• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange throttling issue Radeon 280x

Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,696 (2.71/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#2
By reading your post on the other website, it sounds to me like the GPU is not picking up the fact its playing a game right now. I had an issue at one point with League of Legends not picking up my R9 290X cards (Only uses one anyway) and it was running one of them at 400mhz off and on.

Try doing something like this:

Re-install your graphics driver

Force games to full screen mode

Use the MSI afterburner to display in-game what is going on.

Seems to be an odd issue for you because its having issues on multiple games which is very peculiar.
 

jacek0123

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#3
Thanks for your reply
I reinstalled drivers several times in different versions
unfortunately full-screen mode does not change a thing
may it be caused by broken pcie slot? when i put card in x4 slot which is normally used in crossfire setup that problem does not appear
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,696 (2.71/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#4
Thanks for your reply
I reinstalled drivers several times in different versions
unfortunately full-screen mode does not change a thing
may it be caused by broken pcie slot? when i put card in x4 slot which is normally used in crossfire setup that problem does not appear
Odd...Well that should not cause a problem unless your primary slot is not running at the correct speeds. Check under Catalyst and see what the GPU is reporting the speeds at of the slot and see if everything checks out there

Or you can also do this in the bios as well.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#6
Hi

Was the windows OS prepaired before installing the r9 280x?
[Catalyst Driver was removed using express uninstall with Saphire Radeon 6570 still installed]

general info and trouble shooting here

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#7
Hi

http://i.imgur.com/NiTsRIX.png here is gpuz showing the speed in slot that is causing the problems
No; that is just a motherboard limitation PCIe x16 @ 2.0 standard

Test the vga card in another system [*If same issue] *return the card to the retailer / e-tailer or raise an RMA

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,696 (2.71/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Texas
System Name Alucard / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 5930K @ 4.5ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon X5670 / Intel i7 3610QM
Motherboard MSI X99S Gaming 9 AC / Dell Dual Socket (R710) / MSI Stock Gaming Laptop
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / MSI Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2666 16gb (4x4gb) CL 16 / 1333mhz DDR3 96gb 12 x 8gb / 12gb DDR3 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / GTX 880m
Storage Samsung 840/850 512gb Raid 0, WD Velociraptor 600gb x 5 Raid 5 / 300gb 15k RPM x 8 / 2x 240gb Adata
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor, 1 Hanns-G 27inch 1920x1080p Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R710 Rack Mount Case / MSI Gaming 17inch
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Pro
#8
This is a very interesting issue, if it is working in the other slot I might suggest just using that if the performance is alright for the time being. But its almost sounding like a board driver problem which is very peculiar.
 

jacek0123

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#9
Hi

Was the windows OS prepaired before installing the r9 280x?
[Catalyst Driver was removed using express uninstall with Saphire Radeon 6570 still installed]

general info and trouble shooting here

atb

Law-II
I was ordering the graphic card at once with ssd drive so it was installed on clean install of windows

Hi



No; that is just a motherboard limitation PCIe x16 @ 2.0 standard

Test the vga card in another system [*If same issue] *return the card to the retailer / e-tailer or raise an RMA

atb

Law-II
my problem is not in the pci express speed but in gpu frequency throttling during gaming
as to testing card in another pc will do in few days but maybe its a software issue
i never had problems like that which is new to me to be honest i never owned hi-end graphic card (u may not consider this card hi-end yourself) was always sitting on budget stuff
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
891
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#10
Hi

If the vga card is new and fresh install of windows OS and are using 14.4 whql drivers [not much to test in that system]

double check all windows updates are downloaded installed and up to date
double check the [motherboard bios] and [chipset drivers] up to date
back to the PCIe x16 slot [check for damage or dust; clean with an air duster]
reseat the vga card [clean the blade: use a coffee filter and isopropyl alcohol]
double check vga card PCB for visable damage near to the PCIe blade

Let the TPU community know what the resaults are; when you get a chance to test the vga card in another system in a few days time.
Note: as the vga card appears to achive stability with 100Mhz downclock, [this is not a good sign]

atb

Law-II