• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SW Power Cap GTX1080

Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
How do I remove this cap that gets flagged when I load GPU?
I've done a fresh Win10 install, flashed GPU BIOS using nvflash64 in the OS. Changed PCIe cable.

What else is there to try? My card wont boost past 800Mhz with 3dmark loaded or any games I play.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,181 (5.84/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I believe you need a so called shunt mod for this. If you are ready to throw the card away, by all means google it :)

There are no software hacks as far as I know. These GPUs are indeed power locked and limited. For good reasons mostly.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
I believe you need a so called shunt mod for this. If you are ready to throw the card away, by all means google it :)

There are no software hacks as far as I know. These GPUs are indeed power locked and limited. For good reasons mostly.
My card won't boost past 800mhz...OP updated
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,181 (5.84/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
My card won't boost past 800mhz...OP updated
Nice so you already bricked it! This is not how the card is delivered and bios flashing is generally counter productive.

Flash it back to a working bios and stop screwing around...
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
999 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
You can't BIOS flash Pascal cards with modified BIOS, ONLY official releases will work, and those in 99% of the cases won't solve this problem (which is hardware based).

I guess it may be the result of shunt resistor damage (do you get "Pwr" in GPU-z as perf limit reason, when you try doing something ?).
If so, disassemble the card and check resistance on all shunts.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
You can't BIOS flash Pascal cards with modified BIOS, ONLY official releases will work, and those in 99% of the cases won't solve this problem (which is hardware based).

I guess it may be the result of shunt resistor damage (do you get "Pwr" in GPU-z as perf limit reason, when you try doing something ?).
If so, disassemble the card and check resistance on all shunts.
Thanks, I'll try that. It does show pwr on GPU-z too.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,034 (4.05/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
It's a hardware problem, can't be fixed as far as I know.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,078 (5.10/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Install MSI Afterburner and try turning up the Power Limit. It probably won't fully fix the problem, but it should at least make it better.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
123 (0.22/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I9 9900k@5.1GHz (Naked, Conductonaut on bare core)
Motherboard Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom wc (2xThermochill PA360 rads, 2xDDC-1 pumps in series, Alphacool NexXxoS GPX, EK Supremacy)
Memory 4x8Gb G.Skill PC3600CL15@3900CL15
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti mining farm salvage (2100/1500, xoc BIOS, no powerlimit, 1.200Vgpu)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 840Pro 256GB, Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50 144Hz VA
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10, Win7, Server 2016
You should not try this on your card (!), at least not before you have fixed the issue(s) triggering your power limit, as this will remove the protection saving your card from potentially burning up. And if it's air cooled, you should not try it at all, as the card will not throttle and protect itself as normal. I also believe this has pretty much made the shunt mod obsolete.

But I just wanted to mention that there are XOC bioses for some of the Pascal cards (Asus Strix models, but works on some other cards too) that removes the power limit entirely, and also unlocks Vgpu all the way up to 1.200V. These BIOS'es are leaked versions meant for extreme overclocking (LN2). I use a XOC bios on my water cooled Palit 1080ti, and at 1.200V and 2150MHz, it can easily pull up to 450Watts, too much for air cooling, and probably also getting up there considering the power delivery to the card itself. Just wanted to mention it as an alternative to the shunt mod, which is also dangerous. But I mean, if you have a fire extinguisher besides you, and are prepared to lose all your gear...:fear:

onxoc.PNGsmi.png
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
How do I remove this cap that gets flagged when I load GPU?
I've done a fresh Win10 install, flashed GPU BIOS using nvflash64 in the OS. Changed PCIe cable.

What else is there to try? My card wont boost past 800Mhz with 3dmark loaded or any games I play.
Get the original bios back on the card and get the bios link from the vga bios collection by attempting to upload your bios through gpu-z and white sticker pictures from your card. I will help you try and find a bios with a higher power limit.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
You should not try this on your card (!), at least not before you have fixed the issue(s) triggering your power limit, as this will remove the protection saving your card from potentially burning up. And if it's air cooled, you should not try it at all, as the card will not throttle and protect itself as normal. I also believe this has pretty much made the shunt mod obsolete.

But I just wanted to mention that there are XOC bioses for some of the Pascal cards (Asus Strix models, but works on some other cards too) that removes the power limit entirely, and also unlocks Vgpu all the way up to 1.200V. These BIOS'es are leaked versions meant for extreme overclocking (LN2). I use a XOC bios on my water cooled Palit 1080ti, and at 1.200V and 2150MHz, it can easily pull up to 450Watts, too much for air cooling, and probably also getting up there considering the power delivery to the card itself. Just wanted to mention it as an alternative to the shunt mod, which is also dangerous. But I mean, if you have a fire extinguisher besides you, and are prepared to lose all your gear...:fear:

View attachment 148892View attachment 148894
Lool @extinguisher. My card is on a waterblock. If I can't get it fixed, I do some experiments with the XOC BIOS.

Get the original bios back on the card and get the bios link from the vga bios collection by attempting to upload your bios through gpu-z and white sticker pictures from your card. I will help you try and find a bios with a higher power limit.
I don't understand "white sticker pictures". My card uses a waterblock and backplate now and I'm not sure I remember seeing some white stickers 4 years ago. Should I still attempt uploading BIOS using GPU-z?

Install MSI Afterburner and try turning up the Power Limit. It probably won't fully fix the problem, but it should at least make it better.
Tried, no luck
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Lool @extinguisher. My card is on a waterblock. If I can't get it fixed, I do some experiments with the XOC BIOS.


I don't understand "white sticker pictures". My card uses a waterblock and backplate now and I'm not sure I remember seeing some white stickers 4 years ago. Should I still attempt uploading BIOS using GPU-z?


Tried, no luck
The card has stickers on back of card take pics of those, otherwise get the link to your original bios
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
My original BIOS validation

Ok so you have a FE board.

I would try these bios for now see how the card handles the performance (make sure it boosts up to those speeds continuously)



If you want to push further look at this info in each file and make sure it is there

Connectors
1x DVI-D
1x HDMI
3x DisplayPort

Board power limit (make sure it isn't too high, we are starting you off with 230W and 250W, some go as high as 350W but they were built to handle that load, FE is reference) if you want to experiment-test them and if no good put a lower power bios back on.

Look at the Clock speeds too.

These are verified files that match your cards dev ID and SSID.

Unverified list
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
123 (0.22/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I9 9900k@5.1GHz (Naked, Conductonaut on bare core)
Motherboard Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom wc (2xThermochill PA360 rads, 2xDDC-1 pumps in series, Alphacool NexXxoS GPX, EK Supremacy)
Memory 4x8Gb G.Skill PC3600CL15@3900CL15
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti mining farm salvage (2100/1500, xoc BIOS, no powerlimit, 1.200Vgpu)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 840Pro 256GB, Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50 144Hz VA
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10, Win7, Server 2016
Was the card ever shunt modded? I know some of those modded cards failed due to the use of liquid metal to alter the resistance of the current sense resistors, which led to the liquid metal softening the solder points of the resistors. If you got it second hand, I would inspect those, as it could easily mess up the power draw readings for your card.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Was the card ever shunt modded? I know some of those modded cards failed due to the use of liquid metal to alter the resistance of the shunt resistors, which led to the liquid metal softening the solder points on the shunt resistors. If you got it second hand, I would inspect those, as it could easily mess up the power draw readings for your card.
I doubt it has.

Shunt means parallel btw.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
123 (0.22/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I9 9900k@5.1GHz (Naked, Conductonaut on bare core)
Motherboard Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom wc (2xThermochill PA360 rads, 2xDDC-1 pumps in series, Alphacool NexXxoS GPX, EK Supremacy)
Memory 4x8Gb G.Skill PC3600CL15@3900CL15
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti mining farm salvage (2100/1500, xoc BIOS, no powerlimit, 1.200Vgpu)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 840Pro 256GB, Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50 144Hz VA
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10, Win7, Server 2016
I remember watching this video a while back regarding the shunt mod, and it was kinda funny as he initially thought it was nvidias fault for using bad solder :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.45/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I remember watching this video a while back regarding the shunt mod, and it was kinda funny as he initially thought it was nvidias fault for using bad solder :)
Anyways this guy hasn't been back on recently so carry on lol
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
Ok so you have a FE board.

I would try these bios for now see how the card handles the performance (make sure it boosts up to those speeds continuously)



If you want to push further look at this info in each file and make sure it is there

Connectors
1x DVI-D
1x HDMI
3x DisplayPort

Board power limit (make sure it isn't too high, we are starting you off with 230W and 250W, some go as high as 350W but they were built to handle that load, FE is reference) if you want to experiment-test them and if no good put a lower power bios back on.

Look at the Clock speeds too.

These are verified files that match your cards dev ID and SSID.

Unverified list
I'll give this a try. Thanks

Was the card ever shunt modded? I know some of those modded cards failed due to the use of liquid metal to alter the resistance of the current sense resistors, which led to the liquid metal softening the solder points of the resistors. If you got it second hand, I would inspect those, as it could easily mess up the power draw readings for your card.
I got it used in 2017. I've had a look online re: shunt mod, checked shunt resistor, no signs.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
Soooooo. I poked my shunt resistor and it fell off

You should not try this on your card (!), at least not before you have fixed the issue(s) triggering your power limit, as this will remove the protection saving your card from potentially burning up. And if it's air cooled, you should not try it at all, as the card will not throttle and protect itself as normal. I also believe this has pretty much made the shunt mod obsolete.

But I just wanted to mention that there are XOC bioses for some of the Pascal cards (Asus Strix models, but works on some other cards too) that removes the power limit entirely, and also unlocks Vgpu all the way up to 1.200V. These BIOS'es are leaked versions meant for extreme overclocking (LN2). I use a XOC bios on my water cooled Palit 1080ti, and at 1.200V and 2150MHz, it can easily pull up to 450Watts, too much for air cooling, and probably also getting up there considering the power delivery to the card itself. Just wanted to mention it as an alternative to the shunt mod, which is also dangerous. But I mean, if you have a fire extinguisher besides you, and are prepared to lose all your gear...:fear:

View attachment 148892View attachment 148894
You seem to have replaced your shunt completely or have zero ohms across it. Your power draw is soo low for that clockspeed.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
123 (0.22/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I9 9900k@5.1GHz (Naked, Conductonaut on bare core)
Motherboard Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom wc (2xThermochill PA360 rads, 2xDDC-1 pumps in series, Alphacool NexXxoS GPX, EK Supremacy)
Memory 4x8Gb G.Skill PC3600CL15@3900CL15
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti mining farm salvage (2100/1500, xoc BIOS, no powerlimit, 1.200Vgpu)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 840Pro 256GB, Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50 144Hz VA
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10, Win7, Server 2016
Soooooo. I poked my shunt resistor and it fell off
So it was likely shunt modded with liquid metal at some point? As in the video I linked a few posts up?

You seem to have replaced your shunt completely or have zero ohms across it. Your power draw is soo low for that clockspeed.
What power draw reading are you referring to? My card is stock, only water block and XOC bios added. MSI Kombustor is fairly light load wise, here's a quick run and it's at 360Watts plus according to HWiNFO64:

Capture.PNG
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
So it was likely shunt modded with liquid metal at some point? As in the video I linked a few posts up?



What power draw reading are you referring to? My card is stock, only water block and XOC bios added. MSI Kombustor is fairly light load wise, here's a quick run and it's at 360Watts plus according to HWiNFO64:
The number in the cmd window but I guess thats wrong
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
123 (0.22/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I9 9900k@5.1GHz (Naked, Conductonaut on bare core)
Motherboard Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom wc (2xThermochill PA360 rads, 2xDDC-1 pumps in series, Alphacool NexXxoS GPX, EK Supremacy)
Memory 4x8Gb G.Skill PC3600CL15@3900CL15
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti mining farm salvage (2100/1500, xoc BIOS, no powerlimit, 1.200Vgpu)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 840Pro 256GB, Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50 144Hz VA
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10, Win7, Server 2016
I often lock my clocks at max in Afterburner, so they don't clock down when idle, so that nvidia-smi report reading was at idle and max clocks, sorry for the confusion :)

Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
225 (0.14/day)
Location
Manchester, UK
System Name Full LC'd Node 202 || Asus X202e
Processor i7-7700K || i3-2365M
Motherboard Asus Z270I || HM76 int.
Cooling Full Custom Loop|| Stock
Memory Hyper Fury DDR4 32GB || 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE || HD3000
Storage 950 Pro M.2 +WD 2TB M.2 SSD || Sandisk 256 SSD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Fractal Node 202
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Logitech G502 ||Asus WT710
Keyboard Logitech G410 || Logitech K830
Software Windows 10 Pro
I often lock my clocks at max in Afterburner, so they don't clock down when idle, so that nvidia-smi report reading was at idle and max clocks, sorry for the confusion :)

View attachment 149524
Ah I see where the confusion was, thanks for clarifying.

Interesting v/f curve. Did you adjust that or did that come with the xoc BIOS? Nice result you've got there. Do you run this OC 24/7?

I've resulted in using a piece of thick solder to bridge the contacts of the shunt resistor. the resistor fell off when I poked it.

So, for now, it boosts up to 1936mhz but only downclocks to 1151mhz.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
123 (0.22/day)
System Name 24/7 setup
Processor Intel I9 9900k@5.1GHz (Naked, Conductonaut on bare core)
Motherboard Gigabyte z390 Aorus Pro
Cooling Custom wc (2xThermochill PA360 rads, 2xDDC-1 pumps in series, Alphacool NexXxoS GPX, EK Supremacy)
Memory 4x8Gb G.Skill PC3600CL15@3900CL15
Video Card(s) Palit Jetstream 1080ti mining farm salvage (2100/1500, xoc BIOS, no powerlimit, 1.200Vgpu)
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500GB, Samsung 840Pro 256GB, Samsung 860Evo 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 27" LED C27JG50 144Hz VA
Case Lian Li PC343B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G Pro
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10, Win7, Server 2016
Thanks :) It's very stable at 2150, but I usually run it at 2100 because I prefer stability over performance. The curve is manually edited, it only takes a few minutes to make one. You probably know this but shift and arrow keys are your friends, L to lock card to a selected node, remember to apply afterwards. The XOC bios have some lower nodes on the curve that I suspect aren't stable on my card, I had a couple of glitches playing youtube videos (card clocks to 1500MHz range) and such, so I dropped the entire curve 50MHz for those lower speeds just to be sure. A bit like that super stable CPU overclock that passes anything you throw at it, only to fail miserably and freezing while opening chrome :wtf:


Crazy clocks for 0.875V? Is it stable at 1936MHz? And that downclock seems strange? What does the curve look like? The card is now shunt modded and on XOC bios? Is it only partially shunt modded? as I believe there are 3 current sense resistors (one for each PCI-E power plug and one for the PCIe slot). Personally I would solder the resistor back on if possible, but I guess the amount of current going through it requires a good solder, so it might be hard to do...
 
Top