• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Steam..

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#1
Quick question about Steam.

Is it possible to pick where to install the games ,or can they only install to drive C:
and if so how to do it?

as im running out of room due to only having a 50gb Windows partition,i dont want to resize my partitions as it would mean a hell of a lot of work having to move large amounts of stuff around.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
You can install steam to whatever partition you like.Mines on a seperate drive as its 92gb at the moment.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#3
right if u want to move where steam is installed to, just move the steamapps folder to a backup location, re-install steam in your second partition, start and exit steam, then move your backed up steamapps in there, start steam again and your games should work, i've done this to backup and restore my steam a hundred times (maily COD4 coz it's so damn huge). steam will even take care of checking for game install integrity and configuring PB again, etc.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#4
thanks guys ,will give it a try.

Am down to 5gb on Windows partition atm ,so i desp need to move steam :)


EDIT: Did as mentioned above and it worked a treat ,thanks guys :D
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,668 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,249
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
right if u want to move where steam is installed to, just move the steamapps folder to a backup location, re-install steam in your second partition, start and exit steam, then move your backed up steamapps in there, start steam again and your games should work, i've done this to backup and restore my steam a hundred times (maily COD4 coz it's so damn huge). steam will even take care of checking for game install integrity and configuring PB again, etc.
Don't you have to alse delete the clientregistry.blob file the Steam folder, so that it rebuilds it properly? <not sure>
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#6
Don't you have to alse delete the clientregistry.blob file the Steam folder, so that it rebuilds it properly? <not sure>
you don't keep your original steam folder, only the steamapps folder. everything else is done fresh.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,208 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,695
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
Don't you have to alse delete the clientregistry.blob file the Steam folder, so that it rebuilds it properly? <not sure>
i just cut and pasted my steam to my D: drive, and updated the shortcut to the exe.

I havent installed steam in ages, i just move it to new OS's :laugh:
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#8
Will the game run without steam then?? :eek:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,208 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,695
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
Will the game run without steam then?? :eek:
no. its just that steam looks for the games within the steam folder itself, it doesnt use external links (so you can move the entire steam folder from drive to drive, and it still works)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,668 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,249
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
i just cut and pasted my steam to my D: drive, and updated the shortcut to the exe.

I havent installed steam in ages, i just move it to new OS's :laugh:
I think I tried that once and it didn't quite work right, but it was so long ago, that I can't remember clearly; I think some registry entries need to be made. It could also be that some games are more fussy about being moved like that.
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#11
COD4 will run without Steam, I always create a shortcut to COD4MP with the --nosteam switch after I have used Steam to configure it. I don't know which games besides COD4 have a similar switch though.