• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Stuck with DDR-1/Bad Mobo and need to upgrade.

mediahaze

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello all,

Here is my specs

MB: DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra D (Socket 939) (partly fried- see below)
CPU:ATHLON 3200
MEM: OCZ Performance Duel-Channel PC3200 2GIG
GPU: Saphire GTO^2(x850 with Zalman Fan)
DRIVES: SATA2 80G Samsung(2)

and my situation

I have a DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra D (Socket 939) that suffered a tip over in a recent move. On boot it now posts 1/10 times and if it does post, 1/2 of the time it freezes before the loading the os. Once booted the Mobo is fine with exception that when I read from the DVD, the OS has a huge crash. It is not the dvd as I have tried numerous. I am assuming the mobo is screwed and my best bet is to do an upgrade.

Now, the question is... how should I upgrade.

Should I buy a mobo that I can upgrade the CPU in the future? Or do I just stick with something cheap and decent for a couple years and buy something nice in the future.
I dont want to change the mem and wont be adding another card for SLI

A cheap yet decent upgrade I think is the following

MB (79.99) link here
Foxconn NF4SKAA-8EKRS Motherboard - NVIDIA nForce4 SLI, Socket 939, ATX, Audio, PCI Express, SLI Ready, Dual Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0, Serial ATA, RAID

and possibly getting a new CPU(79)
MD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Processor - 2.20GHz
link here

Tell me what you think.
 

LonGun

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
407 (0.10/day)
Likes
12
Location
U.S. - San Diego, CA
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ (40C-50C max)
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe /WiFi
Cooling customized Big-Typhoon, x2-120mm, x1-80mm. & a Portable AC next to the case.
Memory Patriot 6.00 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS @645/1932 (45C min >60C max)
Storage SATA II: WD 500GB, Maxtor 200GB
Display(s) SCEPTRE 20" LCD (5ms) @ 1680x1050 res.
Case ULTRA Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Power Supply Antec NEO HE 550W
Software OS: Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1
#2
Did you check see if anything loose connecting to the MB before decide to upgrade? or try to clear the Cmos?
 

LonGun

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
407 (0.10/day)
Likes
12
Location
U.S. - San Diego, CA
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ (40C-50C max)
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe /WiFi
Cooling customized Big-Typhoon, x2-120mm, x1-80mm. & a Portable AC next to the case.
Memory Patriot 6.00 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS @645/1932 (45C min >60C max)
Storage SATA II: WD 500GB, Maxtor 200GB
Display(s) SCEPTRE 20" LCD (5ms) @ 1680x1050 res.
Case ULTRA Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Power Supply Antec NEO HE 550W
Software OS: Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1
#3
The upgrade is going to be about $200 including shipping and tax. I would just go with the MB and forget about the CPU. Not worth it because the MB only supports DDR ram. Besides your 3200 CPU is fine. Not much of difference in performance anyway jumping to 4200.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#4
The upgrade is going to be about $200 including shipping and tax. I would just go with the MB and forget about the CPU. Not worth it because the MB only supports DDR ram. Besides your 3200 CPU is fine. Not much of difference in performance anyway jumping to 4200.
why would it not be much of a performance gain? going from single core to dual core?
 

LonGun

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
407 (0.10/day)
Likes
12
Location
U.S. - San Diego, CA
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ (40C-50C max)
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe /WiFi
Cooling customized Big-Typhoon, x2-120mm, x1-80mm. & a Portable AC next to the case.
Memory Patriot 6.00 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS @645/1932 (45C min >60C max)
Storage SATA II: WD 500GB, Maxtor 200GB
Display(s) SCEPTRE 20" LCD (5ms) @ 1680x1050 res.
Case ULTRA Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Power Supply Antec NEO HE 550W
Software OS: Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1
#5
I'm talking about the over all performance. My personal thoughts, I'd go with the AM2 MB + dual core processor and DDR2. But if I only upgrade with that MB for emergency use, then I'd leave the CPU alone.
 

mediahaze

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Interesting.

I guess part of the question lies in what other sockets supports 184 pin DDR. Without being able to upgrade to DDR2, upgrading the proc in the future may not be worth it.

I did clear the CMOS via the jumpers which seems to have helped. It failed once on a reboot from my 5 tries. The DVD still causes windows to die when I read from it.

I am also skeptical of the mobo as one stick of MEM had gone bad. I RMA'ed the mem and got two new sticks back but I am only using 1g that I know works fine atm.I dont really want loose another stick if it is the mobo that is killing mem.

In the end I think I will take your advice and just get a new mobo. Is the performance difference between single core to duel core not substantial? It will clearly help in multitasking, compiling, ect.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,332
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
If you just want to go really cheap...Call DFI and get the MOBO repaired. They carry a 3yr factory warranty . It will cost you about $7USD if you live in the USA and ship FEDEX. Lastly it takes all of about a week to ten days. So for $7 and 10 days time, you will be able to save more pennies and wait for the intel /AMD war that is soon to come with the new releases!
 

mediahaze

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
no F****** kidding. I did not know about the 3y warranty.

Emailing them right now.

Thanks!
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,332
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
No problem...I didnt know either until I taked to them at DFI . I started my conversation with ....Ya ummm my warranty just went out at the egg and...he stopped me and says , Oh its 3 yrs here...My retort was something witty along the lines of SWEET !!!!!!
 

LonGun

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
407 (0.10/day)
Likes
12
Location
U.S. - San Diego, CA
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5200+ (40C-50C max)
Motherboard ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe /WiFi
Cooling customized Big-Typhoon, x2-120mm, x1-80mm. & a Portable AC next to the case.
Memory Patriot 6.00 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8800GTS @645/1932 (45C min >60C max)
Storage SATA II: WD 500GB, Maxtor 200GB
Display(s) SCEPTRE 20" LCD (5ms) @ 1680x1050 res.
Case ULTRA Aluminus Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy SE
Power Supply Antec NEO HE 550W
Software OS: Vista Ultimate 64bit SP1
#10
no F****** kidding. I did not know about the 3y warranty.

Emailing them right now.

Thanks!
Go for it. G' luck on that. In the mean time, it might takes several weeks for the repair. So you might as well grab something for temporaly use and return it with in a month, when you get your old MB back.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,523 (4.59/day)
Likes
3,156
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11