• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Strobe light control

Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#1
So my frat is having this part on saturday and we have a nice strobe light and mixer: behringer pro mixer dx 1000. We wanted to have the mixer connected to the strobe because I'm pretty sure that it can but I can't figure out how to make it work.
What I tried was the 1/4" "light" output on the back of the mixer to the 1/4" controller in on the strobe. Maybe I just don't know how to tell the mixer to output a signal a strobe understands?

Anyway anyone with experience with pro dj equipment should help me out :)

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#2
no one out there knows? party is tonight and I kinda want to have the stobe for it haha
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,341
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
I just grabbed the pdf and read the instructions. Seems the light needs to have sound to light capability as well, but if your does, it says to adjust the mixer until it works. Too little and the light may not flash or be dim, too much and the light will stay on. I also assume you had music playing during this testing?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#4
I just grabbed the pdf and read the instructions. Seems the light needs to have sound to light capability as well, but if your does, it says to adjust the mixer until it works. Too little and the light may not flash or be dim, too much and the light will stay on. I also assume you had music playing during this testing?
i think it has the sound to light? I mean its got the 1/4" audio in for it. And yeah music was going during the testing is there something that needs to be turned on/up you think?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,341
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
This is all I found and was going by...

9.3 Sound-to-light
A mono audio output [60] is provided for connection to lighting controllers with a sound-to-light facility. Connection is via a standard 1/4" jack on the back panel. Sensitivity is conveniently adjustable from the DX1000 by the LIGHT LEVEL knob [40] to the left of the bargraph meters. Too high, and the lights will stay on, too low and they won’t flash at all. Adjust LIGHT LEVEL until lights flash in time with the music.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#6
Basic principle says you have an amplifier that takes, say, 1-5 mV signals of the non-amplified music and boosts it up to 30, 50, 100V, whatever - depending on the gain you set it to. If your light comes on at it's most dimmed at ~50V and achieves full brightness at ~120V, then that's your working dynamic range. You'd then want to map 1mV of music to 50V of light, and 5 mV of music to 120V of light.

The kicker is, it would probably be too much to ask of the mixer to actually deliver power to the lights, so instead, it will pass on an amplified control signal (of the order of 1-5 V) to the lights, where it will be interpreted by the strobe's controller and translated into working voltage levels (50-120V).

Now, regarding translation of this theory into practice, I'm afraid it's beyond my knowledge at the moment. Look for a "gain" setting related to lights, and start from there...

## EDIT ##

sneekypeet Posted after I started my reply... The "LIGHT LEVEL" he mentions is the "gain" setting that I'm referring to. Assuming that the output range of the mixer's "Sound-to-light" is withing the expected input range of the strobe controller, it's all a matter of manually finding the right amount of gain for the strobe to turn on and off at the correct music level. Just fiddle with the mixer a bit, I don't really see how it could do any harm.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#7
I looked and its a remote in, im guessing its not the same then. Is there any other way I could get it to work you think?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#8
does it have a built in mic?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#9
I looked and its a remote in, im guessing its not the same then. Is there any other way I could get it to work you think?
Perhaps you could split off the audio output with a Y-splitter, and run one of the outputs straight to the strobe. That's provided that the strobe's signal input is capable of handling the (pre-)amplified signal coming out of the mixer.

As to how you'd actually control the output/input levels, well, you'd be stuck with volume control on the mixer itself. If you put an amp after the mixer, and before the speakers, you can volume up/down the music there, leaving the split-off signal from the mixer going into the strobe undisturbed.

A hackjob for sure, but it just might work.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#10
does it have a built in mic?
no unfortunately not...

Perhaps you could split off the audio output with a Y-splitter, and run one of the outputs straight to the strobe. That's provided that the strobe's signal input is capable of handling the (pre-)amplified signal coming out of the mixer.

As to how you'd actually control the output/input levels, well, you'd be stuck with volume control on the mixer itself. If you put an amp after the mixer, and before the speakers, you can volume up/down the music there, leaving the split-off signal from the mixer going into the strobe undisturbed.

A hackjob for sure, but it just might work.
ok, we dont have 3.5 to 1/4 converters though only the other way around. and the amps are after the mixer so i guess i could conect it directly to that?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#11
Doesn't matter, use 2x 1/4 -> 3.5 connectors and a male <-> male 3.5 cable. Yes, it should be alright if the amps are after the mixer (as they should be). The signal going to the mixer will be pre-amped, but shouldn't leave the single digit voltages... It should work fine. Just find the right output level.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#12
Doesn't matter, use 2x 1/4 -> 3.5 connectors and a male <-> male 3.5 cable. Yes, it should be alright if the amps are after the mixer (as they should be). The signal going to the mixer will be pre-amped, but shouldn't leave the single digit voltages... It should work fine. Just find the right output level.
oh i misunderstood you we have an actual 1/4" audio cable now, so you think it should just get plugged into the light effect out or whatever?
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#13
Right, I see some crude mspaint visuals are in order...



If you can't get the "sound-to-light" output to work, you can try the above.
Outside of those two options, I'm out of ideas.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#14
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#15
Then you need an amplifier that will boost the audio output voltage range (which is of the order of one volt) to the strobe light's working voltage range (one to two orders of magnitude above that, depending on the lamp(s), 50, 100, 200V?). That's assuming your lights aren't LED-based. You could, in theory, use a guitar amp for that, if you'd turn it to the required level.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
279 (0.09/day)
Likes
40
System Name Nazgul
Processor Core i5 6600k
Motherboard MSI Krait Gaming 170a
Cooling Phanteks Dual Tower
Memory 8gb Corsair DDR4 3600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW+ GTX970
Storage Samsung 128gb SSD OS, 500gb 7200rpm storage
Display(s) Benq 144hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define r5 titanium window
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Razer
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
#16
Then you need an amplifier that will boost the audio output voltage range (which is of the order of one volt) to the strobe light's working voltage range (one to two orders of magnitude above that, depending on the lamp(s), 50, 100, 200V?). That's assuming your lights aren't LED-based. You could, in theory, use a guitar amp for that, if you'd turn it to the required level.
oh well we had fun at the party no strobe, whatever haha ill have to try to get it working for the next one though!
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.03/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#17
is it dmx controllable? the strobes ive worked that had sound to light capability had to be configured to use it. however if it is dmx then get your self a little lightning controller cheap ones can be had that turns it on and off. bigger ones can adjust strobe speed etc. Some allow for presets and have sound to light built in plus then you can control any lantern with a dmx input. dmx is a 5 pin xlr, cheaper models use a standard 3 pin xlr. to be truthful the extra two pins arn't used by most desk's. were meant to be for return info from things like moving heads for lamp temperature, running hours etc

ranging from this
http://www.pmtonline.co.uk/stagg-4-channel-dmx-light-controller.html

to this
thats quite old now though