• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange AMD FX 8350 overheat problem

Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,593 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD FX 9590 X8 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (4 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMINGOC
Storage 3 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HXi 850W
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
#1
First of all, long time no see for those of you who remember me. Been busy with work and haven't had much time for hobbies.

So here's my issue. My AMD FX 8350 is supposedly overheating according to the motherboard temperature readings. I noticed this recently after my system hard locked while playing State Of Decay 2, and was able to reproduce that with heavyload just stress testing the CPU. Currently idle temp is 65*C and I've seen up to 80*C during testing. I thought maybe it was thermal paste at first, but replacing it did not alleviate the issue. I then replaced my old Corsair H50 with a new H80i. Still the same temps. I did notice that the coolant temps according to corsair link is in the 33*C-35*C range during testing.

I'm starting to wonder if the CPU itself is dying or if the overheat shutoff is kicking in and the temperature is reading incorrectly.

Thoughts?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,045 (0.38/day)
Likes
1,048
Location
Greece
Processor AMD FX-8350 4GHz@1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev3.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X Performa
Memory 2*4GB Patriot Venom RED DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 GTS 4GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, 2 Samsung F1 & F3 (1TB)
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case Zalman Neo Z9 Black
Audio Device(s) Via 7.1 onboard
Power Supply OCZ Z550
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 99p, multicore 626p WPrime 1.55 (8 cores): 9.0 secs
#2
Do you allow enough air flow in the case? Maybe the filters have much dust that block the air through them? That could help heat build up on the vrm section of the motherboard. My 8350 with a very humble cooler keeps temps in check easily. Maybe the paste you put is bad quality and cannot help heat transfer?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,593 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD FX 9590 X8 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (4 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMINGOC
Storage 3 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HXi 850W
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
#3
Do you allow enough air flow in the case? Maybe the filters have much dust that block the air through them? That could help heat build up on the vrm section of the motherboard. My 8350 with a very humble cooler keeps temps in check easily. Maybe the paste you put is bad quality and cannot help heat transfer?
I've tried 2 kinds of thermal paste at this point, and my airflow is good. I also just cleaned out the case and filters. It's very odd.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
2,673 (1.31/day)
Likes
2,192
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance
Processor fx 8320
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16gb G.skill TridentX 2400mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) GV-R929XOC-4GD
Storage OCZ vertex 460 480gb
Display(s) 32" Toshiba Full HD TV
Case CMstorm Trooper
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat tyon
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
#5
hi :)..i had a similar issue like yours...fx 8350 on asus m5a 99fx pro r 2.0 mb cm hyper 212x cooler with dual fans....i enabled HPC option in bios and the temperatures have dropped to a managable level...I don't know how it works though..
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,474 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,261
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
#6
Where are the coolant read from?

You could use 3rd party software to control your fans overriding BIOS control.

You could also try to down clock the CPU and see if that changes anything too.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
372 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,1Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 24 gb DDR3 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 970 MSI Gaming OC
Storage 2 ssd/Samsung 128Gb/Kingston 240Gb + HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply Antec 500W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 11710 Score(Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
#7
What is yours NB temps?VRM?Check those and let us know......
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
4,664 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,760
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus Old School
Processor i7-3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H70 ( Push/Pull Swiftech GT 120mm Fans)
Memory Samsung 20GB(6x2GB+2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB x6
Display(s) LG Triple Monitor Setup (5760x1080) ( Vivo Desk Swing Arm Mount)
Case Fractal Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Antec Quattro 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
#8
What’s the room temp
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,823 (1.82/day)
Likes
9,295
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#9
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
512 (0.29/day)
Likes
510
Location
Alabama
Processor I7 7700K
Motherboard Maximus IX Hero
Cooling Tt OCK Frio
Memory C.R.S.
Software Linux Mint 18
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
#10
Sounds to me like the CPU is getting too much voltage. Leftover settings from a previous OC'ing attempt?
I've seen my AM3+ boards hold settings even though I had removed the battery for at least a few months - In fact the last time I ran my Sabo 2.0 it had held settings from a sub-zero run I had done earlier, if it weren't for a boot failure making it default to stock when I set it back up I would have had a dead chip.

For those ran at bone stock, 1.35v's is plenty and temps should be well within spec that way, no need to mess with the Digi settings either, auto all the way.
In fact I've seen folks say crankup the Digi settings for a mild OC.... Then wonder why it's running hot - Even with my sub-zero runs there isn't much need to go beyond 100% on anything, normally 110% does it with virtually everything.

So.... Check all BIOS settings and be sure ATM your Digi settings are all on auto until you get a handle on it. Have to assume you're OC'ing it some at least (From your system specs), please state exactly what speeds/how you're wanting it to run and we can advise from there.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
110 (0.27/day)
Likes
35
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu RAID5 | Intel SSD / WD Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64
#11
Currently idle temp is 65*C and I've seen up to 80*C
If i remember correctly, FX CPUs shutting down when reach 72C. Also during some OC with my 3 FX systems (8320+M5A99FX20/Sabertoth20) i found that temperature readings must have some offset between 10 and 24 degrees in different load conditions and due to silicon quality, so i recommend to use 16-18 degrees offset.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
1,045 (0.38/day)
Likes
1,048
Location
Greece
Processor AMD FX-8350 4GHz@1.3V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev3.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS5X Performa
Memory 2*4GB Patriot Venom RED DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 GTS 4GB
Storage Sandisk SSD 120GB, 2 Samsung F1 & F3 (1TB)
Display(s) LG IPS235
Case Zalman Neo Z9 Black
Audio Device(s) Via 7.1 onboard
Power Supply OCZ Z550
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Trust GXT280
Software Win 7 sp1 64bit
Benchmark Scores CB R15 64bit: single core 99p, multicore 626p WPrime 1.55 (8 cores): 9.0 secs
#12
hi :)..i had a similar issue like yours...fx 8350 on asus m5a 99fx pro r 2.0 mb cm hyper 212x cooler with dual fans....i enabled HPC option in bios and the temperatures have dropped to a managable level...I don't know how it works though..
This is weird also. This specific setting makes the intermediate clock speeds obsolete and allows only the idle one at 800Hz and the full speed one. When in balanced mode in the OS, it usually keeps the cpu more time in full speed than what is needed. I changed it once to check how it works and got back to disable it as it didn't help at all. It is best only to keep clocks maxed out when you need max power at all times, hence the settings' name.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
#13
i realised that after sometime...but keeping it off causes strange spikes in single core voltage and speed inturn causing temperature spikes...so i just left it on...the system is mostly in idle playing music through AIMP player...otherwise i use it for imaging CT scans and little gaming..

I heard from a pal of mine that reseating the processor can sometimes cure the problem..i sure that radical would have tried it already..

my system admin uses amd overdrive utility for monitoring temps and speeds..i have not personally used it..maybe it would help?:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

my system admin uses amd overdrive utility for monitoring temps and speeds..i have not personally used it..maybe it would help?:confused:

sorry for the double post..typing on my phone here..
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,131 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,317
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
If i remember correctly, FX CPUs shutting down when reach 72C. Also during some OC with my 3 FX systems (8320+M5A99FX20/Sabertoth20) i found that temperature readings must have some offset between 10 and 24 degrees in different load conditions and due to silicon quality, so i recommend to use 16-18 degrees offset.
Never had that problem running blender and I hit 75

i realised that after sometime...but keeping it off causes strange spikes in single core voltage and speed inturn causing temperature spikes...so i just left it on...the system is mostly in idle playing music through AIMP player...otherwise i use it for imaging CT scans and little gaming..

I heard from a pal of mine that reseating the processor can sometimes cure the problem..i sure that radical would have tried it already..

my system admin uses amd overdrive utility for monitoring temps and speeds..i have not personally used it..maybe it would help?:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

my system admin uses amd overdrive utility for monitoring temps and speeds..i have not personally used it..maybe it would help?:confused:

sorry for the double post..typing on my phone here..
I have hpc enabled too.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,593 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD FX 9590 X8 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (4 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMINGOC
Storage 3 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HXi 850W
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
#15
hi :)..i had a similar issue like yours...fx 8350 on asus m5a 99fx pro r 2.0 mb cm hyper 212x cooler with dual fans....i enabled HPC option in bios and the temperatures have dropped to a managable level...I don't know how it works though..
I have no idea what or where this HPC setting is in bios. I looked. What does HPC stand for?

Where are the coolant read from?

You could use 3rd party software to control your fans overriding BIOS control.

You could also try to down clock the CPU and see if that changes anything too.
Coolant temps are from Corsair Link, which I assume is reading from the temp sensor in my H80i.

What is yours NB temps?VRM?Check those and let us know......
I know MB temps are ranging from 35*C-42*C.

Sounds to me like the CPU is getting too much voltage. Leftover settings from a previous OC'ing attempt?
Don't know where you're at in OR, but this would be a nice upgrade. Just at RAM: (not my listing)
No overclock, all settings are pretty much set to Auto. I've reset to default settings once already to no avail.

I just tried reseating the CPU with no luck. Temps are the same. Going to try my Wife's CPU when I get a chance and see if I get the same results. (Her 8350 is reading 35*C as it should.)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
373 (0.19/day)
Likes
168
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X + XFR2 enabled
Motherboard MSI Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Coolermaster MA620P - 120mm Cryorig OP120 Performance + 120 mm Fractal design Venturi HF-12
Memory Team Group Dark 16GB Kit 3000MHz, 16-16-16-36-50 @ 1.35v
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Nano @ stock
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro & 500GB Samsung EVO SSDs
Display(s) Philips 28" 284E MVA
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B
Audio Device(s) Motherboard
Power Supply Silverstone ST60F-TI
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
Software Win10 64bit
Benchmark Scores 1. https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4419557 2. https://www.3dmark.com/pcm10b/345283
#16
I'm still running same CPU as OP on system in my profile, but at 4.8-5.0GHz depending if I feel like benching or gaming. Using HWmonitor or HWinfo (latest versions) my CPU on full load with all 8 cores never goes over 58C. Also, NB, HT & RAM clocks are as high as is stably possible without increasing volts excessively, & by that I mean not entering the "pink" zone of voltages as listed in my Asus Sabertooth mobo bios. This all within a full tower closed up case although I use 140mm fans on CPU cooler & case. Never remounted it since early 16'.

I'm not sure about bios options on that MSI board OP is using presuming its the one listed in your system profile, but 1st off I would suggest checking you have the very latest official bios for your board. I found doing that on my 'General Purpose' PC as listed in my signature, decreased the Vcore requirements for my hot A10-7850K when benching around 4.4Ghz. Just thought I"d add that bit because I was quite surprised of the impact an official AMD bios update had on that old APU.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
#17
hi...HPC stands for high performance computing mode..it will be in your chipset or performance menu in your bios...i am currently away from my system..i can tell you where it is when i get to my system..
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
3,067 (4.75/day)
Likes
2,221
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 3.9 Ghz / 1.35V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
#18
First of all which temperature are we talking about. AM3 systems report two temperatures , core and CPU , core is the actual temperature of the CPU and the one labeled as "CPU" is often referred related to the socket temperature. Boards typically monitor and throttle accordingly based on the socket temperature not the core. I have a feeling it's not the CPU that is overheating, I can't imagine what sort voltage you would need to get it to run at 80c.

Do the following : put a fan to blow over the socket area and report back.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
#19
on my asus m5a 99fx pro r 2.0 mb, the hpc option in bios is under advanced→apm submenu..
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
133 (0.05/day)
Likes
42
System Name Arena-Fighter3u
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 B35
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Air
Memory 4x1GB 1066MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD7790 OC PCI-Ex 1GB GDDR5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe x1
Power Supply OCZ ZS550
Software Windows 7 x64 Enterprise SP1/Ubuntu 13.04 amd64
#20
Unfortunately i had similar issue with FX-8320, cpu without a reason started to overheating and shutting down whole pc. I didn't fix it in any way as i find it unfixable and just replaced it with other cpu. In my case i went with temporary downgrade to fx-6300.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
#21
How was the fx 6300 compared to fx 8320?..just curious..:)
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
133 (0.05/day)
Likes
42
System Name Arena-Fighter3u
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 B35
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Air
Memory 4x1GB 1066MHz DDR2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD7790 OC PCI-Ex 1GB GDDR5
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe x1
Power Supply OCZ ZS550
Software Windows 7 x64 Enterprise SP1/Ubuntu 13.04 amd64
#22
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
58 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
#23
thanks for the link..:)
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,593 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD FX 9590 X8 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (4 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMINGOC
Storage 3 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HXi 850W
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
#24
hi...HPC stands for high performance computing mode..it will be in your chipset or performance menu in your bios...i am currently away from my system..i can tell you where it is when i get to my system..
I will take a look again. Thanks.

First of all which temperature are we talking about. AM3 systems report two temperatures , core and CPU , core is the actual temperature of the CPU and the one labeled as "CPU" is often referred related to the socket temperature. Boards typically monitor and throttle accordingly based on the socket temperature not the core. I have a feeling it's not the CPU that is overheating, I can't imagine what sort voltage you would need to get it to run at 80c.

Do the following : put a fan to blow over the socket area and report back.
Corsair_Link_20180818JPG.JPG

Screenshot for reference. I'll try having a fan blowing on the socket area, just seems odd that this issue has cropped up all of a sudden.

I did notice I have Bios K2, which is a few versions old. Going to update it when I have enough time.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,593 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,943
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD FX 9590 X8 4.7GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (4 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G-GAMINGOC
Storage 3 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HXi 850W
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
#25
So a little update. I found the HPC setting and it had no effect. I also updated to the latest bios and that did not help. So I tried my CPU in my wife's system and her's in mine. The CPU I had shows 35*C idle in her system and her CPU is showing 62*C in mine. At this point I think my motherboard is the culprit. I think it's time to replace it.
 
Top