1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Switching to AMD

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by leemerlord, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    hello all, im really considering switching to AMD and would like alll your input and opions on what type of cpu and mobo i should get. im new to AMD so i dont know the best for overclokcing or gaming, but thats the cpu i want and a great motherboard to go with it :) all help would be greatly thanked! :rockout:
     
  2. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    1. a budget

    2. what will be the main use of it?

    3. what will you be using from your old rig
     
  3. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    budget: for both cpu and mobo id like it to be under $300

    ill be using it for gaming

    and ill be using my DDR2 800MHz ram ocz 8500way psu ati xfx radeon HD 5670
     
  4. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    Why not just get another Intel cpu? It doesn't really make sense in my mind to switch to AMD with a cpu and board when you could just upgrade your cpu on your current platform.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    i hear alot of good stuff from my friends about amd. just wanted to give them a try. id like to go for an i7 but i dont have that kind of $
     
  6. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
    Welcome to the world of AMD...:rockout:
     
  7. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    haha im not there yet my friend
     
  8. segalaw19800

    segalaw19800

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    381 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Lost in space
  9. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
  10. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, looks like a good deal.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,034 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,279
    Location:
    IA, USA
    You'd be much better off getting a LGA775 quad-core.

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83 GHz 12MB L2 for $260


    That processor would be faster than the Phenom II X4 940 BE 95% of the time and consume less power (95w vs 125w) doing it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    he should be able to get a used q9xx for 150$max
     
  13. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    You mean that AMD has good price to performance ratio or what? An i5 at 2.66GHz runs with a Phenom II at 3.4GHz and only costs a handful of dollars more for a kit.

    I agree with everyone else telling you to put a better 775 processor on your system. An E8400 or Q9000 series processor will run any graphics card about as fast as it can go. Then get a 5800 series ATI card. You're set.

    If you're thinking that a new CPU will squeeze performance out of your 5600 series card, it won't, the 5600 series is weak.
     
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,436 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,932
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This is right! if your current motherboard supports this CPU i would get it and save money
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Loosenut

    Loosenut

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    937 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    Granby, Qc. Canada
  16. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah... get the Q9550. It will be a lot easier on you. If you switch to AMD, you'll be getting less peformance than this, and you'll have to pretty much rebuild your system and reinstall your operating system... not fun.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    +1 for Q9550 ...
     
  18. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    he should get a used one though, think its stupid to buy it from new.

    and then get a nice cooler and oc that thing
     
  19. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I would look on the BST section to see if anyone is selling one or something similar.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I would stick to intel. And maybe upgrade the GPU to a 5770.
     
  21. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    oh ok haha thanks that would save me alot of money
     
  22. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,219 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Ohio
    Heh. I would have loved to have an Intel setup, but my uncle got me started on AMD when he gave me a bunch of parts. I do have money to move to Intel, but it just doesn't make sense to spend $200-$300 to move to a new platform when I could spend $100 on an AMD quad core.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,999 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    470
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    All the OP needs to do is get a 945 C3 then it is 95W vs 95W ;)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103809&cm_re=945-_-19-103-809-_-Product

    Moreover, the 955BE is just $9 more and is well worth it.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808&cm_re=955-_-19-103-808-_-Product

    Right now the price of the 5830 is simply too high for the 10% improvement over a 5770. :ohwell:
    I say it is a better idea to grab a 5770 instead.

    For the OP:
    Grab this XFX if you don't overclock

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150462&cm_re=5770-_-14-150-462-_-Product

    Or grab this MSI if you do overclock video cards
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127484&cm_re=5770-_-14-127-484-_-Product
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2010
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    If you want to go AMD you should get a DDR3 CPU and motherboard. A good combo would be the following.

    AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz $160
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...03674&cm_re=Socket_AM3-_-19-103-674-_-Product
    MSI 790X-G45 AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard $100
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130249&cm_re=MSI_AM3-_-13-130-249-_-Product
    OCZ AMD Black Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) $125
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...0227496&cm_re=OCZ_DDR3-_-20-227-496-_-Product
    XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 $155
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150462&cm_re=HD_5770-_-14-150-462-_-Product

    CPU and mobo = $260
    DDR3 and HD 5770 = $280 (If you have little more money I would get the HD 5830 :) I hear its a Fermi killer :rolleyes: )
    Total = $540 not bad, and good for gaming too. You can always get another HD 5770 later on for crossfire ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)