• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange GPU Load readings

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
I use GPU-Z mainly to log data from my GPU to analyze it. I think there's something wrong with the readings I'm getting now.
This the graph from GPU-Z provided data when I play Rocket League:
1551726440919.png

Meanwhile I monitored the reading from Task Manager at the same time. There the readings were 50%-ish all the time. Other readings matched with HWMonitor, like temperatures and fan speeds.
Is GPU-Z's GPU load different than Windows Task Manager's GPU's utilization and HWMonitor's GPU Utilization or is there a problem, and how to solve it?
I have Gigabyte GV-R9290OC-4GD which is factory overclocked R9 290. I tried to update drivers and checked that I have the newest version of GPU-Z.
My OS is Windows 10.

By the way, I know my GPU is getting way too hot, already working on that...
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,965 (8.83/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Fix the heat problem first. Besides that, are you using vsync or any frame limiter?
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
Fix the heat problem first. Besides that, are you using vsync or any frame limiter?
I don't think there is any correlation between heat and GPU-Z functionality. Should work even despite the slight heat problems. The R9 290 is a hot card anyways.
I always use vsync (60Hz) or other limiter on games.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,847 (6.16/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I don't think there is any correlation between heat and GPU-Z functionality. Should work even despite the slight heat problems. The R9 290 is a hot card anyways.
I always use vsync (60Hz) or other limiter on games.
The GA cards in general are hot, cheaply made.
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
The GA cards in general are hot, cheaply made.
I had way lower temperatures before my GPU fans came to their end and I replaced them with similar ones. I also reapplied thermal paste (for the first time) and I think I didn't do that well enough.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.64/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
I had way lower temperatures before my GPU fans came to their end and I replaced them with similar ones. I also reapplied thermal paste (for the first time) and I think I didn't do that well enough.
Do it again, right :p though your temps are under 80c so it's not limiting are you playing with vsync on? if so your GPU usage will vary just to keep you at 60fps or W/E your refresh rate is
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
Do it again, right :p though your temps are under 80c so it's not limiting are you playing with vsync on? if so your GPU usage will vary just to keep you at 60fps or W/E your refresh rate is
Planning to reapply the thermal paste.
Why do both Task Manager and HWMonitor give a steady 50% GPU load, which seems to be more reliable than varying between 0-100% a lot?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.64/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
Planning to reapply the thermal paste.
Why do both Task Manager and HWMonitor give a steady 50% GPU load, which seems to be more reliable than varying between 0-100% a lot?
On average it's probably around the 50% mark which is what taskmgr and hwinfo are reporting though in game it will vary up and down depending on how much GPU power it needs at any given time to keep your 60fps so GPU-Z is giving a more real time usage read out.
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
On average it's probably around the 50% mark which is what taskmgr and hwinfo are reporting though in game it will vary up and down depending on how much GPU power it needs at any given time to keep your 60fps so GPU-Z is giving a more real time usage read out.
1551731027042.png

Time-data is done by me (+10sec, as set in GPU-Z also) just so I get to make the graph easier.
As you can see, GPU-Z is mainly giving 0 or 100 values.
Here are my GPU-Z sensor settings
1551731217919.png

It simply can't be right. There's a 2 minutes long 0% load period during gaming. I've tried with 0.1 sec refresh rate also, results are similiar.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.64/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
That period looks like you have exited the game as your memory usage goes right down also, perhaps @W1zzard can clarify
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
That period looks like you have exited the game as your memory usage goes right down also, perhaps @W1zzard can clarify
I wouldn't trust the memory controller load either. Memory Used (Dedicated), which is third column from right, shows that there is over 1GB VRAM being used during that session (from 2 to 4 minutes) and I was in-game the whole time.
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
To clarify what I'm after here, I would like GPU-Z to log the % of maximum potential performance used, like Windows Task Manager does it. But the "GPU Load" readings aren't indicating that at all. Are they supposed to, is it broken, or is there not any way to do it as I want?
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
887 (0.41/day)
Location
somewhere
There is a similar issue with polaris cards, in hwinfo you will have "Utilisation" and "D3D usage" Task manager reports the latter, which works afaik. The former goes up down up down up down up down on my 570 like a yoyo. not had the issue on vega, but i cant remember if i did on any hawaii cards i owned.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,216 (1.30/day)
Location
Long Island

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
1551962498114.png

I got the GPU utilization, which seems to be the D3D Usage that I wanted, from HWiNFO. I'm not sure if my temps are as good as they should be, around 90 degrees Celsius on around 70% utilization. (Battlefield 4 ultra graphics 1080p with vsync 60Hz on)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.64/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
It has been mentioned gigabytes cooling solutions are not the best and are pretty poor compared to other 3rd party cards, you can ventilate the case more, add more fans etc though it is what it is for the most part unfortunately.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2014
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Location
Nymburk - Czechia
It has been mentioned gigabytes cooling solutions are not the best and are pretty poor compared to other 3rd party cards, you can ventilate the case more, add more fans etc though it is what it is for the most part unfortunately.
As far as I remember the only good R9 290 was Sapphire.

View attachment 118169
I got the GPU utilization, which seems to be the D3D Usage that I wanted, from HWiNFO. I'm not sure if my temps are as good as they should be, around 90 degrees Celsius on around 70% utilization. (Battlefield 4 ultra graphics 1080p with vsync 60Hz on)
Oh man... thought firstly you said around 70 Celsius. You must somehow cool it down to 80 or less. What temp is it on BF4 when you set fans to max rotation speed?
 

lolmanfin

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
9 (0.04/day)
As far as I remember the only good R9 290 was Sapphire.


Oh man... thought firstly you said around 70 Celsius. You must somehow cool it down to 80 or less. What temp is it on BF4 when you set fans to max rotation speed?
I said around 70-80 Celsius when playing Rocket League and GPU utilization is around 50%.
The fans are going max rotation speed (around 4500 RPM) and the temperatures hit maximum 91 Celsius when playing BF4 with vsync.
The GPU has Windforce 3x 75mm fans.
I have two 80mm fans on the front blowing in and one 80mm fan blowing out in the case. Do you think a fan or two blowing out on top would help the temperatures?
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2014
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Location
Nymburk - Czechia
My opinion is, that it can not help that much, to cool down 10 degrees.
But it will help a little. Also try to change paste between graphics chip and heatspreader, if you haven´t done yet. Together with some air pressure cleaning of radiator.

Make sure all case fans are really spinning. And if GPU fans spinning.

Well if that won´t help then there are three options left. Let it be. Expensive Accelerro extreme. Or even more expensive new graphics - honestly this will probably solve problem with 0% GPU load X-D

edit:
https://i2.wp.com/www.funkykit.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/int_01-1.jpg?w=600&ssl=1 - doesn´t look that bad. Maybe if there was direct contact with pipes but... yea, r9 290 was tough MoFo for any manufacturer
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.64/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
You need to reapply thermal paste as you said you've done this but not sure if you done it correctly, do it correctly, watch a video if necessary or we could talk you through it as you go, that's the only thing I could suggest unless the fans you've replaced are really that bad. Also make sure you reapply the heatsink properly with enough pressure that it's making the correct contact with the gpu.
 
Top