• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Super Desktop, Inferior Game Running :(

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#76
Niv
Your motherboard has an integrated GPU. Are you sure you have the monitor plugged into the actual video card (8600GT), not into the motherboard?
if that was the case he'd have no video output. Also, note that he mentions high FPS that then dips, he'd be low all around on the onboard. His hitching also occurs in 2D, meaning that the video card is most likely unrelated.


So that it doesnt get lost Niv, can you please check the power option i mentioned. A friend recently had a similar problem, although his was in vista - BIOS and windows have options to turn off HDD's after an idle period, and his system was freezing temporarily due to the drives turning on and off.
 

Niv

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz (4CPUs)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Memory Dual OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (PC2 6400)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case Rosewill R6423-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-500ES 500W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)
Benchmark Scores Great Desktop, Game Problems.
#77
I can't find the power option in the device manager section, only these ones are listed instead:
Computer
Disk drives
Diplay adapters
DVD/CD-ROM drives
Floppy disk controllrs
flppy disk drives
Human Interface DeicesIDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
Keybards
Mice and other pointing devices
Monitors
Network adapters
NVIDIA NtworkBus Enumerator
Ports (COM&LPT)
Processors
Sound, video and game controllers
System devices
Universal Serial Bus controllers
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#78
I can't find the power option in the device manager section, only these ones are listed instead:
Computer
Disk drives
Diplay adapters
DVD/CD-ROM drives
Floppy disk controllrs
flppy disk drives
Human Interface DeicesIDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
Keybards
Mice and other pointing devices
Monitors
Network adapters
NVIDIA NtworkBus Enumerator
Ports (COM&LPT)
Processors
Sound, video and game controllers
System devices
Universal Serial Bus controllers
its in the control panel, not device manager. thats my bad, i said it wrong in the post.
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.41/day)
Likes
338
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
#79
it says "Nvidia Geforce7050PV/nForce 60a Chipset Support CD Rev.407.01", my video card is Nvidia e-GeForce8200 GT

Your spec says you have an 8600 GT not an e-GeForce8200 GT, is the "e-Geforce8200 GT" the integrated card?


perhaps my video card is too much for my mother board to handle?
No such thing either your card is PCI-E compatible or not and it is. The 8200/8600 series aren't exactly the most powerful cards (actually pretty weak) any below average motherboard and PSU should "handle" it well.



I think your PC dealer is making excuses Windows XP Media Center is a good operating system, maybe not the best for gaming but it wouldn't pose you any problems. If your within warranty have your dealer replace the system free of charge.
 

Niv

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz (4CPUs)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Memory Dual OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (PC2 6400)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case Rosewill R6423-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-500ES 500W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)
Benchmark Scores Great Desktop, Game Problems.
#80
sorry it's a typo not e-GeForce8200 GT but this is what I hav instead for video card e-GeForce8600 GT

checked power contorl. it says "never".
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#81
sorry it's a typo not e-GeForce8200 GT but this is what I hav instead for video card e-GeForce8600 GT

checked power contorl. it says "never".
well for once i am going to admit defeat. I seriously have no idea what could be causing this. if you do solve it, please make sure to let us know - its not often i get totally stumped, and i'd really like to know what to do if i run into this again.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#82
I can't think of any suggestions, that haven't been given already.
This really is confusing, but I would like to say (I might have missed someone else saying it, sorry if I did), SYSTEM and SYSTEM IDLE PROCESS shouldn't worry you, they'll spike up when needed.
http://www.neuber.com/taskmanager/process/system .html
There's nothing to worry about there.

Somke motherboards react differently with on-board and discrete graphics boards, so if the on-board IS enabled, it may be taking precedence over the discrete. Really just double-check the connections to the card, and the BIOS, to make sure it's disabled.
Might be worth checking out GPU-Z as well, give us the clock speeds it's running (who knows, may be underclocked for some reason), and jsut as a double-check it's running off the 8600.
Oh, and it wouldn't necesarilly be running slow off the on-board. Certainly would account for the lagging though, since the 7050 shares system RAM, so maybe it's accessing it, and slowing the computer. Although with 4Gigs, that may not be the case.

Isn't there a way for his RAM to be fully accessible? Thought there were options built-in that would allow the computer to recognise all of the RAM.
 

Niv

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz (4CPUs)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Memory Dual OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (PC2 6400)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case Rosewill R6423-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-500ES 500W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)
Benchmark Scores Great Desktop, Game Problems.
#83
well thanks for the tons of input. What I will do tomorrow/today (5:00am right now) is I will call the shop keeper to let him know of the problem, and I will send the machine in asking for a better mother board in exchage for the trouble he has caused me and the old piece of crap motherboard (brand new but still crap)

Ripper3, I'm a computer idiot, this is my first Desktop ever owned, used and purchased in my life. I don't know half the things you are talking about there. If you wouldn't mind can you explain those in layman's term so that I can understand or at least know what to do to perform the things you're talking about?

Lastly, can you guys give me some inputs on how good a deal it is for this desktop, if it's priced at 930 and purchased at 850 CDN? (purchased 1 month + 1 week ago) Thanks, any opinions are great, don't worry about making me feel bad for buying crap at ripped off prices. :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#84
he's talking about onboard video, fighting the dedicated card for resources. its rare, but its possible. Turning the onboard video off in the bios would fix any issues if that was the problem.

If you bought that for $850 with no screen, i'd say you got ripped. the CPU is great, the rest is only midrange at best.

If you can, next time build your own rig - we'll gladly help you out here.
 

Niv

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz (4CPUs)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Memory Dual OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (PC2 6400)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case Rosewill R6423-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-500ES 500W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)
Benchmark Scores Great Desktop, Game Problems.
#85
oh yeah forgot to add, that includes a 19" plasma wide screen
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#86
oh yeah forgot to add, that includes a 19" plasma wide screen
LCD? plasma and LCD are quite different.

thats not so bad then.

Prices have been dropping steadily here in aus recently, $900 for a tower would get me a core 2 duo system with 4GB ram, a 9600GT, 500GB HDD and a brand-name case and PSU (probably antec)
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#87
Sorry, my posts are normally a bunch of crap mixed together, and replying to different posts at different times.

Your system has discrete and on-board graphics, so it's got the GeForce 7050, which explains the drivers on the disc, and it has the 8600GT as discrete.
If the on-board graphics are enabled in the motherboard's BIOS, and you have the monitor plugged into the motherboard's video output, then the system could be using the on-board instead of the discrete.
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?modelmenu=1&model=1841&l1=3&l2=101&l3=567&l4=0
Check the picture near the bottom of that link, labelled Back Panel I/O Ports. If the monitor is plugged into the blue or white connector there, then it's connected to the wrong ports (again, sorry if you've tried this and I missed it).
If it is, then change the connector. The ones for the 8600 will be lower down on the back of the case, since it's a tower.

Linky for GPU-Z
http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/
Just run it, and see what it shows up. If it displays information about the Geforce 7050, it's running on-board graphics for sure.
Oh and while at it, run a game, it has a temperature readout in the program, and should show the temperature of your graphics card.
 

Niv

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz (4CPUs)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Memory Dual OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (PC2 6400)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case Rosewill R6423-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-500ES 500W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)
Benchmark Scores Great Desktop, Game Problems.
#88
k, some more infos for you guys:

I have 2 gif files from the GPU.exe:

I also have 4 jpeg files from my task manager labeling what I see before and during the lag.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#89
That's fine, it's using the 8600GT, and the temperatures are safe.
That is peculiar, when Caesar IV dips in CPU usage.
System Idle process is fine though, it's just showing the amount of CPU time that's not currently in use, so it seems the game just suddenly stops for some reason.

You're not the only person that has trouble with Caesar IV and an Athlon X2: http://www.amazon.com/review/R1BEW3EV40P76Y/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm&tag=tec06d-20
The Athlon patch and installing all MS updates fixed it for him.
I'll check about trouble including 8-series cards.
 

Niv

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
112 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4GHz (4CPUs)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler
Memory Dual OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (PC2 6400)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case Rosewill R6423-P BK ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-500ES 500W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 Power Supply
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)
Benchmark Scores Great Desktop, Game Problems.
#90
mind you this happens for ALL my other games: Voyage Century Online, Warhammer 40,000 - Dark Crusade.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#91
True, almost forgot about that, but since you had Caesar IV open, tried to find info about problems involving Caesar.

I almost get the feeling that the OS might be the problem. Can MCE2002 be updated to 2005, or are they too different, and require different licenses?
I'd say, if you take it back to them, ask for a different OS, even if it's just for testing, I'd ask for plain old XP Home/Pro. See if the problems go away.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#92
True, almost forgot about that, but since you had Caesar IV open, tried to find info about problems involving Caesar.

I almost get the feeling that the OS might be the problem. Can MCE2002 be updated to 2005, or are they too different, and require different licenses?
I'd say, if you take it back to them, ask for a different OS, even if it's just for testing, I'd ask for plain old XP Home/Pro. See if the problems go away.
he said earlier he went back to XP SP2, same problem.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#93
Woops sorry. My mistake, then.

It is peculiar. I guess you should probably just take it back, and see what they tell you. And if they say they can't find a fault, I'd force them to try again, and show them the game performance, since they may sometimes not find anything wrong with it, or do, and try to pass it off as working.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.63/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#94
my money is its due to the 86gt being a poor card (sry bro but it is) the rest of your setup is ok and should do well in most games if you had more gpu power.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,050 (0.27/day)
Likes
114
Location
indiana
Processor c2d e8400@ 3.8ghz 24/7
Motherboard Abit IP-35e 80$ lol
Cooling zalman cnps9700 led
Memory 2 x 2 gig patriot viper
Video Card(s) evga Gtx 285 oc
Storage 2 x 300gig sata seagate 7200.10 in raid 0/ 1.5TB for backup
Display(s) acer 24" TFT LCD AL2416WBSD
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply ocz gamextreme 700w
Software windows 7 ultimate
#95
Have you tried updating the chipset drivers? :confused:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,205 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,693
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#96
my money is its due to the 86gt being a poor card (sry bro but it is) the rest of your setup is ok and should do well in most games if you had more gpu power.
thats completely irrelevant, and to be honest quite poor thinking. you think an 8600GT isnt enough for civ IV? How does a poor card explain the CPU spiking??

I know that this problem is hard to narrow down, but wild guesses help no one.

The only new thing i can think of, is the BIOS version on the system. tried updating the latest one on the motherboard? (has this already been suggested?)
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#97
The 8600 series isn't THAT poor. My GTS could handle pretty much anything I threw at it, so think before you immediately put something down.
Meanwhile, Caesar IV wouldn't slow it down to that effect, it would be getting a consistently low FPS if that was the case, but it jsut freezes and lags every few seconds, that suggests a completely different problem.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,540 (0.41/day)
Likes
173
System Name :3
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 3ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard
Cooling cm 212 EVO
Memory G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model
Video Card(s) BFG GTX 275
Storage WD black 500gb Samsung 1tb
Display(s) 27" 1366x768 Olevia 527v
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ALC889
Power Supply CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Ac
Software Windows 8 pro
#99
get process explorer, and load it

view, select columns, process performance tab, check CPU History.

view, check show new processes

let this run for a while, while your playing things, watch for it to slow down then get outa the game and look in it, in the little graphs, these graphs to the right of each process show each processes cpu useage history, im hopeing you can figure out what to do from here
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2007
Messages
7,043 (1.83/day)
Likes
863
Location
Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
System Name УльтраФиолет
Processor Intel Kentsfield Q9650 @ 3.8GHz (4.2GHz highest achieved)
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe/WiFi; X38 NSB, ICH9R SSB
Cooling Delta V3 block, XPSC res, 120x3 rad, ST 1/2" pump - 10 fans, SYSTRIN HDD cooler, Antec HDD cooler
Memory Dual channel 8GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 @ 1800MHz @ 7-7-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) Quadfire: (2) Sapphire HD5970
Storage (2) WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA-300; WD 320GB SATA-300; WD 200GB UATA + WD 160GB UATA
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster T240 24" (16:10)
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E x1
Power Supply Kingwin Mach1 1200W modular
Software Windows XP Home SP3; Vista Ultimate x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3m06: 20270 here: http://hwbot.org/user.do?userId=12313
just a thought, and not sure if it's been mentioned as I just skimmed over this thread . . .


but have you turned off WIN self-defragging and HDD indexing? Both XP and Vista are set at default to defrag the hard drives, and index the files and folders when the HDDs are at an idle state, and WIN doesn't seem to pay if you're playing a game or using some other application.




Another thought - what kind of FPS are we talking about here, you could use FRAPS program to monitor FPS in-game. I'm kind getting the feeling, though, the slowness you're speaking of is really just loading stutter (seeing as how you say games run fast, then really slow, and then fast again). You could try to reduce in game details just a bit (like lower texture quality or something), and see if improves the slowness issue at all.