• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Strange problem

Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#1
Hello
I registered here hoping I would find an answer.
My problem started a while ago, when my pc occasionally would turn off without a warning and without any temperature problem. Recently it did more often + a new problem appeared, it was also powering itself on without any Wake-Up option activated in BIOS. Lastly, as soon as I plugged it in, all the fans would start running even though the power led on the front panel and the display remained turned off. Pressing the power button had no effect whatsoever, maybe just "speeding up" the fans when it was pressed. (tried with older "420w" no-name psu)

Should I just replace the PSU or there can be a problem with the mobo or cpu also?
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.91/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
can you list your specs please? i would also go with the psu first
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,376 (3.19/day)
Likes
2,100
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#3
I think the PSU is crapping out.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.81/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#4
it wil be psu or mobo, most likely the psu 80 % chance.

it could also be a grounding issue, check all the wires and underneath the motherboard. its unlikely thats the problem but if it is you wont need to spend money to fix it.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#5
i dont know about your psu maybe yes 80% sre but ihad same problem on older computer with the Power button in front case. it was dirty and stuck in middle contact..opening and closing computer sometimes by itself.
 

WSP

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD PII X4 950BE | E5300
Motherboard MSI 770-G45 | Asus P5N32-E SLI bios 1903
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme (mod) | stock
Memory 2x1Gb V-GEN PC10600 | 2gb kit Mushkin EM silverline
Video Card(s) 9800GT+9600GT | GTX260+GTS250
Storage Hitachi 160GB+Seagate 320GB | WD 160GB+Hitachi 160GB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer X193HQ | LG 710S
Case Enlight | caseless
Audio Device(s) Audigy SB0090 w/ ATP3 | no sound
Power Supply Toughpower 650W | VenomRX Boomslang modular 700W
Software Win7 x64
Benchmark Scores 14001 3DMark06 score with Manli 9600GT OCed 775-1175
#6
agree with MohawkAngel. try taking off the power button pins, and manually turn on the computer with shorting both the power pins.if it is indeed that is the problem, cleaning the power button on the case with contact cleaner.if that doesn't work, swith the power button with reset, so you had to press reset to power the pc.just dont plug the old power button back.leave it unplugged
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#7
agree with MohawkAngel. try taking off the power button pins, and manually turn on the computer with shorting both the power pins.if it is indeed that is the problem, cleaning the power button on the case with contact cleaner.if that doesn't work, swith the power button with reset, so you had to press reset to power the pc.just dont plug the old power button back.leave it unplugged
Well said. But I got a trick for old switch. Clean them toroughly under hot water with cleaning stuff like Hertel. Then rinse it proerly and dry it with hair dryer. When its done drip some olive oil inside the switch and push it many times until it moves freely. Olive oil is often used as test coolant because guy swubmerged their motherboard in olive oil and its non-conductive.
I made it with older switches believe me :)
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#8
Well said. But I got a trick for old switch. Clean them toroughly under hot water with cleaning stuff like Hertel. Then rinse it proerly and dry it with hair dryer. When its done drip some olive oil inside the switch and push it many times until it moves freely. Olive oil is often used as test coolant because guy swubmerged their motherboard in olive oil and its non-conductive.
I made it with older switches believe me :)
Good advice about the Olive oil:)

Never thought of using it as a lubricant~
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#9
Valuable also for fans to extend their lives IF you remove the dust often. Oil is a lubricant but most of all a dirt catcher. i saved a chipset fan like that and computer was dead silent.
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#10
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#11
I dont like the black color on the green part in psu. seriously should not be there...burned and passedthrough the green part. change the psu for a new one or itll blow soon anyway

just hoping that the psu did not blow some parts in mobo.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2010
Messages
174 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
Location
San Diego,CA
System Name addiction
Processor i7 920 @ 4.0 Ghz 1.19v
Motherboard EVGA X58 SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory 3 x 2 GB 1600 mhz OCZ Ram
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280 supeclocked
Storage WD Black 750 GB
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#12
get a new psu quick! that psu might ended messing other components too.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
170 (0.06/day)
Likes
20
Location
Nagoya Hills
System Name Nipponsei-ゲームだけのため
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 @3Ghz OC
Motherboard Gigabyte GA EP-45 DS4
Cooling Thermaltake V1 AX
Memory Patriot Viper Extreme PC2-8500 8 GB (4 x 2GB)
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5850 BLACK EDITION
Storage 2 x 320 GB Seagate S-ATA + 1500GB Seagate Barracuda S-ATA
Display(s) Philips 220E @ 1920 x 1080 + BenQ FP71G+
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Repaint Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 888
Power Supply ENLIGHT EN-6500BS 650 Watt Black Silver
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64
#13
Hello
I registered here hoping I would find an answer.
My problem started a while ago, when my pc occasionally would turn off without a warning and without any temperature problem. Recently it did more often + a new problem appeared, it was also powering itself on without any Wake-Up option activated in BIOS. Lastly, as soon as I plugged it in, all the fans would start running even though the power led on the front panel and the display remained turned off. Pressing the power button had no effect whatsoever, maybe just "speeding up" the fans when it was pressed. (tried with older "420w" no-name psu)

Should I just replace the PSU or there can be a problem with the mobo or cpu also?
Other says "Get a new CPU or new PSU" but before you do that, try to set your BIOS into default setting, and if problem still occurs, change your PSU.
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#14
I did.
 

Temujin

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
16
#15
Burning PCB is no good. It looks like it's attached to the switching circuits. When those don't do their job, that overheating can happen. Swap the PSU as soon as you can. Hopefully, it hasn't compromised the integrity of any of the components. *Knocks on wood for Lepper*
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#16
Thanks for knocking the wood. I will change it next week I hope.
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#17
I just tried it with the power switch unplugged, it's still the same. The moment I plug it in, the fans start spinning.
 

Temujin

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
16
#18
So you changed out the PSU already?

If so, are your fans plugged in to your motherboard, or directly to the PSU you added? Sorry, if I'm not on the same page. :)
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#19
Nope, didn't change it yet. The fans are connected to the mobo... I guess the cpu fan alone, can only be connected to the mobo to be able to change its rpm
 

Temujin

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
16
#20
I'll admit, I'm a little nervous about the fact that your motherboard is powering up the fans even though the system isn't running. That's not a symptom you want to be seeing. Either way, you should still replace the PSU. You don't want to connect it to a good replacement motherboard.
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#21
Tried with a friend's psu but I still ain't got a concludent result cause this psu doesn't have those 4 pins for the cpu. The mobo's led lights up but also the switch doesn't work.
 

WSP

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
101 (0.03/day)
Likes
6
Location
Indonesia
Processor AMD PII X4 950BE | E5300
Motherboard MSI 770-G45 | Asus P5N32-E SLI bios 1903
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme (mod) | stock
Memory 2x1Gb V-GEN PC10600 | 2gb kit Mushkin EM silverline
Video Card(s) 9800GT+9600GT | GTX260+GTS250
Storage Hitachi 160GB+Seagate 320GB | WD 160GB+Hitachi 160GB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer X193HQ | LG 710S
Case Enlight | caseless
Audio Device(s) Audigy SB0090 w/ ATP3 | no sound
Power Supply Toughpower 650W | VenomRX Boomslang modular 700W
Software Win7 x64
Benchmark Scores 14001 3DMark06 score with Manli 9600GT OCed 775-1175
#22
if your mobo has 4pin cpu power connector, you have to plug it in for the mobo to work properly.
if you're not plug the 4pin cpu power connector, the mobo won't work

clearly you need another good psu
 
Joined
May 26, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Athlon64 3000+
Motherboard ASUS M2V
Memory 2Gb DDR2 Kingmax, DualChannel
Video Card(s) GeForce 8600GT 256Mb
Storage Seagate 160Gb S-ATA
Display(s) LG L1918S
#23
Tried with a good psu this time. Same crap: the fans start on their own and the leds + display don't light up. Is it the cpu or the mobo?
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#24
Tried with a good psu this time. Same crap: the fans start on their own and the leds + display don't light up. Is it the cpu or the mobo?
By now, and reading what has been said, I would say the mobo is bad. Not sure what, maybe some short circuit in there.
Check the back side of the board to see if there is something (dust, a smudge or even solder) that could be shorting the power button pins.
That could help...If you haven't checked it yet.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,609 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#25
what happens after the fans and LED's turn on? have you just let it follow threw and see what actually happens?