• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Stop GPU-Z from Starting Up After Install

Mojobaggins

New Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.09/day)
Built a new system, new install of Windows10 and installed GPU-Z 2.29. Now, I have not selected "Load GPU-Z on Windows startup" in GPU-Z Settings but no matter what, GPU-Z starts up every time I turn on my PC. I can't find any startup entry, no shortcut in any startup folder, nothing in Task Scheduler and even did a registry check but nothing. Without uninstalling it and just running it standalone, where is the setting that I can either delete or disable to stop GPU-Z from running at Windows Start up?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Uninstall it and run standalone.
I unzip it to desktop.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,212 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
Are you closing Gpu-z before you shut down the pc? Windows will try to restore previously running apps on restart
 

Mojobaggins

New Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.09/day)
Are you closing Gpu-z before you shut down the pc? Windows will try to restore previously running apps on restart
No, even when I shut it down before I exit Windows, I'll get the pop up about asking if I want to allow this app to make changes to my pc when I restart my pc. I can uninstall it and run it standalone but just puzzled why it continues to try and restart no matter. I've googled for any place/folder where the command/setting is that's making it start up with Windows.g More curious than anything else and thought I'd check post here.

Uninstall it and run standalone.
I unzip it to desktop.
Probably what I'll do and set up a task to run it elevated to bypass the permission pop up. More curious than anything.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
I've never had that happen. Doubt it's programmed to auto-start.
W1zzard is who programmed it. He knows.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,722 (1.84/day)
Did you try using Autoruns for Windows and see if it can locate that start up problem.
Quote from the MS site:
This utility, which has the most comprehensive knowledge of auto-starting locations of any startup monitor, shows you what programs are configured to run during system bootup or login, and when you start various built-in Windows applications like Internet Explorer, Explorer and media players. These programs and drivers include ones in your startup folder, Run, RunOnce, and other Registry keys. Autoruns reports Explorer shell extensions, toolbars, browser helper objects, Winlogon notifications, auto-start services, and much more. Autoruns goes way beyond other autostart utilities.
 

the54thvoid

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,629 (2.03/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Never had that issue but there is a checkbox within GPU-z to enable start-up. I know it's IT-101 but, have you checked to see the box isn't ticked?

Untitled.png
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
545 (0.28/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education 1909 x64
What? You can install Gpu-z? I always thought it was portable.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,722 (1.84/day)
What? You can install Gpu-z? I always thought it was portable.

It can be, either or both.
Portable and/or installed... whichever you choose.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
699 (0.21/day)
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO/Intel Box cooler/Intel Box cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2x1TB ADATA SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xCrucial 1TB SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Samsung 1TB SSD+8TB+4TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Win10 64-bit (Main PC v.1809 RTM Enterprise/2nd PC v.1903 Insider Preview Pro/3rd PC - same as 2nd)

Mojobaggins

New Member
Joined
Feb 29, 2020
Messages
3 (0.09/day)
Did you try using Autoruns for Windows and see if it can locate that start up problem.
Quote from the MS site:
Yes, I have run Autoruns and there is nothing there. But everytime I restart Windows this pops up and even if I select no to not launch the program, it will come up again when I restart windows. I'm curious to know what is causing it to try and Execute GPU-Z.exe with -restarted? Where is the task or shortcut with the -restart? MVIMG_20200229_200404.jpg

Even weirder is if I select Yes and allow it to launch then restart Windows, GPU-Z will launch with no prompt do to it being opened when I restarted it but the UAC pop-up will occur again and if I select yes, another instance of GPU-Z opens. I thought the -restart command would cause GPU-Z know that it's already open and not launch a second instance of it.

Surprised I'm the only person with this issue b/c it's a clean install. And when I uninstalled it, I have run registry cleaners to remove all traces of GPU-Z. But when I reinstall the issue reappears. I can replicate the issue on demand.

Never had that issue but there is a checkbox within GPU-z to enable start-up. I know it's IT-101 but, have you checked to see the box isn't ticked?

View attachment 146254
Nope, not checked.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,212 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
regedit -> search for text -> gpu-z.exe

anything there that looks like it could be an autorun-related entry? feel free to post screenshots or list the registry paths

gpu-z installs itself only in scheduled tasks (once you click "run at startup").
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
2,079 (1.95/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Check task manager for a startup entry and disable it? Simplest and most straightforward thing to do in Windows 10. Just look in the Startup tab of Task Manager.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2013
Messages
1,261 (0.50/day)
System Name Some computer stuff
Processor Mostly Intel or AMD
Motherboard ATX or mATX
Cooling Bong Cooler
Memory DDR2-4
Video Card(s) A few
Storage Plenty Platters or SSDs or USBs
Display(s) Samsung 23"
Case 5 on the floor
Audio Device(s) There's one for my M7 Gene, Oh I have 3-4 PCI 5.1 ones.Sabrent! lol
Power Supply 750-1000W
Mouse cheap
Keyboard Used ps2 from garage sales
Software Yeah
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/schmuckley/#Hardware_Library http://valid.canardpc.com/rbjpbg
Top