• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Strange Memory problem

Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#1
Hi to everyone, and thanks in advance for any assistance anyone cares to give!

I have a rather odd memory issue which no one else seems to have experienced or is able to fathom (at least on dome of the other forums or techies I've asked).

System is X99 Asus Deluxe 3.1 with a 5820K 32GB of Corsair 2666MHz 8GB X4 Ram ,780Ti OCZ 1000W Gold PSU & Two 850EVO in raid 0

The system works fine 90% of the time except when gaming when it falls over with BSOD which appear to be memory related, however the memory itself tests A OK and if there are two stick in then it's as stable as you could ever want a PC to be. Working through every combination possible with the sticks will not recreate the fault, it's only when there are all four sticks present that it falls over.

Currently the motherboard is being RMA's and I will be replacing it with the X99 Deluxe II, but that is only based on suspicions because there are other issues with the board anyways.

As I understand it the X99 memory controller is not on the motherboard, but the CPU the photos of which appear to show four distinct areas one for each channel. I am supposing that if the motherboard when returned does not cure the issue that the next place to look is the CPU ?

I have not tried increasing voltages on the memory which might possibly be an issue, but seeing as it falls over at 2133 and at 2666 I don't think it's going to be that.

Any ideas welcome !
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,664 (1.34/day)
Likes
817
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#2
First thing to check after BSOD is event viewer. 2nd is to see if you can duplicate the crash everytime and note the conditions for the crash. 3rd is to record a log using HWinfo64 or Aida64 or whatever to show temps and voltage changes.

Also post a system log from Speccy or whatever.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#3
First thing to check after BSOD is event viewer. 2nd is to see if you can duplicate the crash everytime and note the conditions for the crash. 3rd is to record a log using HWinfo64 or Aida64 or whatever to show temps and voltage changes.

Also post a system log from Speccy or whatever.
Thanks for your reply.

I've used 'whocrashed' which indicates it's something to do with memory, although the BSOD is not consistent, it is consistent about memory. Going to be a bit difficult to post any system logs until I have a motherboard again though!
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,342 (1.36/day)
Likes
8,051
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#4
On any system the more mem sticks you fit the more demanding it is on the mem controller
while it may be stable with 2 (duel channel)
fitting 4 sticks puts more load on the controller
you usually need to increase the voltage to the controller to compensate for running 4 sticks

Post the above requested screenshots (requested data ) and people that run similar board will tell you if you are running correct voltage for your situation
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#5
On any system the more mem sticks you fit the more demanding it is in the mem controller
while it may be stable with 2 (duel channel)
fitting 4 sticks puts more load on the controller
you usualy need to increase the voltage to the controller to compensate for running 4 sticks

Post the above requested screenshots (requested data ) and people that run similar board will they you if you are running correct voltage for your situation
It's running the stock unchanged voltage without any changes applied (or rather it has been) sounds like when I get the new one some tweaks need to be applied.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,664 (1.34/day)
Likes
817
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#6
Thanks for your reply.

I've used 'whocrashed' which indicates it's something to do with memory, although the BSOD is not consistent, it is consistent about memory. Going to be a bit difficult to post any system logs until I have a motherboard again though!
what is whocrash? I assume thats not the windows event log.

EDIT: Maybe the issue will disappear with the new motherboard.


On any system the more mem sticks you fit the more demanding it is on the mem controller
while it may be stable with 2 (duel channel)
fitting 4 sticks puts more load on the controller
you usually need to increase the voltage to the controller to compensate for running 4 sticks

Post the above requested screenshots (requested data ) and people that run similar board will tell you if you are running correct voltage for your situation
not all memory controllers are created equal, when using 4 sticks Luck becomes a factor when sticks are not on the QVL.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#7
http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

WhoCrashed shows the drivers that have been crashing your computer with a single click. In most cases it can pinpoint the offending drivers that have been causing misery on your computer system in the past. It does post-mortem crashdump analysis and presents all gathered information in a comprehensible way.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,664 (1.34/day)
Likes
817
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#8
http://www.resplendence.com/whocrashed

WhoCrashed shows the drivers that have been crashing your computer with a single click. In most cases it can pinpoint the offending drivers that have been causing misery on your computer system in the past. It does post-mortem crashdump analysis and presents all gathered information in a comprehensible way.
Lazymans diagnosis. :banghead:

Knowing how to read windows event viewer when trying to repair your own PC is priceless. :rockout:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,009
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#9
it sounds like memory to me but I would not rule out the graphics card at this stage, only because you have said that it only occurs whilst gaming. So for me the first thing I would do is download some memory benching software and thrash that CPU with some runs, this way you do keep the graphics card out of the equation, if she crashes then it would confirm you are probably right.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
149 (0.46/day)
Likes
59
System Name Microwave
Processor i7 6800k @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A SLI Plus
Cooling Ek Supremacy Evo (kit)
Memory 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 @ 2133MHz 2x8GB GSkill Ripjaws 4 DDR4 @ 2133MHz
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 w/ek fullcover block
Storage 500GB 960 EVO 4TB Seagate @5700RPM 2TB WD Caviar Black
Case TT Core X9
Power Supply OCZ ModXtreme 700W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
#10
Run a memtest so you can confirm the ram is good. Work from there.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#11

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,797
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Give us the hex code for the bsod, stats with 0x000, the less information you give us the less we can help you, the more the better.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,009
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
Done that and it passes every time
That suggests therefore that it's not a memory problem, if not it's possibly graphics card or maybe PSU, is it a multi or single rail unit?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#15
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
1,664 (1.34/day)
Likes
817
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/gYkHqxU.jpg new pic soon.
#16
can we stop using the magic 8-ball now? :banghead:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,009
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#17
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#18
Well, I got the new X99 Deluxe II today and rebuilt the system, and it all appeared to work with the BIOS post recognising all the RAM, and all the storage devices plus the CPU and GPU correctly. Alas when i powered it down and turned it back on again it failed to post, stuck on A2 which indicates it can't find a HDD, which it was fine with only a few minutes previous. So it's out with all the other SATA cables save the main ones, and check power is connected but nothing changes.

I've tried the memory flashback with latest BIOS, and clear CMOS, even took the battery out, but no change. It seems the SATA controller failed and can't see the attached drives. Unless of course anyone has any alternative suggestions ?
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,479 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,639
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#19
Check the timings.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#20
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,479 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,639
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#21
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#22
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#23
Well, I got the new X99 Deluxe II today and rebuilt the system, and it all appeared to work with the BIOS post recognising all the RAM, and all the storage devices plus the CPU and GPU correctly. Alas when i powered it down and turned it back on again it failed to post, stuck on A2 which indicates it can't find a HDD, which it was fine with only a few minutes previous. So it's out with all the other SATA cables save the main ones, and check power is connected but nothing changes.

I've tried the memory flashback with latest BIOS, and clear CMOS, even took the battery out, but no change. It seems the SATA controller failed and can't see the attached drives. Unless of course anyone has any alternative suggestions ?
Could the BIOS have altered the SATA type? You mentioned you had a RAID system in the OP: perhaps the BIOS has changed it to AHCI option instead of RAID?
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2017
Messages
19 (0.13/day)
Likes
1
Processor 5820K
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe II
Cooling Corsair H110GT
Memory Corsair CMK32GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) NVidia GTX780Ti
Storage 2 x 500GB Samsung Evo in Raid 0
Case Corsair 780
Power Supply OCZ Gold Z 1000W
#24
Could the BIOS have altered the SATA type? You mentioned you had a RAID system in the OP: perhaps the BIOS has changed it to AHCI option instead of RAID?
When it posted originally it was set in the EZ bios to off but was enabled before I F10'd it even if it changed it to non raid it should still post so long as it detects a HDD
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#25
When it posted originally it was set in the EZ bios to off but was enabled before I F10'd it even if it changed it to non raid it should still post so long as it detects a HDD
But you said you cleared CMOS and this resets the value to it's default, which may not be the value you need.

Still, the HDDs should be detected by the BIOS: something is amiss. Have you tried the HDDs individually, and on each SATA port? Just to rule out damaged SATA port(s).