• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Strange freezing under GPU and CPU load.

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
My main rig has been suffering from very random complete freezes over the past month, which require a hard reset. And I can't for the life of me figure it out.

Here are the facts:

  • It only does it when the GPU and CPU are under a lot of load(i.e. Folding)
  • It does it rather often while playing Plants vs. Zombies, which is probably due to the high GPU/CPU load.
  • It does it with everything at stock speeds.
  • When I reboot the computer after the freeze. All of the websites that I've logged into, such as TPU, require me to log in again. <-- This one is really strange to me.
  • PSU fan has started to noticeably click when I shut the computer down, but I know it is still spinning, but maybe not fast enough?

Here is what I've tried:

  • Reset everything to stock.
  • Swapped out 3 different video cards.
  • Ran CPU folding only for a week. <-- No freezes.
  • Ran GPU folding only for a week. <-- No freezes.
  • Added second auxilary PSU to power GPU only.
  • Removed 2 sticks of RAM.

That is kind of where I'm stumped.

I thought maybe it was the PSU, so I tried to take some load off of it by adding an auxilary PSU I had laying around. That didn't help at all, though I still think it might be the PSU, so I ordered a Corsair HX850, which should be here this week. The PSU is almost 3 years old at this point.

My next guess is the HDD, and I only say that because it seems like every time the computer freezes, it corrupts any cookies I have stored, forcing me to log into every website again. Also, it is probably older than the PSU at this point. If the new PSU doesn't fix it, a new HDD is probably my next step.

I also found it very stange that it crashes a lot with Plants vs. Zombies(girlfriend loves it, which pisses her off more than me, but gets me in trouble every time it freezes just as she is about to win a level). However, I figured out that even though it is a very simple game graphically, it uses a lot of CPU and GPU power(it is hardware accellerated and does use a lot of the CPU when there is a lot of stuff going on). I haven't had a freeze in any other game, including Just Cause 2, which I've been playing extensively.

Am I overlooking anything?
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
147 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
US East Coast
Processor i3 530 @ 4.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS P7H55D-M EVO
Cooling Xigmatek 1283 120mm fan
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL
Video Card(s) XFX 5850 @ 875/1150
Storage WD BLUE 640GB, Hitachi 1 tera
Display(s) Asus VH226 21.5" LCD 1920x1080
Case Antec 200
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi
Power Supply Antec Neo 650
Software Win 7 64 ultimate
#2
What about temps?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Temps are all fine.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,273 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,082
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#4
honestly not to jack but my mainframe does it too. I leave that machine running for months to handle backups and sharing/storage in the house. I have it folding on and off because it likes to freeze after about 2 weeks running the client. Its all good after a reboot though. Unfortunetly I cant afford to have that machine down. So I dont fold on it anymore. I never figured out what the issue was. My temps were fine too.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#5
Are you using a UPS?
If not, could your ciruit be fluctuating enough to cause a freeze?
If you are, could the unit be having problems?

My neighbor has something like this occur intermitantly too. All diags run fine.
He loses his cookies and stuff too.
His, however, happens even when there is no CPU/GPU load. The system is idle.
He does not game (except for Solitaire).
He's running Vista x64.

I'm interested to see how you get this resolved, as his problem has baffled me for some time now.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Yes, it is connected to a UPS, which reports no power problem.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#7
My neighbor's is on a UPS too, and like yours, reports no problems.
But I'm at a loss on his.
His temps are fine. Sometimes it will do it right after boot, sometimes not for weeks. :wtf:
The problem, seems similar to yours though.

Does anything show up in the Event Log?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#8
My guess is/are - OC and Ram Timings.

If the rig on ur specs is the one you are talking about and according to that if it runs 3.6G 24/7 then reduce 50 Mhz and see if it still happens. Other thing I suspect is the ram doesn't like the tighter timings anymore, so loosen it up a bit.

"When I reboot the computer after the freeze. All of the websites that I've logged into, such as TPU, require me to log in again. <-- This one is really strange to me." - yup my machine does that too. When the machine is past its stable OC limit and had a crash or does not wake up from sleep properly then W7 resets the cookies especially for TPU. Don't know if W7 hates TPU:D. Just re-login and life is good;)

my 2 cents.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#9
Newtekie said it does it with everything at stock too.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#10
Newtekie said it does it with everything at stock too.
next thing I can think of buggy software (might be an update to drivers too), bad memory stick or might be a bios issue.

I am just throwing out options to see if something helps him.

speaking of buggy software - because of bad PhysX driver/software update I suddenly experience random reboots and failed wakeup from sleep, Errors regarding a drive not functioning properly in the raid group etc in the error log. So after scratching my head a lot I decided to change the mobo and while doing so I wanted the OS to come up properly, so I uninstalled most of the crap I added or don't need. All the proplems went away. I thought it was the mobo and created an RMA. Then was just curios and tried the same setup on the old mobo, same problem, then uninstalled PhysX drivers the problem went away. So because of this I went from a perfectly working OCing board to a cheap ECS (which is also working great).

:toast:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
next thing I can think of buggy software (might be an update to drivers too), bad memory stick or might be a bios issue.

I am just throwing out options to see if something helps him.

speaking of buggy software - because of bad PhysX driver/software update I suddenly experience random reboots and failed wakeup from sleep, Errors regarding a drive not functioning properly in the raid group etc in the error log. So after scratching my head a lot I decided to change the mobo and while doing so I wanted the OS to come up properly, so I uninstalled most of the crap I added or don't need. All the proplems went away. I thought it was the mobo and created an RMA. Then was just curios and tried the same setup on the old mobo, same problem, then uninstalled PhysX drivers the problem went away. So because of this I went from a perfectly working OCing board to a cheap ECS (which is also working great).

:toast:
Yeah, I was thinking buggy software also, though I don't know why it doesn't do it when GPU or CPU folding, only when doing both.

I figure I'll install Win7 fresh when I replace the hard drive, though I might reformat this weekend just to see what happens.

I'm thinking I might replace the motherboard if replacing the PSU/HDD and reformatting don't work. Probably drop a decent P45 board in the machine since I don't ever plan on using multiple GPUs again.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2009
Messages
467 (0.15/day)
Likes
89
Location
TR
Processor C2duo e6750@ 2800mhz
Motherboard GA-P43T-ES3G
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x2Gb Kingstone HyperX DDR3 1600 (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX )
Video Card(s) HIS HD 6870
Storage samsung HD103SJ
Case Xigmatek Utgard
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium Pci-e
Power Supply Xigmatek NRP-PC702 700W
Software win7 ultimate -64bit
#12
Faliing Hdd can cause this ,test with HDD tune (also i would test ram sticks) .About zombie game crash some games dont like oc (or they torture cpu to a point it fails ) ,i heard this "but my other games are rock stable " sentence a lot:D as a eve player
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
346 (0.10/day)
Likes
61
Location
Manchester, UK
Processor i7 920 D0 @ 3.2Ghz 0.95V / 4.45Ghz @ 1.35V
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
Cooling Xig s1283 with Push/Pull Fans
Memory 6GB Corsair XMS3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) HIS 6950 2GB @ 950/1300
Storage Samsung F3 500
Display(s) 24" Acer V243HLmb LED
Case CM690 modded for airflow
Audio Device(s) Xonar D1 -> Marantz CR502 -> B&W 686 + RSW12
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750
Software Win7 x64 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores SP1M - 10s AQM - 202,200 marks w/ 8800gs + E7300 3D '06 - 26,000 4890+4870
#13
Temperamental PSU seems most likely cause to me newtekie, I guess we'll see when the HX850 arrives! :toast:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
Faliing Hdd can cause this ,test with HDD tune (also i would test ram sticks) .About zombie game crash some games dont like oc (or they torture cpu to a point it fails ) ,i heard this "but my other games are rock stable " sentence a lot:D as a eve player
Yeah, I know it is crashing during Plant vs. Zombies because it pushes the CPU and GPU when there is a lot going on. I haven't run HDTune on this hard drive in a while, so I guess it is due.
 
Joined
May 5, 2009
Messages
2,261 (0.72/day)
Likes
171
Location
the uk that's all you need to know ;)
System Name not very good (wants throwing out window most of time)
Processor xp3000@ 2.17ghz pile of sh** /i7 920 DO on air for now
Motherboard msi kt6 delta oap /gigabyte x58 ud7 (rev1.0)
Cooling 1 green akasa 8cm(rear) 1 multicoloured akasa(hd) 1 12 cm (intake) 1 9cm with circuit from old psu
Memory 1.25 gb kingston hyperx @333mhz/ 3gb corsair dominator xmp 1600mhz
Video Card(s) (agp) hd3850 not bad not really suitable for mobo n processor/ gb hd5870
Storage wd 320gb + samsung 320 gig + wd 1tb 6gb/s
Display(s) compaq mv720
Case thermaltake XaserIII skull / coolermaster cm 690II
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair hx 650 w which solved many problems (blew up) /850w corsair
Software xp pro sp3/ ? win 7 ultimate (32 bit)
Benchmark Scores 6543 3d mark05 ye ye not good but look at the processor /uknown as still not benched
#15
my thoughts are also the harddrive

this may sound crazy but try a different sata channel, as i've heard of certain newer motherboards still not liking various harddrives

oh and don't forget if you are using a ups don't overload it :eek:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,291 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,402
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I don't think it is a problem with the HDD conflicting with the motherboard/port, it has worked for about 2 years in this configurations. Though I'm likely going to replace the drive anyway, as it is as old 7200.10 drive, probably the oldest part in my computer actually.

The UPS is definitely not overloaded, when it is overloaded it starts beeping...yeah I've done it...
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,573 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,472
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#17
I assume you using the board in your specs so I'm going to start out by saying I went through 3 of those and all had issues with the socket or chipset temps. If anything it sounds like chipset temps or the mobo is getting weak just for giggles give your mosfets and caps all a peak to make sure its not something darastic like that. Hell check the socket too those pins often got cut to long and maybe its heating up and expanding funny or it just decided to hate you.