• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Subsystem ID Mismatch and adapter not found with 6950

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#1
I have a MSI 6950 Tween Frozr II (2GB).
I upgraded from 6950 to 6970 with WinFlash successfully but on reboot the screen stays black and the post fails.

The situation is this:

- Putting a 8800GT in the first pci-e and 6950 in the second pci-e winfalsh and cpu-z sees the 6950 but if I try to use WinFlash to put the original bios or bios with MSI CAYMAN PRO V246 says "Subsystem ID Mismatch"

- If with WinFlash I load the firmware of 6970 or 6950 (with HAMILTON CAYMAN PRO), the bios is written without problems but the card does not work

- Using DOS+Atiwinflash with the two cards I receive the error "adapter not found" with each command.

Which is correct the bios for a MSI 6950 Tween Frozr II (2GB)?
Why I receive "Subsystem ID Mismatch" using the original firmware?
How can I solve "Subsystem ID Mismatch" with WinFlash or "adapter not found" in DOS?

Are my 6950 dead?

Please help me you are my only hope.
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#2

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#3
i can't find the P/N. These are two pictures of the card
http://imageshack.us/f/13/img0569sf.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/f/848/img0570ij.jpg/

Now I have installed xp to act. Starting ATIFLASH from the command prompt I get this series of writings that I do not understand:

G:\atiflash>atiflash -i
Exiting due to signal SIGSEGV
General Protection Fault at eip=00036667
eax=fd7d0000 ebx=00000000 ecx=fd7d0000 edx=02910000 esi=000362e0 edi=001c5f7c
ebp=000243e18 esp=00243db0 program=G:\ATIFLASH\ATIFLASH.EXE
cs: sel=01af base=02910000 limit=0058ffff
ds: sel=01b7 base=02910000 limit=0058ffff
es: sel=01b7 base=02910000 limit=0058ffff
fs: sel=017f base=0000f6c0 limit=0000ffff
gs: sel=01bf base=00000000 limit=0010ffff
ss: sel=01b7 base=02910000 limit=0058ffff
App stack: [00245f78..001c5f7c] Exceptn stack: [001c5ea0..001c3f60]

Call frame traceback EIPs:
0x00036667
0x00036d2b
0x00036305
0x00024430
0x000025ec
0x000096d7
0x00016d47
0x00016f6f
0x0011b8cf

????

In DOS I always get:
C:\atiflash>atiflash -i
adapter not found

C:\atiflash>atiflash -unlockrom 1
adapter not found

C:\atiflash>atiflash -f -p 1 original.rom
adapter not found

Error: 0FL01 Press 1 to continue

BUT I can se the card with CPU-Z and Atiwinflash!! I'm going crazy
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#4
Before you do anything else. Uninstall all ATi drivers then reboot with only the 6950 in place. May just need a reinstall. ;)
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#5
but with the 6950 alone in the first pcie the computer is stuck in the post and the screen stays black. I have to start with the 8800GT in the first pcie and 6950 in the second pcie to have one image and detect it with cpuz and winatiflash.

sorry for my english
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#6
Ahh was thinking you were having issues booting, not posting. Find a way to either force flash or edit the original twin frozr to match subsystem ID.
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#7
edit the original twin frozr to match subsystem ID
is it possible?? please say yes! :eek:

How can I do this?
In this way I think I might simply use Atiwinflesh, the only program that detects the card and that allowed me to install other bios (not working, but something change in cpu-z)

I wanted to force the flash bios with RBE but it does not detect the card even if Atiwinflash does

EDIT: for example atiwinflash allows me to install this http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/95120/MSI.HD6950.2048.101212.html
but
NOT this http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/95881/MSI.HD6950.2048.110126.html
NOT this http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/91574/MSI.HD6950.2048.101220.html (it should be the original)

you can check the differences with RBE.
 
Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#8
and what bios do you have currently?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#10
Ahhh so you were trying to do a shader unlock. My knowledge of ATi bios flashing is rather slim. SOmeone else will have to chime in. You changed both Vendor and Model with a bios flash, something you're not supposed to do. May end up having to rma this card.
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#11
oh no .... I think they will notice the change and they will void the warranty card ....
I've been a fool ... I thank you for your time and hope someone comes forward.

I noticed that I can change the "model" and "vendor", the thing that gives me problems are the bios with MSI hardware specs string CAYMAN PRO V246 that should be right for this card.

HEEEELP .. :( :( :(
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#12
read this thread
the link in this post
you might have to do the link here
you might get lucky
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#13
which of these two pin connections are right for the MSI 6950 Twin Frozr II (2gb)?

can i skip checking ID by connecting the pins?

I did not understand if the link between the two pins must be maintained throughout the entire procedure with Atiwinflash or interrupted at one point
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#14
if you connect the pins in pic #2 the bios should 'unlock' try it first
the pins in pic #1 will open the chip so the flasher can read it but it must be interupted be you start the flash
because of the ID mismatch you might have to use the pin 1 method BUT try # 2first you might get lucky

try reading this might help
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#15
Your recommendations are excellent and very useful to understand what really happens.
I tried to connect the pins as in Figure 2 the day before yesterday, but nothing has changed, I got mismatchIDs with atiwinflash.
I think I need to experiment with the method in Figure 1 tomorrow.

I have only one last question and I do not know why: 1-8 connection must be maintained throughout the entire procedure and stopped only at finished writing, right?

I will..
- connect pin 1 to pin 8
- mount the card in the PC
- run atiwinflash under windows
- load this firmware http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/91574/ MSI.HD6950.2048.101220.html
- click program
- cross my fingers
- if the writing process works I reboot the computer and I check the features with GPU-z
- finally interrupt the connection 1-8
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#16
: 1-8 connection must be maintained throughout the entire procedure and stopped only at finished writing, right?
WRONG when you start the flash the wire needs to be connected WHEN the flash program "sees" the card [you won't get the 'card not found' error] you the 'break' the wire connection & finish the flash
read the PDF file here will help you to understand the process

"run atiwinflash under windows" if I were you i would preform the flash under DOS not Wimdows
 
Last edited:

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#17
I said under Windows because DOS now tells me "Adapter not found" with each command.
Only Atiwinflash under windows reads the card correctly.

ok I think I understand, but tomorrow I will read better everything, with a clear mind. In Italy it is 5 am ;)

goodnight and thanks

EDIT: maybe after connecting pin 1-8 even WinFlash will see the card in dos
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#18
Get some sleep you need a clear mind to work on this type of stuff ...will check back tommorrow
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#19
I have great news: the method "pin1-8" works! If you had trouble installing the firmware, the card is recognized by gpu-z, is not burned but is not recognized by DOS to force the flash, you must:
- Connect pins 1-8 with a temporarily wire (I made ​​2 tiny hooks at both ends of the wire and attached to the pins)
- Connect the 6950 card to the PC with a PCI card or a PCI-e in the primary slot for video
- Start winfalsh with DOS
- Type the command "atiflash-i" to identify the number of the adapter (WinFlash now will see the card)
- Cut the wire
- Type the command atiflash-f-p [num.adapter] [name of the original bios]. Bin
- Wait for the log of the program
- Restart following the procedure

Mission accomplished!

Thank you very much JrRacinFan and Frogger for the solution! THANKS GUYS!
 

Attachments

Last edited:

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#20
:rockout: Now what were you trying to accomplish?
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#21
I have great news: the method "pin1-8" works!
Mission accomplished!
Thank you very much JrRacinFan and Frogger for the solution! THANKS GUYS!
:toast:Great news :D Gald to see that you are back up!! ENJOY:rockout:
 

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#22
In the beginning I was trying to unlock the shaders of my MSi 6950.

Now, after having made her return to working with this procedure indicated by Frogger, I modified the original firmware of the card with RBE and I flash it again.

The shaders are unlocked and the card works perfectly!
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#23

Ottimo

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
13 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
#24
honestly? :) No, because many games were already at the maximum or nearly so.
I just did a test with 3dmark11 but I don't find the previous results.
(the components are not overcloked)

Overall Score P4542
Graphics Score P5090
Physics Score P3479
Combined Score P3369

I decided to make this change only to unlock the full potential of the card but it is already excellent

I try to install Battlefield 3 and see if it's even better ;)