• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Storage/SSD question...

Killura

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Chicago
System Name Hate Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 X4 965 black edition 3.40GHz
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master V10
Memory 8gb Corsair ddr3 1600mhz (oc)
Video Card(s) (2) XFX Radeon HD 4890 1gb
Storage WD 1tb AND an old 40 GB wit XP
Display(s) 42in Visio LCD HDTV and Gateway FHD2302 23" Widescreen LCD dual link
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD audio
Power Supply Coolmax 950W Modular
Software Win 7 pro 64Bit AND XP 32Bit(seperate drive)
Benchmark Scores stock, nonOCed P14332 3Dmark vantage 19132 3Dmark06
#1
Well im about to make the jump to using multiple drives on my rigg.

I am currently using a 1tb hd for my OS and everything. My Question is what would be the right way to set up a SSD for my OS and have the 1tb for storage? What size SSD should I use for WIN 7 PRO and my Games? Sorry like the title says, im new with the whole multiple drives useing the same OS thing.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,533 (6.20/day)
Likes
6,955
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender!
Processor I7 7700K @ STOCK
Motherboard AsRock Z270 Extreme 4 mATX
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz OC'd to 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080TI SC2
Storage 2x Kingston 256GB M.2 PCIe SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) LG 29Inch Ultra wide 2K
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Zowie EC1A
Keyboard Logitech G910 Gaming
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
plz next time use a more appropriate title for your threads

as for your problem just install the SSD and go into the bios and have it boot from the SSD then pop in your win 7 DVD and install. once your installed then start sorting the 1 tb for storage
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,688 (9.94/day)
Likes
18,558
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#3
I tried using a 30gb SSD for an O/S, and while it worked, I was always cleaining it up so it wouldn't get full. A 60gb would be plenty. You may want to change your thread title to something more decriptive as per forum guidelines. I'll admit, I saw the word Noob! and it made me want to click the link. :toast:
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
4,315 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,015
Location
Multidimensional
System Name Derp!
Processor i7 7700 @ 4.2Ghz Turbo On
Motherboard Gigabyte B250 Phoenix Wifi ITX Motherboard
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i LP Cooler || Cooler Master Fan Pro RGB 120mm x 2
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400mhz RAM
Video Card(s) AMD Reference RX 480 8GB
Storage 250GB SS 960 Evo M.2 || WD Blue 500GB SSD || 2TB SG FC SSHD
Display(s) Hisense 1080p Smart LED HDTV 40inch
Case Fractal Node 202 Mini ITX Case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio / HDMI Audio Via GPU
Power Supply Corsair SFX 600W PSU
Mouse CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mouse
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Lite L RGB Mem-Chanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit
Benchmark Scores Later
#4
I tried using a 30gb SSD for an O/S, and while it worked, I was always cleaining it up so it wouldn't get full. A 60gb would be plenty. You may want to change your thread title to something more decriptive as per forum guidelines. I'll admit, I saw the word Noob! and it made me want to click the link. :toast:
hahahah I had the same feeling:roll:
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,533 (6.20/day)
Likes
6,955
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender!
Processor I7 7700K @ STOCK
Motherboard AsRock Z270 Extreme 4 mATX
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz OC'd to 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080TI SC2
Storage 2x Kingston 256GB M.2 PCIe SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) LG 29Inch Ultra wide 2K
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Zowie EC1A
Keyboard Logitech G910 Gaming
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
I was thinking later on myself to get two 30 GB or 60GB SSDs for my OS drive in raid 0 but thats when they get alittle bit cheaper but for now the blue drives in raid 0 are awesome
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#6
To determine the SSD capacity you should be looking for, take a look at how much space is currently taken by your Windows installation + Program Files and go from there. Some people only need 20GB. Most people won't go over 100GB, with the rest being personal data/multimedia/etc. I use over 500GB for that alone (seriously). For the average gamer, I'd recommend at least 60GB but obviously it varies considerably.
 

Killura

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2010
Messages
20 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Chicago
System Name Hate Machine
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 X4 965 black edition 3.40GHz
Motherboard Asus M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master V10
Memory 8gb Corsair ddr3 1600mhz (oc)
Video Card(s) (2) XFX Radeon HD 4890 1gb
Storage WD 1tb AND an old 40 GB wit XP
Display(s) 42in Visio LCD HDTV and Gateway FHD2302 23" Widescreen LCD dual link
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD audio
Power Supply Coolmax 950W Modular
Software Win 7 pro 64Bit AND XP 32Bit(seperate drive)
Benchmark Scores stock, nonOCed P14332 3Dmark vantage 19132 3Dmark06
#7
haha yea after i posted it i was like, "Wow that was a bad idea" then went to change it and couldnt for some reason. o well thanks for changing it for me.

Thanks for the info! one more thing, Im looking for an 80gb SSD just for security reasons (I dont want to run out of room). What brand or spec should i be looking for to have the fastes read times? not worried about write times at all.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#8
It's worth mentioning that the write times come into play more often than just when you're copying/creating files—just want to throw that out there though I suspect you are aware of this.

There are certain controllers to look for in an SSD and certain models that are vastly superior to others, even within the same brand. But I may be behind the times on the best models available now so will let someone else jump in on that one.

Just to throw this out there ... it's smaller than what you're looking for, but:
OCZ Vertex 30GB (Newegg Shell Shocker deal)
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (1.06/day)
Likes
2,260
#9
I'd advise you not to go with 30gb. It's a pain in you-know-where to keep maintaining disk space. Go for at least 60gb or 64gb version.

Or if you are short on dough, Intel 40gb is also an option.