• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Still good enough or upgrade?

Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#1
Hi all,

I have not post anything at TPU so far but I have a concern now, and I need experienced advice from others. I'm from Malaysia btw.

I will buy a used desktop from my friend. It was cheap enough for whole set plus samsung monitor (MYR400 ~ around USD131). the specs are as in my profile specs.

the concern is, is the current config is enough for me to play games like borderlands 2, crysis 2 (dx9), skyrim, diablo 3, battlefield 3 (multiplayer), dirt 3, modern wrfare 3, and mass effect 3 (plus some other recent games)? since the monitor is 1080p, i plan to game on that resolution. i dont mind reducing the details quality to medium though. i just want to game on 1080p smoothly, doesnt matter medium or low details. is the config good enough for this demand?

well, so far i do not plan on upgrading the pc but if you guys think otherwise or possible bottlenecking issue, i would like to hear what you have in your head.

Thank you
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,596 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#2
is the current config is enough for me to play games like borderlands 2, crysis 2 (dx9), skyrim, diablo 3, battlefield 3 (multiplayer), dirt 3, modern wrfare 3, and mass effect 3 (plus some other recent games)?
I would have to say no, if they play at all it will be at low frame rates with choppy video. I am sorry to inform you that your whole system is a bottleneck, especially when trying to play newer games. There's really no upgrade path either - the system is too old and any money you spend on it is wasted. For those games you'll need a modern CPU, motherboard, and RAM. I just went through the same thing last year when I was trying to game on a Pentium 4 system with DDR 800 RAM - it almost worked, but not good enough. I spent a lot of money on that old system trying to make it work, and it was all wasted (sold that system for $100). So I did the research for a long time and read hundreds of reviews and tutorials until I knew enough to build a new system (see system specs). I'm not saying you need to spend as much as I did ($1000), you could game just as well on the much cheaper AMD Bulldozer platform and build an adequate system for about $500. Good luck!
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#3
Recently I tested out my old HD4850 (resot of the system specs to the left) on Windows 7 in games compared to Windows XP.
Some games were unplayable that were playable on XP.

Tribes Ascend was a good example.
Same in game settings as in XP but the performance was far worse and this is on a 1440X900 resolution and I see you are running at full HD.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,569 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,469
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#4
Dual core, 2GB of ram and a 4850...A quad core 4GB of ram and any choice of modern VGA would wake it up for current games.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,813
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,477 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#6
I would have to say yes it would, but my main concern is the 2GB of RAM you have, that alone will course issues. If that was increased to 4 or 8GB then id say it should run those games at low to medium settings.

But like others have said, id upgrade the CPU to a Quad (3.2GHz) or higher and a new Video card (7770) or higher to run all those games a lot smoother.

I run the same video card in my mini PC i use for LAN's (even though i plan to upgrade it to a 7770) it has no issues playing games at medium settings, not that i have tested Crysis 2/Battlefield 3/Skyrim on that card, but the rest should be fine.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#7
More ram and faster graphics will handle most of them except for Battlefield 3, that needs a faster processor.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,813
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
might aswell max out the CPU with a Phenom II X4 980 or X6 1090T.

8 GB DDR 2 1066.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#9
Upgrade -

BF3 uses more than 4GB of ram, you will struggle with just 2GB. Upgrade the ram to 8GB. Drop in a Phenom II X6 and a ATI 7850.

Really comes down to your budget. If you got real money to drop maybe a new i5 build.
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#10
Upgrade -

BF3 uses more than 4GB of ram, you will struggle with just 2GB. Upgrade the ram to 8GB. Drop in a Phenom II X6 and a ATI 7850.

Really comes down to your budget. If you got real money to drop maybe a new i5 build.
^^^^Agree
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#11
Thank you for all of your replies. that is really helpful :)

Okay, so basically, the system is rather old and not good enough to play games on 1080p (despite low details). older games may be fine. thats what i can draw from you guys comments.

Still, i am short on budget. upgrading the system wholesale seems not an option. i can only upgrade few components, the crucial ones. from what i understand, i will need to:

(1) add more RAMs (the board only have 2 slots so i guess selling the old 2gb stick and buy 2 sticks 4gb),
(2) more cpu cores (any amd cpu - 4 cores and 3ghz above speed perhaps),
(3) and better graphics card (this part i can spend a bit but not much(300 bucks), perhaps latest geforce 600 series or radeon 7000 series).

Is this kind of okay to upgrade? assuming other components are left untouched (such as the 550w psu). If it is okay, then i'll do as that when i bought the system from him this saturday.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#12
Thank you for all of your replies. that is really helpful :)

Okay, so basically, the system is rather old and not good enough to play games on 1080p (despite low details). older games may be fine. thats what i can draw from you guys comments.

Still, i am short on budget. upgrading the system wholesale seems not an option. i can only upgrade few components, the crucial ones. from what i understand, i will need to:

(1) add more RAMs (the board only have 2 slots so i guess selling the old 2gb stick and buy 2 sticks 4gb),
(2) more cpu cores (any amd cpu - 4 cores and 3ghz above speed perhaps),
(3) and better graphics card (this part i can spend a bit but not much(300 bucks), perhaps latest geforce 600 series or radeon 7000 series).

Is this kind of okay to upgrade? assuming other components are left untouched (such as the 550w psu). If it is okay, then i'll do as that when i bought the system from him this saturday.
If you do all that you should be fine. Except skip the 4 core. Get the 6 core. This is your last upgrade on this motherboard you may as well get the fastest. Games like BF3 and Skyrim will really appreciate it too.
 

joeyck

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
716 (0.26/day)
Likes
55
#13
Thank you for all of your replies. that is really helpful :)

Okay, so basically, the system is rather old and not good enough to play games on 1080p (despite low details). older games may be fine. thats what i can draw from you guys comments.

Still, i am short on budget. upgrading the system wholesale seems not an option. i can only upgrade few components, the crucial ones. from what i understand, i will need to:

(1) add more RAMs (the board only have 2 slots so i guess selling the old 2gb stick and buy 2 sticks 4gb),
(2) more cpu cores (any amd cpu - 4 cores and 3ghz above speed perhaps),
(3) and better graphics card (this part i can spend a bit but not much(300 bucks), perhaps latest geforce 600 series or radeon 7000 series).

Is this kind of okay to upgrade? assuming other components are left untouched (such as the 550w psu). If it is okay, then i'll do as that when i bought the system from him this saturday.
just sold my amd x6 + mobo + 4Gb ram + nice sound card for 150$... I would of added the 6950 for a total of $320... u need to keep an eye on the for sale sections dude.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#14
If you do all that you should be fine. Except skip the 4 core. Get the 6 core. This is your last upgrade on this motherboard you may as well get the fastest. Games like BF3 and Skyrim will really appreciate it too.

That sound plausible as well. The board seems to support up to 125w model, though i am not so sure the coolermaster psu will still hold its own with 125w cpu. anyway, nice suggestion. games to come also seem to favour more cores.

and, is athlon II X6 models any good? i've seen benches of athlon II X2 250 is quite positive given its price. phenom line up pretty pricey here in Malaysia but if performance increase over athlon is justified, i'll take the deal then.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#15
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,477 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#16
Thank you for all of your replies. that is really helpful :)

Okay, so basically, the system is rather old and not good enough to play games on 1080p (despite low details). older games may be fine. thats what i can draw from you guys comments.

Still, i am short on budget. upgrading the system wholesale seems not an option. i can only upgrade few components, the crucial ones. from what i understand, i will need to:

(1) add more RAMs (the board only have 2 slots so i guess selling the old 2gb stick and buy 2 sticks 4gb),
(2) more cpu cores (any amd cpu - 4 cores and 3ghz above speed perhaps),
(3) and better graphics card (this part i can spend a bit but not much(300 bucks), perhaps latest geforce 600 series or radeon 7000 series).

Is this kind of okay to upgrade? assuming other components are left untouched (such as the 550w psu). If it is okay, then i'll do as that when i bought the system from him this saturday.
(1) Yes, it will cost you a little over $100 for 8GB of DDR2 (Brand new)
(2) Yes, if you look around on here or ebay you might get lucky as i got a Phenom II X4 955 (3.2GHz) for $75
(3) Yes, $300 for a new GPU is plenty, something like a 6950/6970/7850 would do the trick.

So thats a big three yes's from me and im an Aussie ;)

BUT most importantly check your PSU and make sure its up to the task first otherwise it might all go up in a cloud of smoke:twitch:

EDIT: Your PSU is pretty good, 16 AMPS on the 12v rail x2 is good enough.

Also if your looking at the 7770 or gtx650 the 7770 wins hands down and your psu will handle it with ease ;)

pci-e 2.0 vs 3.0 i wouldnt even worry about, all cards will work fine on 2.0
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#17
(1) Yes, it will cost you a little over $100 for 8GB of DDR2 (Brand new)
(2) Yes, if you look around on here or ebay you might get lucky as i got a Phenom II X4 955 (3.2GHz) for $75
(3) Yes, $300 for a new GPU is plenty, something like a 6950/6970/7850 would do the trick.

So thats a big three yes's from me and im an Aussie ;)

BUT most importantly check your PSU and make sure its up to the task first otherwise it might all go up in a cloud of smoke:twitch:


Yeah, $300 is maximum budget, i wish to spend less than that, which means lesser wattage gpu. plus, if possible, i intend to retain the psu. dont want the cloud of smoke :p

EDIT: thank you for the update. so, no real problem using pcie 3 card in pcie 2 slot? okay then, that cleared up my mind =)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,477 (1.26/day)
Likes
1,026
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD FX 8350 | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 G.Skill 1600 6-8-6-24| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) Samsung 2494hs 24" 1080P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Gigabyte aivia krypton gaming mouse | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
#18
Yeah, $300 is maximum budget, i wish to spend less than that, which means lesser wattage gpu. plus, if possible, i intend to retain the psu. dont want the cloud of smoke :p

EDIT: thank you for the update. so, no real problem using pcie 3 card in pcie 2 slot? okay then, that cleared up my mind =)
7770 is a good card and thats what my mini PC will be upgraded to from its 4850, but only due to size and PSU on mine with you you can go higher still even look second hand for a 5870, 6870 something like that on ebay for $150 ish would be more of a upgrade over the 7770/4850 :)

Just a thought
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
#19
what you can expect for a 955be ... i've dug out my old benches from 3dmark06... compare them to your system... so that you can see if upgrading the cpu is worth it... alone with the graphics card.

14363 ...9800gtx 675g1102m phII955be 3g2 8G 800 55518. ... http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/14990063

16556 ...6850asus790g1000m CnQon_3g2 4g 1066 55518...http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/15221287

7725 ... 5570'1g 650g800m 955be 3g2 55515 1066... http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/14473651

15579 ... vista v64 4870'1g 850g1000m 3g2 9850be 1066 55518 ... http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/9762025

17031 ... gtx560ti 900g1K_3g2phII955_1333_99924ddr3 ...http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/16339898

19235 ... gtx560ti_900g1002m 3g7be955_77721 ddr3 1333 ...http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/16359273

19875... gtx560tig900m1002i3_2120_3G1t99924ddr3 1333 ...http ://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/16874413
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,813
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#20
ive seen machines with 955 be with a radeon 4870 have a score of ~22K
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#21
That sound plausible as well. The board seems to support up to 125w model, though i am not so sure the coolermaster psu will still hold its own with 125w cpu. anyway, nice suggestion. games to come also seem to favour more cores.

and, is athlon II X6 models any good? i've seen benches of athlon II X2 250 is quite positive given its price. phenom line up pretty pricey here in Malaysia but if performance increase over athlon is justified, i'll take the deal then.
There is no Athlon II X6. Athlon II X4 would be a worthy cheap upgrade. But in all honesty it's 3 years old and was midrange back then. You really want something like the Phenom II X6 1100T to give you peace of mind and the biggest performance boost.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#22
There is no Athlon II X6. Athlon II X4 would be a worthy cheap upgrade. But in all honesty it's 3 years old and was midrange back then. You really want something like the Phenom II X6 1100T to give you peace of mind and the biggest performance boost.
Oh noob me, my bad :laugh:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,813
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#23
find a Phenom II X4 970
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
Auckland, NZ
System Name 1665231
Processor amd phenom ii x6 1075t
Motherboard asus m4n78se am2+/am3
Cooling stock, i guess
Memory 4gb ddr2 corsair valueram
Video Card(s) ati radeon hd 4850 512mb (gonna buy hd 7870 =D)
Storage seagate 500gb 7.2krpm + 1500gb external toshiba
Display(s) 23" samsung syncmstr 2333tn
Case thermaltake v3 black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply coolermaster extreme plus 550w (16A dual 12v rails)
Software win 7 home x64
#24
Thank you for all of your ideas ;)

Now i have clearer idea on what to do to upgrade the pc to meet my ends. Thanks again guys! You guys are :rockout: