• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Story Trailer, System Requirements for From Software's Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice Outed

Raevenlord

News Editor
Staff member
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
2,455 (2.58/day)
Likes
1,824
Location
Portugal
System Name The Ryzening
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7 GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Arctic Cooling Liquid Freezer 120
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200 (2x 8 GB)
Video Card(s) TPU's Awesome MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage Boot: Crucial MX100 128GB; Gaming: Crucial MX 300 525GB; Storage: Samsung 1TB HDD, Toshiba 2TB HDD
Display(s) LG 29UM68P (21:9 2560x1080 FreeSync Ultrawide)
Case NOX Hummer MC Black
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 620W 80+
Mouse Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Keyboard Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
Software Windows 10 x64
#1
From Software's Dark Souls series has become one of the hallmarks of gaming in recent years, spawning multiple formula-copying titles with their own takes and settings. However, it has become clear that no one developer has mastered From Software's mix of cruel difficulty. I'd say From Software has mastered an almost alchemically concocted technical prowess in animation mechanics and timing, mixed with pattern recognition, attention to detail, reflexes, and the cherry on top, immediate, repeatable gratification on finally overcoming that damn Ornstein and Smough pair.

The latest story trailer showcases Japan's Sengoku period in the 1500's, a period drenched in conflict and the blood of samurai, with Owl taking on an apprentice from the remains of a battle. As with almost every samurai tale, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice will be making use of a plot centered around recovering one's honor. According to From Software, you'll be able to use "deadly prosthetic tools and powerful ninja abilities while you blend stealth, vertical traversal, and visceral head-to-head combat". I'm already fully aware that the title is misleading: you'll die more than twice by the time the credits roll. You can start counting your deaths and victories come March 22nd, when the game is released for all platforms (via Steam on PC).




The system requirements in and off themselves aren't that hard on your hardware (eh), with an Intel i5 2500K or an AMD Ryzen 5 1600 paired with 8 GB of RAM and an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 or an AMD RX 570 being hailed as the recommended specs battle winners.

MINIMUM:
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit | Windows 8 64-bit | Windows 10 64-bit
  • Processor: Intel Core i3-2100 | AMD FX-6300
  • Memory: 4 GB RAM
  • Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 | AMD Radeon HD 7950
  • DirectX: Version 11
  • Network: Broadband Internet connection
  • Storage: 25 GB available space
  • Sound Card: DirectX 11 Compatible

RECOMMENDED:
  • OS: Windows 7 64-bit | Windows 8 64-bit | Windows 10 64-bit
  • Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K | AMD Ryzen 5 1400
  • Memory: 8 GB RAM
  • Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 | AMD Radeon RX 570
  • DirectX: Version 11
  • Network: Broadband Internet connection
  • Storage: 25 GB available space
  • Sound Card: DirectX 11 Compatible

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
2,221 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#2
looks like a great game, nice to see the specs requirement is reasonable to. my gtx 1070 should max out and give me 90 fps. might have to lower shadows or something.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
1,941 (0.53/day)
Likes
752
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD HD6950 x 2
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#3
looks like a great game, nice to see the specs requirement is reasonable to. my gtx 1070 should max out and give me 90 fps. might have to lower shadows or something.
Ok? bit of a pretty random guess there but sure....
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
1,253 (0.85/day)
Likes
837
System Name Wut?
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake T81
Power Supply Seasonic 750 Watt Gold
#4
Is it available on anything other than Steam? Or is this a PC Steam exclusive?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
2,221 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#5
Ok? bit of a pretty random guess there but sure....
how is it random? they just said a gtx 970 is recommended for 60 fps at 1080p. thats what recommended specs are. my 1070 beats the crap out of a 970... so i prob will hit closer to 100 fps... seems pretty obvious to me
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,465 (0.33/day)
Likes
478
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z 370 Gaming 7
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP (the little monitor that could)...
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#6
how is it random? they just said a gtx 970 is recommended for 60 fps at 1080p. thats what recommended specs are. my 1070 beats the crap out of a 970... so i prob will hit closer to 100 fps... seems pretty obvious to me
Is there some standard frames per second they are supposed to give you for recommended settings? Serious question, not mocking or anything. I've always assumed the worst when they give requirements... For instance, Witcher 3 recommends a GTX 770.... I'll have to google a benchmark on that, lol.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,499 (5.96/day)
Likes
8,674
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
2,008 (2.01/day)
Likes
687
#8
Is there some standard frames per second they are supposed to give you for recommended settings? Serious question, not mocking or anything. I've always assumed the worst when they give requirements... For instance, Witcher 3 recommends a GTX 770.... I'll have to google a benchmark on that, lol.
At mid-high settings GTX 770 will get you to 45-50 fps for 1080p. Perfectly playable.

I believe requirements have always been given in similar way.
Minimum is for very basic graphics or resolution below mainstream. Suggested minimum for Witcher 3 is GTX660. It should be OK for low 1080p or mid 720p.
Recommended is usually enough for mainstream resolution (today still 1080p) and middle settings.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,465 (0.33/day)
Likes
478
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z 370 Gaming 7
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP (the little monitor that could)...
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#9
At mid-high settings GTX 770 will get you to 45-50 fps for 1080p. Perfectly playable.

I believe requirements have always been given in similar way.
Minimum is for very basic graphics or resolution below mainstream. Suggested minimum for Witcher 3 is GTX660. It should be OK for low 1080p or mid 720p.
Recommended is usually enough for mainstream resolution (today still 1080p) and middle settings.
They should specify what resolution and settings they 'recommend' though. It would be a nice gesture.

It is an amazingly small game though, at 25GB... I never thought I'd say such a thing. :laugh:
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,682 (3.25/day)
Likes
4,605
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Code V2B
Software Windows 10
#10
But... shadows are not alive so how can they die once let alone twice? :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,222 (0.93/day)
Likes
628
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Memory Team NightHawk 3600 4x8GB
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#11
how is it random? they just said a gtx 970 is recommended for 60 fps at 1080p. thats what recommended specs are. my 1070 beats the crap out of a 970... so i prob will hit closer to 100 fps... seems pretty obvious to me
The thing is if this is on the same engine as DS3, that game is capped at 60FPS.
So it really doesnt matter what you have after you reach that.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
1,941 (0.53/day)
Likes
752
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD HD6950 x 2
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#12
how is it random? they just said a gtx 970 is recommended for 60 fps at 1080p. thats what recommended specs are. my 1070 beats the crap out of a 970... so i prob will hit closer to 100 fps... seems pretty obvious to me
There are just so many variables you just casually ignore with such a statement, you have no clue how the engine will react or if running shadows on higher or lower settings impact anything.
Heck often shadows are CPU bound soooo yeah.
Its just so baseless, yeah we can broadly claim a GTX1070 will do better then a GTX970 but that is just about it at this point.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
2,008 (2.01/day)
Likes
687
#13
They should specify what resolution and settings they 'recommend' though. It would be a nice gesture.

It is an amazingly small game though, at 25GB... I never thought I'd say such a thing. :laugh:
I don't think that's possible.
The minute they say a game can be played at 1440p, someone - most likely surrounded by American lawyers - will show up with evidence that he could only manage 22 fps and wants millions of dollars. The box didn't say he can't run 40 chrome tabs in the background.
It's better this way.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,465 (0.33/day)
Likes
478
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z 370 Gaming 7
Cooling Silverstone HE01
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO and the trusty old 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP (the little monitor that could)...
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
#14
I don't think that's possible.
The minute they say a game can be played at 1440p, someone - most likely surrounded by American lawyers - will show up with evidence that he could only manage 22 fps and wants millions of dollars. The box didn't say he can't run 40 chrome tabs in the background.
It's better this way.
Yeah, I suppose, lol....
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
1,941 (0.53/day)
Likes
752
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD HD6950 x 2
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#15
I don't think that's possible.
The minute they say a game can be played at 1440p, someone - most likely surrounded by American lawyers - will show up with evidence that he could only manage 22 fps and wants millions of dollars. The box didn't say he can't run 40 chrome tabs in the background.
It's better this way.
yeah because that would hold up in court.....
They usually do recommend settings for a specific resolution range sooo yeah.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
2,008 (2.01/day)
Likes
687
#16
yeah because that would hold up in court.....
They usually do recommend settings for a specific resolution range sooo yeah.
I'm not sure if you're aware of how cases like this work in USA.
Do you know, for example, why all cups of coffee at McDonald's have a huge warning that coffee is served hot? :) And, sadly, it spread to other large food/coffee chains as well. :/
 

kabarsa

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2017
Messages
10 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
#17
Heck often shadows are CPU bound soooo yeah.
Realtime shadows are really heavy, GPU heavy. Shadowmaps are often rendered just for main directional light or use heavy caching to avoid rendering every frame for static geometry. Cryengine for instance caches shadow cascades, as well as other shadowmaps, UE4 caches point and spotlight shadows, while offering the option to use baked lighting and blend baked and dynamic shadows for movable objects using stationary lights. You can have tens and hundreds of lights using deferred rendering, but you can forget casting so many shadows from them in general cases, and it's not even about having long distance shadows at this point. Of course there are many scenarios including scene geometry complexity, occlusion, etc, but shadows are not CPU bound and are very heavy compared to other things.
 
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
5,370 (3.84/day)
Likes
2,350
Processor Intel i5-6600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 G.Skill
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 128 and 256GB OCZ Vertex4, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Chieftec BX01
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
#18
Which DRM scheme is bundled with this one?
 
Top