• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Stuttering at High FPS GTX 400 series

Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#1
Hi All,

I am experiencing a constant stutter while at high FPS - in vantage, quake 4 and other games. In vantage when the big spaceship flies by the screen it can be seen as it doesn't move fluidly but does one of these: ------>jerk------>jerk------>jerk------>jerk------>jerk. Ive had this problem before on an AMD chipset, but that was much worse and solved with rolling back drivers.



same can be seen in severe fashion in quake 4, and in other games to a lesser extent
-no hard drive activity
-memory settings 1266 at 7-7-6-21 1T or 1600 9-9-9-24 or 1600 9-8-7-21 do not make a noticeable difference.
-gtx 470 stock/overclock does not make a difference
-shutting down all background processes does not make a difference
-tried 250.xx and 260.xx drivers with clean installs
-pagefile does not make a difference
-virus scanner turned up nothing, plus i dont surf pr0n with this rig anyways.
-changing priority did not make a difference.
-stock, non-oc'ed settings do the same thing :/

If I look really really hard, i can see it in other games (as the stutters are spaced apart evenly) but the lower fps the game is getting, the less severe the stutter. Also DX11 doesnt *seem* to be affected as bad. But that just might be bc dx11 games run at lower fps anyways.

Any ideas or people experiencing the same thing?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#3
How is it when V-sync is enabled?
same thing, its actually a bit more noticeable since everything is super silky smooth, so a tiny stutter every .7 seconds sticks out like a sore thumb... even with 8 fps render ahead and triple buffering.

also tried enabling/disabling multi-threaded support. In the panel and in the game.
also reverting everything to default in nvidia control panel does nothing.
tried different PCI-e speeds from 100mhz all the way up to 125mhz. no difference. running at 2.0 16x GPU-Z shows everything to be peachy.

can anyone with the new 260.3 drivers and a gtx 470 verify if they get this in vantage? Just a yes/no so i can see the system specs to see the difference in hardware.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 30, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#4
I stumbled across this post and felt the need to register here since I had the same exact problem with my GTX 470.

And you will never believe what caused it. It was Microsoft's security updates. I did a fresh install and never let it update other than a few individual things but that's it and now my card runs smooth as silk.

Try it and get back to me. I will favorite this page.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#5
will try out this 260.3.. Still am using 258.96
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#6
I stumbled across this post and felt the need to register here since I had the same exact problem with my GTX 470.

And you will never believe what caused it. It was Microsoft's security updates. I did a fresh install and never let it update other than a few individual things but that's it and now my card runs smooth as silk.

Try it and get back to me. I will favorite this page.
Wow! Thanks for that! I felt that it was something fishy like that. My next target was going to be my audio drivers, but this is a great lead. I will do a clean install once I get home and check it out. :toast:
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
That little .7 second stutter eh? Drive ya nuts don't it?

Yep, I know exactly what you mean. I had this with Doom 3 way back and never managed to solve it, unfortunately. In the end I didn't like the game much, so it didn't matter too much that I couldn't fix it.

One thing you could try is to install the latest Microsoft DirectX update. It solved a crash glitch with UT3 on XP a while back, so is worth trying.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#8
That little .7 second stutter eh? Drive ya nuts don't it?

Yep, I know exactly what you mean. I had this with Doom 3 way back and never managed to solve it, unfortunately. In the end I didn't like the game much, so it didn't matter too much that I couldn't fix it.

One thing you could try is to install the latest Microsoft DirectX update. It solved a crash glitch with UT3 on XP a while back, so is worth trying.
Yep... and while Doom 3 kind of sucks, the quake 4 single player is good. Really good. It's a shame that it stutters like that. It seems all bethesda engine games are completely immune though, as are all GTA IV.

It's only in select games, which makes me think it might be game-specific.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#9
Oblivion stutters like a mofo for me with my GTX 470. My CPU has issues though, can't wait to upgrade to i7 950. Runs worse without all the UOP patches and ini file edits. Could be a host of reasons you notice micro stutter in your games. Wish all I saw was .7 sec of stutter.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
Oblivion stutters like a mofo for me with my GTX 470. My CPU has issues though, can't wait to upgrade to i7 950. Runs worse without all the UOP patches and ini file edits. Could be a host of reasons you notice micro stutter in your games. Wish all I saw was .7 sec of stutter.
Trust me you wouldn't. It actually looks like a little jump every .7 seconds, which is very noticeable and very annoying. For me, it's annoying enough that I won't play a game that does this. On the other hand a frame rate going between 30-50 fps say, would look crap, but not as annoying, because it doesn't do that little jump, it would just be juddery.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#11
OK for quake 4 to fix it I found "com_precisetic 0" havent tried it yet. But will post back to let you know if it works.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#12
Quake 4 has high FPS on most systems, should be locked @ 60 on yours. Crap like screen tearing and micro stuttering is annoying as heck to me, I can't stand either. Have to play with vsync and FPS locked @ 60 in SLI.

I got rid of the heinous stutter that plagues Oblivion when you are outside. I edited some lines in the Oblivion.ini and the stuttering stopped. Will only work on powerful PCs though. Oblivion truly was designed for future PCs.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#13
Quake 4 has high FPS on most systems, should be locked @ 60 on yours. Crap like screen tearing and micro stuttering is annoying as heck to me, I can't stand either. Have to play with vsync and FPS locked @ 60 in SLI.

I got rid of the heinous stutter that plagues Oblivion when you are outside. I edited some lines in the Oblivion.ini and the stuttering stopped. Will only work on powerful PCs though. Oblivion truly was designed for future PCs.
thats the thing... it does it WITH v-sync and with framerate cap.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,103 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,258
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#14
will have to chekc my drivers when I get home, I did notice a slight stutter in vantage on that test but didn't dwell too much on it because it also happened on my gtx295 and 9600gt. I just figured it was poorly optimized lol.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#15
thats the thing... it does it WITH v-sync and with framerate cap.
If your GPU is pumping out more than 60 FPS per second with v-sync off then the fault is not with your GPU. Something else is diverting resources from your system. Look at Task Manager to see what is using resources while you game.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#16
If your GPU is pumping out more than 60 FPS per second with v-sync off then the fault is not with your GPU. Something else is diverting resources from your system. Look at Task Manager to see what is using resources while you game.
The GPU isn't putting out more than 60fps. It's a glitch in the game engine causing those jumps. If you have Fraps running, you'll see that it's stuck at a steady 60fps.

I reckon it's to do with the tickrate of the game engine not properly configured to the video refresh rate. They have to be matched exactly for smooth animation. Turning vsync on would normally do this, but perhaps not on a faulty game engine?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#17
The GPU isn't putting out more than 60fps. It's a glitch in the game engine causing those jumps. If you have Fraps running, you'll see that it's stuck at a steady 60fps.

I reckon it's to do with the tickrate of the game engine not properly configured to the video refresh rate. They have to be matched exactly for smooth animation. Turning vsync on would normally do this, but perhaps not on a faulty game engine?
You mean, the GPU isn't putting out more than 60 FPS in v-sync. With it off, it should be pumping out at least twice that amount on the OPs rig.

My nVidia drivers put my desktop res refresh rate @ 59Hz. I put it at 1680x1050 and my games @ 1920x1200. Your games set @ your desktop res?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#18
You mean, the GPU isn't putting out more than 60 FPS in v-sync. With it off, it should be pumping out at least twice that amount on the OPs rig.

My nVidia drivers put my desktop res refresh rate @ 59Hz. I put it at 1680x1050 and my games @ 1920x1200. Your games set @ your desktop res?
That's right, with vsync on the GPU should be locked. I've seen only a few instances where it refuses to lock at all regardless of the game or driver setting, but that's a driver bug in old drivers and isn't what's happening here.

In this case, the engine tickrate is something like 61fps or 60.7fps and the screen refresh 60Hz, so you get the jumps. When I had this problem in Doom 3, I tried changing loads of things, including the whole PC and swapping nvidia cards for ati cards and nothing changed it. Definitely a game engine bug.

That 59Hz thing is yet another bug (on Windows 7 I think, but don't quote me). The monitor is actually being driven at 60Hz - just check the signal stats on the monitor's OSD.

The game res v desktop res is irrelevant to this issue.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
496 (0.15/day)
Likes
42
System Name The Venerable One
Processor Intel Core i7 980x 3.33GHz
Motherboard EVGA X58 FTW3
Cooling Big Ass fan pointed at the motherboard with the side panel off FTW
Memory 12GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 680 Superclocked X2 in SLI
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256MB SSD/1.5TB HDD internal
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BWX 24" 1920X1200
Case SK-503 Super Case
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply SeaSonic 1000W Platinum Rated
Software Windows 7 Home SP1 64-bit
Benchmark Scores epic
#19
That's right, with vsync on the GPU should be locked. I've seen only a few instances where it refuses to lock at all regardless of the game or driver setting, but that's a driver bug in old drivers and isn't what's happening here.
Games that don't lock the v-sync to the monitors refresh rate can be adjusted with D3DOverrider in many instances.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#20
ok so i learned more... its not the v-sync.. quibit was right. The tickrate is f-ed up in doom 3 engine games. The only way to fix it is either with:

set com_precisetic 0 (windows XP only)

OR com_fixedtic 1. this works for windows 7 but makes the game run at 2x realtime speed, which although extremely entertaining, kills the game completely.

im going to try to cap the frames at 60 in conjunction with fixedtic 1. It will make the game run smooth, but if the frames ever drop below 60, i am guessing that the game will go into slow motion. This is the same issue with oblivion games. You have to peg the tickrate of the engine to the FPS for buttery smoothness without vsync, but gpu dips slow down time in the game. lol. now i know why PC gaming is getting its ass beat by consoles.
 
Last edited:

luckyjj10

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name bob
Processor e4500 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard some variation of Asus p5k
Cooling lots of fans
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) MSI 460GTX HAWK
Storage Seagate 320gb and WD Caviar black 1.5tb 64mb cache
Display(s) 24 inches of glory
Case antec 900
Benchmark Scores Dwarf Fortress 100+ dwarfs like a boss
#21
I just got a 460gtx and am experiencing exactly this sort of thing in many different games, i'm really hoping for a big driver fix or something..

(fyi I had NO problems with my old 8800)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#22
I just got a 460gtx and am experiencing exactly this sort of thing in many different games, i'm really hoping for a big driver fix or something..

(fyi I had NO problems with my old 8800)
Does sound like drivers/patches could be at fault here.

And welcome to TPU! :toast: Why not fill in your system specs? It tends to help when discussing your rig and it's the sort of thing us techies like to know. :cool:
 

luckyjj10

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name bob
Processor e4500 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard some variation of Asus p5k
Cooling lots of fans
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) MSI 460GTX HAWK
Storage Seagate 320gb and WD Caviar black 1.5tb 64mb cache
Display(s) 24 inches of glory
Case antec 900
Benchmark Scores Dwarf Fortress 100+ dwarfs like a boss
#23
Filled in some stuff, Yeah my cpu might be a -slight- bottleneck, but it is obviously more than just a bottleneck.

Crysis for example exhibits this behavior (easily seen when strafing), the game has much better reported FPS than the 8800 at much higher settings, but when it "microstutters" you can see the gpu usage spiking wildly. (this happens with any in game settings)

The 8800, which although couldn't handle settings/aa etc as high, gave a "smoother" feeling experience.

The only thing I can say I discovered, is that by a combination of forcing crysis to 32bit and dx9, the stuttering is extremely lessened.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.00/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#24
Just started noticing this with F1 2010. No other games do it for me.
 

IceThatJaw

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
#25
Wait, so did you try not installing the updates TS?

Because that was the only thing that fixed the micro sutters. Now I can play Dead Rising 2, Mafia 2, RE5, and Just Cause 2 either completely maxed out (except physx on Mafia) and it's smooth as silk.

I skimmed through all the other posts and read Doom 3 and Quake 4. You bastards need to move on. Those games do not stand the test of time imo. haha

But my specs are: i7 930 at stock 2.8Ghz, 10gb 1600hz RAM at stock speed, GTX 470 OC'd to 800/1600/1900 at 1.050v.