1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange problem with AMD x2 system.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Lazzer408, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    I have an AMD x2 6000+ system that just started having a strange problem. Motherboard is an Asus M2N68-VM. It was working fine but I did 2 things to it. 1: The stock CPU fan was kinda noisy so I put in a 120mm cooler. 2: I bumped the FSB up 10mhz (no other settings changed) but it didn't boot so I reset the bios with the jumper. Since then it's been acting strange. In the bios screen, the menus work quickly for awhile but then it starts lagging and the screen refresh is very slow for about 7 seconds then it responds quickly again. I first thought the CPU may have been overheating and throttling back until it cooled but CPU temp in the bios is stable at 36c. The same thing is happening in Windows 7. In games, the framerate will normally be about 60fps then drops to like 3fps for 7 seconds then resumes 60fps. When viewing idle cpu load in taskmanager, it's sitting nice and idle.

    Things I've tried...

    Another graphics card
    Bios reset
    Bios update (asus claimed the update fixed a thermal issue so why not)
    Put stock cooler back on
    Looked for bad caps on mobo. I don't see any.

    I'm about to try different memory but I doubt that's the issue since the system doesn't bsod or restart. It just lags out.

    Anyone seen a problem like this?

    EDIT - Forgot to mention I tried reseating the cpu in the socket and the bios reported new processor installed - press f1 to continue or f2 to load defaults. (or something like that) I wonder if there's a bad connection on one of the pins or the socket to motherboard connections.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011
  2. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    Still looking for someone who's seen a problem like this. It's not the memory.
     
  3. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    628 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Location:
    Romania
    what psu you have on this system?
     
  4. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Did you reset CMOS again after reslotting the CPU?
     
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,857 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,568
    I had a problem like that and it was from flashing the bios that wasn't for the cpu installed. It worked but sloooooww...

    I had to pop out the cmos battery and move the jumper. All in all I needed to flash the bios in dos and not the onboard bios flasher.
     
  6. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    731 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Ya try unplug and remove CMOS then hold power button for a few seconds to purge it. sometime that can clear up weird bugs like that.
     
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,526 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    Any software set to auto running in the back ground , like Anti-Virus or Windows update?
     
  8. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    I've tried two different PSUs. 500 and 550w.

    Yes.

    The problem just popped up on it's own after replacing the HSF but temps are fine. I did try a BIOS update just in case the original got currupted for some reason. CPU is being detected correctly.

    Will do.

    The problem happens in the BIOS too. Not just windows. It's a hardware issue for sure. Maybe the mobo finally died or the CPU is flaking out.
     
  9. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,771 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Where in Illinois are you located?
     
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
  11. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,771 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
  12. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    :roll:

    Yeh I'm up here but at least it's not a mad house like Chicago. Where you from?
     
  13. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,771 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    460
    Peoria
     
  14. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Have you tried to feel for heat from the CPU when the computer is off? It could be overheating and CPU downclocked which caused the lag, and computer temperatures are known to be quite inaccurate.
     
  15. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    whut? :confused:
     
  16. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Illinois
    Found it. SMT resistor got knocked loose. I dunno how that got bumped. o.o I'm more careful then that. Took awhile to find but I figured it had to be something related to the fan swap so I looked and looked and found one that didn't look straight. Resoldered it and it's stable again. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)