1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Suggest a board please?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Ev1LrYu, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Hi all,

    I am looking for the most affordable board which meets the following criteria:
    1.) Xfire enabled (8x 8x or better)
    2.) ddr2 (wanna reuse my OCZ Gold 800)
    3.) has acc/ucc (my a2 x3 440 is unlockable)

    tentative budget is ~$100

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Maximus Formula X38

    This is the board that I use which complies with all of the above.

    I paid 150 GBP for it around 3 years ago....
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,510 (6.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,007
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Mat cat, your understand that you posted a suggestion for a 775board right? He needs an AMD,

    :banghead:
    :shadedshu
    :rolleyes:
    :nutkick:
    :twitch:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,560 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Asus M4A79 DELUXE

    MSI DKA790GX Platinum
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    this MSI 790XT-G45

    but idk if you can unlock with it

    why so serious.....its just a matter of will and force :roll:

    see if you can find a used M4A79 Deluxe, or DFI Lanparty DK 790FXB-M2RSH
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Going to be posting a few boards for sale soon Ev1lrYu. If you can wait a few more days....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Hi All,

    Thanks much for all the suggestions.. I should have posted it here a couple of days ago, but I was able to get a freebie board (EMAXX 790GX-XTRM). Didn't meet all the req's (specifically unlocking by default -- site has a bios update though), but it is kinda hard to beat free ;)

    I am guessing that most of you guys have not heard of the manufacturer (OEM is JWtech) but they've been available in my country for quite a while, and at the very least I can say their boards are durable my first pc had an emaxx board, still running after 3 years :p

    Trying to see if I can sell it though.. If not then might as well use it and put the cash saved (from buying a new board) towards a 6870 instead :D
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that looks sexy :D
     
  9. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    yeah am diggin the black.. i just really wish it had the unlocking feature out of the box :p

    Never flashed bios before, their site gives tools for both windows and dos. Anyone know how I can flash using a USB Thumbdrive? I've installed win7 using my fdd, dun know how to make it a bootable dos 'disk' though
     
  10. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    From a USB drive? AFAIK there should be a flash feature in the BIOS if using a USB drive is possible.
     
  11. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Cool! I'll prolly have some time this weekend to install and play with it! Wish me luck
     
  12. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I don't say it's possible that way, I know that both Asus and MSI offer that method for quite a while, and ASRock is slowly but steadily implementing it as well in their motherboards. Others usually don't have that feature as it is still pretty new. So if you are lucky you can do it that way, put there is no guarantee that the ability is there. But you will see yourself.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)