• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Still stupidly slow after windows reinstall

Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#1
My uncle was asking me how to speed up his pc. I happened to be at his house so I went to go defrag his computer and clean cookies etc. It took about 10 minutes for the defragger to open. I was shocked. Not much I could do after that.

A week later he called me saying he couldn't boot his computer. I thought that must be why his computer was so slow before. I checked it out. He apparently had some virus that had filled his hdd with porn, when I last saw it he had less than 30gb of space used. So I wiped it and reinstalled windows 7 for him. The computer is still so so stupidly slow. It is unusable in my opinion.


Its a some gateway computer.
Specs:
i3 530
6gb ram
1tb hdd
windows 7

Why oh why is his computer so slow even after a reinstall? I would suspect the hdd. I am pretty much stumped on this one.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#2
Sounds like a hard drive issue. Try running HTtune health test to see if their are any bad blocks in the drive. I have a feeling the drive is on its way out. Upgrade it to a 256GB SSD and itll fly :D
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#3
Sounds like a hard drive issue. Try running HTtune health test to see if their are any bad blocks in the drive. I have a feeling the drive is on its way out. Upgrade it to a 256GB SSD and itll fly :D
I could do a 64gb drive on it with how he uses it. Its going to take probably 20-30 minutes to get httune open. Maybe I will just load gparted and see use its test.
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,851 (0.66/day)
Likes
504
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#4
A full reinstall and still slow, Yeap, It's probably the HDD. If you have a spare HDD to use. try it.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#5
The virus probably just raped the hard drive. But usually when trying to load things, the hard drive is doing about 80% if not more of the work at hand, if its its taking that long, the drive is on its way out. Replace it with another drive, or just say screw it and throw an SSD in there.

SAMSUNG 840 Series MZ-7TD120BW 2.5" 120GB SATA III...
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#6
The virus probably just raped the hard drive. But usually when trying to load things, the hard drive is doing about 80% if not more of the work at hand, if its its taking that long, the drive is on its way out. Replace it with another drive, or just say screw it and throw an SSD in there.

SAMSUNG 840 Series MZ-7TD120BW 2.5" 120GB SATA III...
Its my uncles computer. He wouldn't want to pay much and if I did suggest and ssd it would be a 64gb or less one because he only needs enough for the OS.

Being a gateway with some gateway case, I am not even sure how to get the hdd out. There is one screw that releases the hdd bay so you can access the screws that hold the hdd in. The problem is that one screw only has about 3-4 inches clearance. I did try to take it out to look at it, and test it in other system. I have smaller screw drivers but I can't get enough torque to even get that one little screw to budge.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,675 (0.60/day)
Likes
298
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 3820 4.4Ghz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TPower X79
Cooling Thermalright Archon Rev. A
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws 1866mhz
Video Card(s) AMD 290X
Storage Crucial M500 WD 600Gb Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
Buy your uncle a new computer for Xmas.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#8
Buy your uncle a new computer for Xmas.
He has an i3 530... all he needs is a new hdd. All he uses it for is to look up his fantasy football stuff.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,624 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#9
Get Hiren's boot CD and do a low-level format of the disk. Re-install windows and see how it goes.

It sounds like the virus might have perpetuated onto your latest clean install.

If that doesn't work; a couple of good programs for looking into HDD problems are HDat2, Vivard and HDD regenerator. I just revived a completely dead Samsung 500gb drive using those tools.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,840 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,988
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#10
Maybe kind of a Stupid Question ,But have you run chkdsk c:/f/r ?
That SHOULD give you the extent of the problem, as long as you go into Computer management Console(after running the chkdsk), it will give you the results of the chkdsk.
Go to event viewer/event logs/applications/ look for wininit. that'll tell you if it's Physical HDD issue's.

Hope you get it worked out
Happy Holiday's
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
693 (0.19/day)
Likes
122
Processor AMD 8350
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Night Night Hawk Edition
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600 GSkill Ripjaws CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 980 Ti Xtreme Gaming OC Ed
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 500gb + WD Black 5Tb
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz
Case White Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i 860W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
#11
If you can't get the old hdd out I'd just leave it in there and unplug it, then mount the new drive to the floor of the case with double sided automotive tape.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,400 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,922
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#12
My uncle was asking me how to speed up his pc. I happened to be at his house so I went to go defrag his computer and clean cookies etc. It took about 10 minutes for the defragger to open. I was shocked. Not much I could do after that.

A week later he called me saying he couldn't boot his computer. I thought that must be why his computer was so slow before. I checked it out. He apparently had some virus that had filled his hdd with porn, when I last saw it he had less than 30gb of space used. So I wiped it and reinstalled windows 7 for him. The computer is still so so stupidly slow. It is unusable in my opinion.


Its a some gateway computer.
Specs:
i3 530
6gb ram
1tb hdd
windows 7

Why oh why is his computer so slow even after a reinstall? I would suspect the hdd. I am pretty much stumped on this one.
Make everything one partition and try writing one pass with zeros. This will "fix" any bad allocations that might be slowing the drive down. It will take a while but Ive seen it bring back drives to new performance. It will also make sure there is no nasty left over thats just got a "invalid" flag on it but still active.

Not saying this will fix your issue but its worth a try before you spend money.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#13
Darn, just delete the partition, recreate the partition, reformat, reinstall, done!
Edit: if that doesn't fix it, then there's a hardware problem... hd, cable, or port.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#14
Make everything one partition and try writing one pass with zeros. This will "fix" any bad allocations that might be slowing the drive down. It will take a while but Ive seen it bring back drives to new performance. It will also make sure there is no nasty left over thats just got a "invalid" flag on it but still active.

Not saying this will fix your issue but its worth a try before you spend money.
DBAN is a good program for that.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#15
I recently bought an open box HP laptop for dirt cheap. to boot into windows 7 it took about 30 minutes, to open IE it took for ever, Windows explorer same thing. Thought the previous owner raped the machine. So pulled out the hdd, replaced with a spare hdd, installed windows all good. So contacted HP and explained them the situation, they shipped me next day Fedex a higher speed and higher capacity hdd. sent back the broken one. before sending back I used seagate tools to fill zeros, run all sorts of diag, reinstall W7, W8 all crap. Same behaviour.

I still didn't use the new hdd they sent, still sealed. Instead using a Kingston HyperX 128GB SSD and don't want to touch that hdd anymore!! The laptop boots into W8 in 12 secs, resume from hibernation in 7 secs and oh the CPU is AMD C-300.

So that i3 should be better. Just put in a new SSD and be done with it.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#16
Its my uncles computer. He wouldn't want to pay much and if I did suggest and ssd it would be a 64gb or less one because he only needs enough for the OS.

Being a gateway with some gateway case, I am not even sure how to get the hdd out. There is one screw that releases the hdd bay so you can access the screws that hold the hdd in. The problem is that one screw only has about 3-4 inches clearance. I did try to take it out to look at it, and test it in other system. I have smaller screw drivers but I can't get enough torque to even get that one little screw to budge.
If he only needs an OS drive you could get by with a 32GB SSD. A fully patched install should take about 20GB + hibernation file (same amount as your RAM, 6GB in his case). If you disable hibernation you can claim that space back.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#17
If he only needs an OS drive you could get by with a 32GB SSD. A fully patched install should take about 20GB + hibernation file (same amount as your RAM, 6GB in his case). If you disable hibernation you can claim that space back.
thats cutting it slow close man. Becuase that 32GB is actually only about 25-26GB to Windows. Just how it works. Atleast a 64gb would be good.

Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Inte...
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#18
thats cutting it slow close man. Becuase that 32GB is actually only about 25-26GB to Windows. Just how it works. Atleast a 64gb would be good.

Crucial M4 CT064M4SSD2 2.5" 64GB SATA III MLC Inte...
If I were to get an ssd it would be a 64gb just because the price of the 30gb compared to the 64gb is negligible. $50 for a 30gb ssd COME ON. I could easily fit him onto a 32gb though because he currently only is using 20gb of his 1tb drive and I could probably cut that 20gb down a few gigs. I did talk to him about it. If I can't fix it he wants me to find him the cheaper working hdd I can find. If I buy new it will be a cheaper 64gb ssd. I saw a tb hdd for $35 shipped in the sales threads here that I may look into.

Gosh guys. Thanks for all the tips. Over the last 4 years I have become quite knowledgeable with computer related things but hdd problems are still that one sore spot. It took me weeks of effort with an extra month or two of procrastination to fix my own hdd after I deleted the ubuntu partition from a dual boot machine. For that case, it turns out I just had to set the primary boot flag to the correct partition.

Anyways. I am downloading some of the suggested tools. I did finally get this hdd out after much man handling It turns out it is a WD green 1tb which afaik are not that fast to begin with but not thiiiisss slow. I'll run some tests are report back here when I get around to it.


Also, a laptop I just fixed for someone had a bad hdd. I just replaced it with a good hdd they had in their other dead laptop. It had some code, I forget now, that google said was a physical problem. That the mechanical write head was broken or something. I would not think that is fixable but ... what do you guys think?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#19
I once made a very naiive mistake of buying a second hand HDD. Never again. Not just the lost time, but the lost data. You cannot put a price on it.

The time taken setting up windows, installing apps, loading data. Backing up. Trying to fix a HDD problem. The hours and hours. It just isnt worth it. Add to that the loss of important documents, installers, photos, music. Maybe some you can replace or recreate. But the time... the time...

At the sign of a faulty drive, replace it with new, and get a sledgehammer to the old. YOU DO YOURSELF NO FAVOURS by trying to revive it. While people might talk about their success stories, they are few and far between, and you operate at a higher RISK of failure in the future. IMO that just isnt worth it. Cost your time, whether $1, $5 or $50 per hour... and you will quickly see that old unpredictable HDD are for the hammer.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.56/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#20
If I were to get an ssd it would be a 64gb just because the price of the 30gb compared to the 64gb is negligible. $50 for a 30gb ssd COME ON. I could easily fit him onto a 32gb though because he currently only is using 20gb of his 1tb drive and I could probably cut that 20gb down a few gigs. I did talk to him about it. If I can't fix it he wants me to find him the cheaper working hdd I can find. If I buy new it will be a cheaper 64gb ssd. I saw a tb hdd for $35 shipped in the sales threads here that I may look into.

Gosh guys. Thanks for all the tips. Over the last 4 years I have become quite knowledgeable with computer related things but hdd problems are still that one sore spot. It took me weeks of effort with an extra month or two of procrastination to fix my own hdd after I deleted the ubuntu partition from a dual boot machine. For that case, it turns out I just had to set the primary boot flag to the correct partition.

Anyways. I am downloading some of the suggested tools. I did finally get this hdd out after much man handling It turns out it is a WD green 1tb which afaik are not that fast to begin with but not thiiiisss slow. I'll run some tests are report back here when I get around to it.


Also, a laptop I just fixed for someone had a bad hdd. I just replaced it with a good hdd they had in their other dead laptop. It had some code, I forget now, that google said was a physical problem. That the mechanical write head was broken or something. I would not think that is fixable but ... what do you guys think?
Definitely go SSD if he doesnt need 1TB of storage. yeah Green drives aren't that slow haha.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,626 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#21
First set of diagnostics. From gparted.

GParted 0.11.0 --enable-libparted-dmraid

Libparted 2.3
Check and repair file system (ntfs) on /dev/sda3 00:00:59 ( SUCCESS )

calibrate /dev/sda3 00:00:15 ( SUCCESS )

path: /dev/sda3
start: 25,372,672
end: 1,953,521,663
size: 1,928,148,992 (919.41 GiB)
check file system on /dev/sda3 for errors and (if possible) fix them 00:00:40 ( SUCCESS )

ntfsresize -P -i -f -v /dev/sda3

ntfsresize v2012.1.15AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda3
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Current device size: 987212283904 bytes (987213 MB)
Checking for bad sectors ...
Checking filesystem consistency ...
Accounting clusters ...
Space in use : 20864 MB (2.1%)
Collecting resizing constraints ...
Estimating smallest shrunken size supported ...
File feature Last used at By inode
$MFT : 6343 MB 0
Multi-Record : 8166 MB 62461
$MFTMirr : 1 MB 1
Compressed : 19595 MB 22142
Sparse : 19304 MB 58838
Ordinary : 495715 MB 65199
You might resize at 20863561728 bytes or 20864 MB (freeing 966349 MB).
Please make a test run using both the -n and -s options before real resizing!
grow file system to fill the partition 00:00:04 ( SUCCESS )

run simulation 00:00:04 ( SUCCESS )

ntfsresize -P --force --force /dev/sda3 --no-action

ntfsresize v2012.1.15AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda3
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Current device size: 987212283904 bytes (987213 MB)
New volume size : 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Nothing to do: NTFS volume size is already OK.
real resize 00:00:00 ( SUCCESS )

ntfsresize -P --force --force /dev/sda3

ntfsresize v2012.1.15AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda3
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Current device size: 987212283904 bytes (987213 MB)
New volume size : 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Nothing to do: NTFS volume size is already OK.

========================================
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#22
First set of diagnostics. From gparted.

GParted 0.11.0 --enable-libparted-dmraid

Libparted 2.3
Check and repair file system (ntfs) on /dev/sda3 00:00:59 ( SUCCESS )

calibrate /dev/sda3 00:00:15 ( SUCCESS )

path: /dev/sda3
start: 25,372,672
end: 1,953,521,663
size: 1,928,148,992 (919.41 GiB)
check file system on /dev/sda3 for errors and (if possible) fix them 00:00:40 ( SUCCESS )

ntfsresize -P -i -f -v /dev/sda3

ntfsresize v2012.1.15AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda3
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Current device size: 987212283904 bytes (987213 MB)
Checking for bad sectors ...
Checking filesystem consistency ...
Accounting clusters ...
Space in use : 20864 MB (2.1%)
Collecting resizing constraints ...
Estimating smallest shrunken size supported ...
File feature Last used at By inode
$MFT : 6343 MB 0
Multi-Record : 8166 MB 62461
$MFTMirr : 1 MB 1
Compressed : 19595 MB 22142
Sparse : 19304 MB 58838
Ordinary : 495715 MB 65199
You might resize at 20863561728 bytes or 20864 MB (freeing 966349 MB).
Please make a test run using both the -n and -s options before real resizing!
grow file system to fill the partition 00:00:04 ( SUCCESS )

run simulation 00:00:04 ( SUCCESS )

ntfsresize -P --force --force /dev/sda3 --no-action

ntfsresize v2012.1.15AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda3
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Current device size: 987212283904 bytes (987213 MB)
New volume size : 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Nothing to do: NTFS volume size is already OK.
real resize 00:00:00 ( SUCCESS )

ntfsresize -P --force --force /dev/sda3

ntfsresize v2012.1.15AR.1 (libntfs-3g)
Device name : /dev/sda3
NTFS volume version: 3.1
Cluster size : 4096 bytes
Current volume size: 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Current device size: 987212283904 bytes (987213 MB)
New volume size : 987212280320 bytes (987213 MB)
Nothing to do: NTFS volume size is already OK.

========================================
Checking and running a SMART test will be a better move. By the time GParted tells you that you're in trouble, your drive is already almost dead.

Code:
sudo apt-get install smartmontools
sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda # will give you stats.
sudo smartctl -t short /dev/sda # runs a short test.
sudo smartctl -t long /dev/sda # runs a long test.
sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda # also shows the results of the tests.
# short takes maybe 10 minutes, long takes several hours. Not all errors will be caught by a short test but will be on a long test.