2500K Unlocked 3.3GHz HD Graphics 3000
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro B3 Revision Rev 3.1
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7 Rev.2
Memory 8Gb Corsair DDR3 (CMZ8GX3M2B1600C9), 1600MHz, 1.5V, 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA Signature 2 Super Clocked GTX680 2GB
Storage Total 6 TB storage
Display(s) LG 23" D2342P and LG 42" 42LF65 LCD (Wall mounted)
Case Antec P180 Silver
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,
#10
i'm with ktr on this one. simple case of copying/moving a folder from one drive to another without the need for any overlong backing up process. but kudos to Steam for including a backup feature.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
1,135 (0.33/day)
Likes
67
Location
England
System Name Wasleys PC
Processor Intel i5 2400 3.10GHz
Motherboard Asus P8z68-V
Cooling AC Freezer Pro
Memory Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 Hyperx Memory
Video Card(s) HIS ATi 6850 1GB DDR3
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS 500GB Hard Drive SATA II 7200rpm *32MB Cache*
Case Antec 900 with mods
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply OCZ Stealth Xtream 500W
Software Windows 7
#11
A clean slate is the way to go, I definately recommend making an OS partition or using an OS drive, then install your programs, games, and other storage goodies on the larger D: (or whatever drive letter you choose) that alleviates a lot of issues like this, and when you go to install a new OS you can do the format and clean install method that I prefer to use. I have never used the backup button, probably a better method tho!

Seeing that you have a 500GB HDD, making a 30-40GB OS partition is a good idea imo. Everyone has their own methods and some don't like having an OS partition or drive, to me it only makes sense especially with the situation you've been inquring about! Keep us posted!

:toast:

Stupid question time....:rolleyes:

I take it when you place the windows CD into the computer (Give it a restart and make sure BIOS is set to launch of CD) - Will it ask me to whip the hard-drive?

If so - I'll whip it all.

I then go for a new install - And some way through the install it will ask me if I wish to make a partition ? I then choose how big it is and bingo :)

:toast:

PS - I should know this being a level 3 student, but I dont want to cock it up.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
1,037 (0.29/day)
Likes
100
Location
London, England
System Name Le Don
Processor Core i 5 2500K Unlocked 3.3GHz HD Graphics 3000
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro B3 Revision Rev 3.1
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7 Rev.2
Memory 8Gb Corsair DDR3 (CMZ8GX3M2B1600C9), 1600MHz, 1.5V, 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) EVGA Signature 2 Super Clocked GTX680 2GB
Storage Total 6 TB storage
Display(s) LG 23" D2342P and LG 42" 42LF65 LCD (Wall mounted)
Case Antec P180 Silver
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
Power Supply Corsair 850HX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit,
#12
during the preliminary setup, Windows asks you if you want to wipe (or whip :p) the entire hard drive or if you want to install on a different hard drive or a partition. although i've never done it (but it's looking like a possibility for future installs) i can't remember if it allows you to make the partition there and then. or if you need to get into DOS and use FDISK to make a partition.