1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Stress tester

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Atech, Jul 27, 2007.

  1. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I need a stress tester ... I'm currently undervolting and, well, as I said. Don't want to go too far without adequate assurance ;) Anyone know of a dedicated one that reports errors straight away?

    I'm currently running foldingathome whilst stalking dmesg ... Not sure whether the kernel log reports subtle errors resulting from lack of voltage though :/
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    orthos
     
  3. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Are you absolutely sure it's for Linux? I can only find a cab'd up Windows build :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    never stated'nix sorry ... godda ask some a them other oldies
     
  5. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    You could try MPrime,linux version of Prime95
     
    Atech says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Thanks.

    Ouch, this is the first time I've felt the effects of having no pre-emption :twitch:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    It's fine at 311*9 with 1.2375v, but 322*9 freezes without bumping it to 1.24 ... something ... v :p What a shame. I've read an account of a Q6600 that was stable at 333 with 1.2375v, I guess this one just isn't quite as good.

    Edit:
    Make that 1.25v :confused: That's a bit of a jump :/

    Edit:

    Okay,
    311 needs 1.2375
    322 needs 1.24
    333 needs 1.3

    Wtf, it's almost as if v = bus^3
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)