• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sudden Issue with PayPal/SRWare Iron

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,541 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
So, SRWare Iron has been my web browser for quite a while now. I've used PayPal with it before plenty of times, but suddenly today, when I try to send someone money, I just get this nice rotating green circle forever:



I can still send money from the PayPal app on my phone, or from Edge. It just doesn't work in Iron (anymore, it used to). So far I've already tried updating Iron to the latest version, and disabling uBlock Origin while on PayPal. I have no other extensions installed.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
11,684 (2.98/day)
Likes
16,664
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#2
Since it is based on Chrome, have you by chance tried actual Chrome to see if that works?

I noticed on their Forum with friday’s update there are sporadic, singular problems such as WhatsApp not working (uninstall and reinstall of Iron fixed it), some eBay buttons not working, and apparently some yahoo mail buttons inop.

Nothing about PP.. maybe post on their forum or write their team? I do definitely recommend trying plain Chrome also.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,541 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
Maybe I will just to eliminate that possibility... however, I think it's unlikely. It appears that Iron, unlike Chrome, does not auto update. As I said in the OP, I tried updating Iron to the latest version. I had to do this manually by downloading and installing the newest version from their page. So, I don't think an update to the browser could have broke it, as the browser doesn't update itself.

-ed So Google Chrome worked. Then, I installed uBlock Origin, closed the browser, opened it again and tried again, and it still worked. The issue appears to be with Iron, somehow... though I am sure it worked before.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,531 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,641
Location
USA
#4
Maybe I will just to eliminate that possibility... however, I think it's unlikely. It appears that Iron, unlike Chrome, does not auto update. As I said in the OP, I tried updating Iron to the latest version. I had to do this manually by downloading and installing the newest version from their page. So, I don't think an update to the browser could have broke it, as the browser doesn't update itself.

-ed So Google Chrome worked. Then, I installed uBlock Origin, closed the browser, opened it again and tried again, and it still worked. The issue appears to be with Iron, somehow... though I am sure it worked before.
Iron is a very security focused fork of Chromium. It is possible that Paypal has changed part of their web code to do something Iran considers insecure and thus blocks it, or perhaps refuses to run the code being offered by the Paypal page in question. This is purely Paypal's problem. I just tried what you described in my installation of Iron and it seems to be doing something similar as my account page refuses to load completely. Firefox seems to be unaffected.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,541 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
Iron is a very security focused fork of Chromium. It is possible that Paypal has changed part of their web code to do something Iran considers insecure and thus blocks it, or perhaps refuses to run the code being offered by the Paypal page in question. This is purely Paypal's problem. I just tried what you described in my installation of Iron and it seems to be doing something similar as my account page refuses to load completely. Firefox seems to be unaffected.
That seems to be a reasonable explanation. I guess I'll use Edge if I have to use PayPal, then.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,531 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,641
Location
USA
#6
That seems to be a reasonable explanation. I guess I'll use Edge if I have to use PayPal, then.
Oh good grief is that ever not what I was implying. Use Firefox, it's much more trustworthy, even in it's default configuration.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,541 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#7
I'm not saying you were implying that. What I'm saying is I'd rather use Edge than Firefox for when I have to use PayPal, because Edge is already there. Firefox is another browser I'd have to set up and keep track of. Unless I switched from Iron to Firefox entirely. What's the point of having a secure browser if I can't use it?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
8,500 (5.06/day)
Likes
7,552
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#8
I'm not saying you were implying that. What I'm saying is I'd rather use Edge than Firefox for when I have to use PayPal, because Edge is already there. Firefox is another browser I'd have to set up and keep track of. Unless I switched from Iron to Firefox entirely. What's the point of having a secure browser if I can't use it?
Switch to FF, because Edge > Chromium as well.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
5,173 (1.11/day)
Likes
3,480
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#9
So, SRWare Iron has been my web browser for quite a while now. I've used PayPal with it before plenty of times, but suddenly today, when I try to send someone money, I just get this nice rotating green circle forever:
FWIW, I got the same thing yesterday with Pale Moon (a forked version of FF). I had to switch to Chrome and that worked just fine.

But I notice it seems to be working today with Pale Moon so it might just have been a temporary glitch.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
5,531 (2.61/day)
Likes
3,641
Location
USA
#10
I'm not saying you were implying that.
Sorry, no offense intended.
FWIW, I got the same thing yesterday with Pale Moon (a forked version of FF). I had to switch to Chrome and that worked just fine.
But I notice it seems to be working today with Pale Moon so it might just have been a temporary glitch.
I also logged in this morning with Iron and the problem seems to be gone. Looks like it was a Paypal problem which they seem to have sorted out.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,541 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11
Sorry, no offense intended.
None taken. You'd have to try harder than that. ;)

I also logged in this morning with Iron and the problem seems to be gone. Looks like it was a Paypal problem which they seem to have sorted out.
I tried after I saw Bill's post, got the same thing. I'll try again in a few and see what happens.
 
Top