• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Switching to Linux... tips?

Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#26
I love customizing linux for different purposes. I have tried a linux router distro it was fun. I also tested a lean, mean home theater machine setup as well. Played videos really fast and good on only a P3 machine! (1.0GHz, 512MB RAM 200GB HD Geforce 5 GPU) Tried the same with xp MCE and it would chop a lot specially with HD. I was happy to bring new life into an older system.
Those are all awesome things to try... But if your new to linux, like i am.. i think the best possible thing you can do is do it on your own. I started with ubuntu server and LAMP... i knew nothing, by the end of the first day of tinkering i had ampache going(btw my flash player still doesn't work in the browser if anybody has a clue??), it's an awesome music streaming platform that easily hosts some 200000 of my songs at the moment. then it was the apache server, i created a basic joomla site that gave me access to all of my servers webmin/ssh/telnet/pix information so i didn't have to remember them all. i go to the site(can't show you cause i don't need it hacked) type in my credentials(.htacces ftw) and bam, access to all server tools(limited cause i'm still an IT nub).

The router i did from scratch as well. You could dl a prebuilt, but your not really learning all the nitty gritty. I moved 40 joomla sites.. it took 20 of them for me to learn about permissions and the difference between 777,644,755.. who would've knew what those meant just by looking, next was virtual hosts... i always thought a website had 1 server... how stupid of me lol, my linux server at work now has 40 sites on 1 BOX!!!! ZOMG!!!


I'm just saying, if you prebuild a distro, you basically won't learn much, i could've gotten some decent prebuilt stuff, even with ubuntu i could've just chosen lamp at the installer.. i chose not so i could learn how to install them, "apt-get" ftw and it's easier than windows lol, and also to learn where things go.. i was backing up all my mysql databases in phpmyadmin.. when i had an ftp link where i could just move the files directly and be done with it.

Sorry bout the long post, and i'm definately not bashing you, my new exposure to linux has gotten me seriously facinated in not just the linux community, but IT in general, i found myself asking my boss to let me do some of the active directory work because it's a good skill to have, and i'm learning some php which i find to be a friggon diesel language, just a beast for web.

my 2cents over
root@localhost: shutdown -time now -h
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#27
Those are all awesome things to try... But if your new to linux, like i am.. i think the best possible thing you can do is do it on your own. I started with ubuntu server and LAMP... i knew nothing, by the end of the first day of tinkering i had ampache going(btw my flash player still doesn't work in the browser if anybody has a clue??), it's an awesome music streaming platform that easily hosts some 200000 of my songs at the moment. then it was the apache server, i created a basic joomla site that gave me access to all of my servers webmin/ssh/telnet/pix information so i didn't have to remember them all. i go to the site(can't show you cause i don't need it hacked) type in my credentials(.htacces ftw) and bam, access to all server tools(limited cause i'm still an IT nub).

The router i did from scratch as well. You could dl a prebuilt, but your not really learning all the nitty gritty. I moved 40 joomla sites.. it took 20 of them for me to learn about permissions and the difference between 777,644,755.. who would've knew what those meant just by looking, next was virtual hosts... i always thought a website had 1 server... how stupid of me lol, my linux server at work now has 40 sites on 1 BOX!!!! ZOMG!!!


I'm just saying, if you prebuild a distro, you basically won't learn much, i could've gotten some decent prebuilt stuff, even with ubuntu i could've just chosen lamp at the installer.. i chose not so i could learn how to install them, "apt-get" ftw and it's easier than windows lol, and also to learn where things go.. i was backing up all my mysql databases in phpmyadmin.. when i had an ftp link where i could just move the files directly and be done with it.

Sorry bout the long post, and i'm definately not bashing you, my new exposure to linux has gotten me seriously facinated in not just the linux community, but IT in general, i found myself asking my boss to let me do some of the active directory work because it's a good skill to have, and i'm learning some php which i find to be a friggon diesel language, just a beast for web.

my 2cents over
root@localhost: shutdown -time now -h
I've done both methods actually. :p:p:p
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#28
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#29
cool will do when I get a dedicated linux box again.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#30
cool will do when I get a dedicated linux box again.
lemme know via pm or aim if you need help whenever you get around to it.. aside from setting up the flash player(broken in ubuntu 10.10) it's pretty easy, and fun as hell to use when it's all setup
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#31
thanks ;) will do! what problems in flash player you havin??
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228 (0.61/day)
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#32
cool will do when I get a dedicated linux box again.
to be honest i don't know.. it just doesn't work.. i'm off at 5:00 eastern time.. perhaps i could get you ssh'd into it and you could take a look at it with me..
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#33
I think it might be adobe at fault I googled for that issue and there were quite a few with it. adobe likes to break stuff.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#34
I'm finding a number of Linux apps i can work with, but have yet to find anything to
replace adobe fireworks, adobe acrobat for creating pdf forms, and adobe flash.
- Flash:
Code:
sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
- Adobe Acrobat: make the forms in OpenOffice and export them as PDF. Should work. If the process of making forms differs to much from the same in MS Office, the help in OO should be a good place to look in.
- Fireworks: I am not sure about this, because I just heard of Fireworks and only took a peek at the Wikipedia page about it, but I suggest testing whether OpenOffice.org Draw is meeting your requirements (as an exeption, you will find this under applications --> graphics, instead of ...-->Office).

BTW, it can be handy to install "ubuntu-restricted-extras" as well, for some codecs and fonts like Times New Roman and Arial. Best just add it to the line in the first line of my post with a space in between.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,886 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#35
Meh,on linux some things are easier then windows to restore. Most really broken things in windows you gotta reformat, linux at least has fallbacks and more tricks to get things working.

windows seriously needs more recovery stuff.
I once trashed xfce's window manager (Xfwm) when trying to get some GTK libraries to work. If you would've done anything similiar in windows you'd been f**ked but I just used Lynx to surf the web in text format and I reinstalled xfce completely and it worked. Lovely. :D
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#36
this kinda awesome sauce is why linux leads the server market!
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,193 (0.83/day)
Likes
633
Location
Marlow, ENGLAND
System Name Chachamaru-III | Retro Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K | Intel Pentium II 450MHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR TZ77XE4 (Intel Z77 Chipset) | MSI MS-6116 (Intel 440BX chipset)
Cooling Thermaltake CLW0217 Water 2.0 Extreme, case fully populated
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ares 1600MHz (2x8GB) [30 10-10-10] | 512MB PC133 SDRAM
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce 1070 Gaming Z, Intel HD 4000 (for secondary monitors) | MSI nVIDIA Vanta 16MB
Storage 250GB SK hynix SSD (OS), Seagate 3TB (Storage), Toshiba 3TB (Steam), Samsung 1TB (Personal Files)
Display(s) Samsung 2443BWT-1 24" @1920x1200, Dell 1708fp 17" @1280x1024 & Eizo FlexScan L887 20" @1600x1200
Case Coolermaster HAF 922 | Beige box
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z (Speakers), Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (Headphones) | Yamaha Audician 32 Plus
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750 G2 | 250W ASETEC
Mouse Microsoft Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 v2.0 | Microsoft Serial Mouse v2.0A
Keyboard UNICOMP Classic | Dell AT102W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit | Microsoft Windows 98SE
#37
Have you ever considered ReactOS? It's an open source OS that is binary compatible with Windows XP.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#38
Heard of that one! Looks awesome so far. Hope they improve! Wishing them lots of luck.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#39
3 years without rebooting? even linux needs a reboot after an update, right? at least, ubuntu does
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#40
there's ways around it.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#41
3 years without rebooting? even linux needs a reboot after an update, right? at least, ubuntu does
Only for driver or kernel updates. So basicly you can continue using your Ubuntu install without rebooting, because all other updates are "done" once installed. You would only need to reboot if you immediately wish to load the newest kernel that Ubuntu comes with. And really, you don't need to.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#42
i dont plan on rebooting my linux server anytime soon. and it is on a UPS for adding comfort :laugh:
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#43
i think i'm going to put my server on linux soon... it's just simple SMB sharing, and auto-backup(daily incremental) of specific folders on the network.

any suggestions for distro and software? thing is all of my stuff is currently on NTFS drives, will that cause a huge problem?
I can get files moved around to format a drive at a time, but that might take awhile and i'd like to have full access to files in the meantime.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#44
hrm, i have always wanted to mess around with network backup software. you could always give FreeNAS a go.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#45
as long as ntfs-3g is installed, it is not a problem to have NTFS. However, in Linux there is no disk defrag tool available for NTFS so I suggest transition to ext3 or ext4.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,886 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#46
I read an article about a software called Fog Server. It's for cloning over network and backup and stuff like that and appareantly it's pretty good. Don't know if it can clone Macs though, but supposedly it does anything Windows and some Linux. I have not tested it so I don't know.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
#47
Awesome! Many thanks for the link!
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
450 (0.09/day)
Likes
5
Location
Pilipinas!
System Name MIGHTYNITO | MIGHTY_MINI
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K | Intel Core i3 3220
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe | Gigabyte H77N-WIFI
Cooling Deep Cool Gamer Storm Gabriel | Intel Stock HSF
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1866 8GB (4x2) | G.Skill Ares 1600 8GB (4x2)
Video Card(s) Zotac GT 640 Synergy Edition | Palit GeForce GT 640
Storage Intel 330 180GB + WD Scorpio Blue 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Samsung P2250 | Samsung S19A100N
Case Jonsbo U1 | Coolermaster Elite 120
Audio Device(s) On-Board Realtek ALC898 + Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3 | On-Board Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF-G | Silverstone ST50F-ES
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit SP1
#48
guys! i just installed ubuntu 10.10 too on my acer travelmate 6291. so far i think it's good! im a total noob too with linux, and i think i'm already behind adopting but better late than never i guess?! :D

anyway, i will use it mostly for browsing, music, and some movies... so far i just used whatever was in it already... so a few items:

- what's the best music player and video player out there?
- is there an equalizer or sound enhancer i can use?
- i saw a screenshot earlier about the desktop looking transparent? how'd you do that? :D

by the way, a fresh 32bit install as i saw on the system monitor has a very small footprint (about 200mb RAM and almost 0% cpu activity when idle)... am i seeing it correctly or what? :eek:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,715 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#49
A)I'm a fan of Audacious
B)I'm not aware of one. Audio on Linux kinda sucks
C)Probably used Compiz or some such crap
D)Yes
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
450 (0.09/day)
Likes
5
Location
Pilipinas!
System Name MIGHTYNITO | MIGHTY_MINI
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K | Intel Core i3 3220
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe | Gigabyte H77N-WIFI
Cooling Deep Cool Gamer Storm Gabriel | Intel Stock HSF
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1866 8GB (4x2) | G.Skill Ares 1600 8GB (4x2)
Video Card(s) Zotac GT 640 Synergy Edition | Palit GeForce GT 640
Storage Intel 330 180GB + WD Scorpio Blue 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 500GB
Display(s) Samsung P2250 | Samsung S19A100N
Case Jonsbo U1 | Coolermaster Elite 120
Audio Device(s) On-Board Realtek ALC898 + Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3 | On-Board Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Silverstone ST45SF-G | Silverstone ST50F-ES
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit SP1
#50
thanks! noted... :D