• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

stream video to tv

jjupiter

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi everybody, i`m a newbie here great forum, just would like to know if anybody has view on me wanting to stream hdmi to my tv. on this computer there is no hdmi output. i kinda dont really want to spend too much seeing as i would not use the video card on the computer for much. does anyone know if a Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GT 220 1 GB PCI Express video card would be ok for the job. thanx
jj
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#2
Welcome to TPU, jjupiter. :toast:

What video card do you have in your computer now? You may be able to do DVI to HDMI with an adapter. I did that on my old 4870x2 and it worked great.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
I'd go with something from the 400/500/600 series of cards. Their built in sound card makes connecting via HDMI a lot easier. The GT610 is only about $40 and will do the job nicely.
 

jjupiter

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
wow fast info

hi and thanx for the reply so fast .this is great .i dont know much about all this streaming and have the big screen and thought i would try it out. i dont want to move my desktop so i was thinking to just cable it to the tv.just trying the options.i guess i dont need much in the way of any other special components to do this card and cable will do?thanx again
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#6
If you go into the UserCP you can add your system spec which will help a lot if you have more questions. Don't forget to check the little box to make them visible.
 

jjupiter

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
hi everyone i was just wondering about the Craig smart tv hdmi adapter cvd601 if it works ok or is it not really worth it just to stream to tv thanx
 

jjupiter

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
hi everyone i was just wondering about the Craig smart tv hdmi adapter cvd601 if it works ok or is it not really worth it just to stream to tv thanx
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#9
I'd skip the video card upgrade altogether and just go with a Android device like a UG802, UG007 or an MK808 They all plug directly into an HDMI port and are compatible with Google Play...I have the UG802 but I'd recommend the MK808 because it has a better wifi antenna...

They can all do 1080p and are all wireless...Just avoid the MK802 its a single core A8...
The ones I listed are dual core Cortex A9 setups and are plenty fast...

and yes you can stream video over your network from a Windows or MAC computer to these devices....
You can find reviews of these all over the place...such as on youtube


OH and that Craig smart tv hdmi adapter cvd601 is a rebranded MK802....works alright @ 720p but why pay more for less...
You will find the MK802, MK808, UG007 and UG802 rebranded under several names...Its always cheaper to buy them under the model number rather than a random name...

And yes to answer your question these mini Android PC are worth it and they are AWESOME!!!
I seriously enjoy my UG802 but they do have limitations...
Here in the US you cannot use them on sites like HULU, CBS and NBC DUE to a lack of a DRM on them....you can however pay to have a DRM service put on those devices and them watch those services thru the DRM product...I however will not support that nor will I tell you the name of that DRM service because I believe its utter bullshit
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,647
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
A Nivida 210 will work just fine. The only thing it doesn't have that the 400 series does is HD DTS audio.

Just make sure you have a PCI-e slot
 

jjupiter

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
are they not the same ? wireless with a mouse ? the units you describe sound pretty good and thanx for the reply
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#12
are they not the same ? wireless with a mouse ? the units you describe sound pretty good and thanx for the reply
The craig unit is a MK802 with "CRAIG" painted on it...Its a single core unit and the reviews for it are less than stellar...You can find a MK802 on Amazon for as low as $30 and you could by any cheap wireless mouse to go along with it for $5-$10 to match that mouse LOL...

You can buy these on AMAZON with a remote or mouse or you can simply choose one you like...they work with any wireless keyboard or mouse as long as the reciever plugs into a USB slot

I paid $38 on Amazon for my UG802 and its a Rockchip 3066 Dual core Cortex A9 1.6ghx with a Quad core MAli 400mp gpu and 1gb ddr3....This is the one I bought
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009PDR8T4/?tag=tec06d-20 these devices work with any wireless mouse/keyboards you can buy...

I use an Air mouse/keyboard like this one
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009CQTOPK/?tag=tec06d-20
Remote is awesome makes Angry Birds fun to play LOL
 
Last edited:

jjupiter

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
amazing responses kudos

wow you guys are great here! im a newbie wanting to learn with a million questions.i can never catch up to most of the technologies but i would like to be able to navigate somewhat.i will check this out.
and once again thanx so much for the input and fast replies!
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
The craig unit is a MK802 with "CRAIG" painted on it...Its a single core unit and the reviews for it are less than stellar...You can find a MK802 on Amazon for as low as $30 and you could by any cheap wireless mouse to go along with it for $5-$10 to match that mouse LOL...

You can buy these on AMAZON with a remote or mouse or you can simply choose one you like...they work with any wireless keyboard or mouse as long as the reciever plugs into a USB slot

I paid $38 on Amazon for my UG802 and its a Rockchip 3066 Dual core Cortex A9 1.6ghx with a Quad core MAli 400mp gpu and 1gb ddr3....This is the one I bought
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009PDR8T4/?tag=tec06d-20 these devices work with any wireless mouse/keyboards you can buy...

I use an Air mouse/keyboard like this one
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009CQTOPK/?tag=tec06d-20
Remote is awesome makes Angry Birds fun to play LOL
But how are those with 1080p? I heard they were too slow for 1080p content. And even on the better units the Wifi is still spotty.

Those complaints are why I went with a Pivos Xios DS. It is more expensive, but has a wired network port, comes with a remote, and runs XBMC Linux natively.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#15
But how are those with 1080p? I heard they were too slow for 1080p content. And even on the better units the Wifi is still spotty.

Those complaints are why I went with a Pivos Xios DS. It is more expensive, but has a wired network port, comes with a remote, and runs XBMC Linux natively.
I have no issues with my UG802 at 30' and 1 floor away....but I also have a strong router...
I have zero issues with streaming in 1080p but it does take a minute maybe 2 for the buffer to fill and while its doing that it is a little bit fuzzy....and you always have the option to get a USB hub and get a USB-rj45 adapter...I actually have a USB sound card and a RJ45 adapter coming from Hong Kong...

I wanted to see what if any differences having hardwired made and I'd like to connect some speaker I have for music because my TV speaker are crap for music...

Now the mk802 is to slow for 1080p and sometimes even 720p but that's because it has an Allwinner A10 which suck ass...its a Cortex A8 with a Mali 400 and it has a seriously crappy antenna in it...
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I have no issues with my UG802 at 30' and 1 floor away....but I also have a strong router...
I have zero issues with streaming in 1080p but it does take a minute maybe 2 for the buffer to fill and while its doing that it is a little bit fuzzy....and you always have the option to get a USB hub and get a USB-rj45 adapter...I actually have a USB sound card and a RJ45 adapter coming from Hong Kong...

I wanted to see what if any differences having hardwired made and I'd like to connect some speaker I have for music because my TV speaker are crap for music...

Now the mk802 is to slow for 1080p and sometimes even 720p but that's because it has an Allwinner A10 which suck ass...its a Cortex A8 with a Mali 400 and it has a seriously crappy antenna in it...
Yeah, but by the time you buy a USB hub, USB Ethernet adapter, and remote you're pretty close to the cost of the Xios DS, and you're still stuck running android instead of XBMC Linux.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#17
Yeah, but by the time you buy a USB hub, USB Ethernet adapter, and remote you're pretty close to the cost of the Xios DS, and you're still stuck running android instead of XBMC Linux.
I paid a total of $9.09 for the hub, usb sound card and usb-rj45...
the hub was $1.99 shipped, the usb sound card was $2.70 and the RJ45 was $4.40...
None of them are actually needed I just got them because I'm thinking of doing a mod with an old Airlink 101 router case and a 15mm fan I have....for the fun of it...


OH yeah and I did find an issue with the wifi going out...every time you unplug the usb connection on the UG802 or even the hub you lose wifi and have to disconnect the power and reconnect...other than that I've had no other connectivity issues..