1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

stupid question about a dead motherboard

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fritoking, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    741 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    ohio
    ok..i have an emachines mini itx pc that was possibly lightning struck here atm..no power to anything.no fans..lights..etc. so i hooked up a 350 watt psu i have to it that i know is good since its running another pc..still nothing anywhere. even the psu fan doesnt come on.if the board is shot wouldnt the dvdrom and the power leds still come on? ( that has been my past experience)i was hoping that just the psu was shot and i could salvage the thing....... one more note..the oem psu has funky wiring ..like out of the psu to an adapter and then to the mobo...the mobo is 24 pin but the plug on the adapter is still 20?[​IMG][/IMG]
     
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    If the Mobo is shot it will not trigger the PSU. Nothing will receive power. Have you tried jumping the oem PSU to see if it is OK?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    741 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    ohio
    no i havent tried that since im not familiar with the procedure......
     
  4. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,406 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Just a quick shot question... but the spare PSU you're testing are you using a full 24pin? The one on your picture is a 20-pin but they normally attatch to a 4-pin extension to give you the full set of 24 pins. Not sure if that's why it's not powering up.
     
  5. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    741 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    ohio
    its a 20+ 4 i tried it both ways......24 and 20 no dice..the on in the pic is the oem psu......it looks like they added it just for an extension
     
  6. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,448 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,444
    Location:
    Houston
    green to black will short the oem psu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    741 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    ohio
    any black or a specific black?
     
  8. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,256 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    If there aren't any fried components maybe you should try to clear the CMOS?

    And yeah short the one green with a ground wire (black most of the time) and the PSU should start.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,448 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,444
    Location:
    Houston
    black is ground it don't matter which i normally use the one right next to the green tho
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    741 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    ohio
    tried that also
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)