• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange error, requires forced shut down.

Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
I'm having a strange problem with one of my media computers.
Every once in a while the computer will basically shut off. The screen goes black the input does not stop, monitor still detects a signal, the keyboard mouse doesn't do anything. However the fans stay on, all of them, and the case fans (CPU fan) which are connected to the motherboard ramp up to 100%.
To further the power button does nothing you press and hold, you click, nothing. Same goes for the restart button. I'm required to flick the PSU switch to shutdown, and then restart the computer.

I thought for a second my 4.4GHZ overclock to the 750k was the reason of the error, but the issues stated above are not what a computer does when thermal limits are reached, or an over-voltage, or destabilization occurs. Furthermore I backed the computer back down to 3.4GHZ and the problem persists.

I've had a couple talks with some co-workers, they determine it's the motherboard, which would make sense, some point to the PSU. Any idea guys?

Motherboard: Gigabyte F2A85X-D3H
PSU CorsairCX 500w M(odular)

If you require any other info just let me know. This "error" only occurs once or twice a month, so no big deal with it, just curious.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Location
United States
Processor Intel i5-3570k @ 4.2
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Formula
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 FTW
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 750GB Hybrid SSD | Seagate Barracuda 250GB
Display(s) 24" 144hz ASUS VG248QE
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS OnboardFX
Power Supply Seasonic SS-1050XM
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Sounds motherboardish in nature. You said your screen goes black... are you using onboard graphics or dedicated? If you have a spare psu or can borrow one I would definitely swap it out to see if the problem persists. Ruling out a possible psu issue is always a -very- good thing. I would also make sure your motherboard BIOS is up to date.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Full computer specs
Processor: AMD Athlon 750k
Motherboard : Gigabyte F2A85X-D3H
Cooling: CM 212 Evo
Memory: G-Skill 2x2GB 1866mhz
Video Card: MSI GTX 650ti BOOST
Hard Drive: 1TB Black Western Digital
Power Supply: Corsair CX500M
Case: CM 690 II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,688 (0.58/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
even though from a good brand 500w is cutting it close buddy. check with a more higher WATT PSU
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,497 (2.99/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 6TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
You are above the watts you are using, although I would want more breathing room. I calculate you are using 444 watts total there. How old is the PSU? that will affect it's max wattage. RK3066 is probably right about looking into more wattage. Is there anything in the logs?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,331 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
thats just a hard crash/lockup.


could be just about any part in the system, but i'd be leaning away from CPU (rarely partially stable - they work or they dont) ram (should BSOD).

possibly PSU, graphics, or mobo - or some bad settings.

If you have sleep mode enabled, that could be related as well - systems can screw up waking from S3 sleep if ram or PSU is bad.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
thats just a hard crash/lockup.


could be just about any part in the system, but i'd be leaning away from CPU (rarely partially stable - they work or they dont) ram (should BSOD).

possibly PSU, graphics, or mobo - or some bad settings.

If you have sleep mode enabled, that could be related as well - systems can screw up waking from S3 sleep if ram or PSU is bad.
I had that idea as well, and yes the problem does seem more frequent after S3 state of sleep mode, which has been disabled. Has it fixed the problem.... no
However it did change it's frequency, again once or twice a MONTH.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,331 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I had that idea as well, and yes the problem does seem more frequent after S3 state of sleep mode, which has been disabled. Has it fixed the problem.... no
bad ram/ram settings can very often cause the black screen/no wakeup problems you described when coming out of sleep. shouldnt cause it when operating normally, but you might as well start there. try with just one stick of ram for a few days, if the problem persists swap the ram stick.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
You are above the watts you are using, although I would want more breathing room. I calculate you are using 444 watts total there. How old is the PSU? that will affect it's max wattage. RK3066 is probably right about looking into more wattage. Is there anything in the logs?
CPUID Hardware monitor reports 88w at 4.4GHZ and the GPU hardly reach's more then 80% usage, as stated by W1zzard in his review MAX 131w 219+system total. I should be safe.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Shouldn't cause it when operating normally, but you might as well start there. try with just one stick of ram for a few days, if the problem persists swap the ram stick.
That's just it the error occurs at random, it can happen after the system operating for 2min or 2 days. I can try a different PSU, and I can try different RAM, but replicating the error might prove problematic.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,497 (2.99/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 6TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,331 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
oh actually this reminds me of something i had on and old DFI mobo - make sure that your RAM, NB, SB, and VRM's arent overheating - basically look at everything that can get hot, but doesnt have its own fan (VRM's sometimes have temp sensors that arent accurate)

on my old old old system, the CPU was dumping heat onto the ram and it was fine 99% of the time, but after about 8 hours of gaming/heavy load the ram and NB would sloooowly heat up, i finally found them at 95C one day in summer via a temp probe when the stickers melted off :/
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,331 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
those PSU calculators are beyond useless.

that calculator shows 455W for my system, whereas in gaming i barely pull 250W from the wall. you simply cannot trust them even slightly.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,497 (2.99/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 6TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
it said 323watts, lol 341 w/ a high-end motherboard. So, as you were saying.....
Sorry, Just trying to help. You didn't give a whole lot of info. I had to assume 4 fans, dvd player and at least one PCIe/PCI card in there. When calculating wattage needs, it's always best to overestimate anyway. If in fact you filled everything out accurately, and you're only at 341, then you are good!
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
13,497 (2.99/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 16GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 2080 Ti Xc
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 6TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
those PSU calculators are beyond useless.
I've found that on my server at least, it's pretty accurate, comparing the wattage on my UPS panel, the calculator estimates about 30 over, which is pretty darned close.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
those PSU calculators are beyond useless.
Agreed I go off the fact of most single GPU system's are 500-600w.
I've abandoned multi GPU system's
Sorry, Just trying to help. You didn't give a whole lot of info. I had to assume 4 fans, dvd player and at least one PCIe/PCI card in there. When calculating wattage needs, it's always best to overestimate anyway. If in fact you filled everything out accurately, and you're only at 341, then you are good!
Thanks's though, I've had alot of experience w/ watt requirements from the Army
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,786 (2.25/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
maybe you could try to reset your bios too and check it again, does it return?
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,557 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The HaYaBuZa Dragon :x
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG Strix XG27UQ 4K@144hz | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (20H2)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
what are temps on the system? i had a CM 690 II myself and never had a issue with temps bcs of all the options u have for mounting fans.

if you keep thinking it's the psu, try with another one, but it doesn't have to be that, like Mussels talk about, check the boards temp but do it with external measure so u can get proper readings.

also update chipset and gfx drivers to the newest version.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
Temps are of no concern MSI Afterburner reports 52C on the GPU at full load. The PWM doesn't come into play till 72C on the CPU is reached at which point the fan ramps, and keeps it their at just 1000RPM again full bore. Most of the sensors on the motherboard never even see 25C just 1 which is the VRM see's 40C or a little more. Plus this is a modern computer, if it reaches thermal capacity it just down-clocks the effected part or your frame rates take a dump, nothing like that happens.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Location
Ft Stewart
System Name Queen Bee
Processor 3570k @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte UD3 Z77
Cooling Water Loop by EK
Memory 8GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming WaterCooled
Storage 1x Western Digital 500GB Black 1x Intel 20GB 311 SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2420G
Case CoolTek W2
Power Supply Corsair 650Watt
Software Windows 7 Pro
I a different light I did mange to swap the RAM with my APU system in my room, I'll let ya know if this occurs again. I also updated the bio's. Right now it's happy at 4GHZ.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,331 (8.20/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ 4x140 Corsair ML RGB fans CPU: EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Temps are of no concern MSI Afterburner reports 52C on the GPU at full load. The PWM doesn't come into play till 72C on the CPU is reached at which point the fan ramps, and keeps it their at just 1000RPM again full bore. Most of the sensors on the motherboard never even see 25C just 1 which is the VRM see's 40C or a little more. Plus this is a modern computer, if it reaches thermal capacity it just down-clocks the effected part or your frame rates take a dump, nothing like that happens.

you missed the point there - the sensors are often inaccurate. your VRM sensors might be two inches away from the VRM's themselves, and could be wildly inaccurate if air blows over them, but not the VRM's. you have to test them with a thermal probe/your finger to be sure (if you cant hold your finger on it, its too hot)
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
I a different light I did mange to swap the RAM with my APU system in my room, I'll let ya know if this occurs again. I also updated the bio's. Right now it's happy at 4GHZ.
If it happens again, My two cents, PSU or, possibly, re seat your CPU.

I am thinking, since the fans go to 100%, the cpu is shutdown...not seated cleanly. I may be wrong. :confused:
 
Top