• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Synology DS414slim

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
756 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
The NAS market grows day by day and all companies thrive to introduce more and more innovative products. In today’s review, we will take a good look at one of these products, the Synology DS414slim, a compact NAS with a huge feature list.

Show full review
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,750 (0.32/day)
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle "Nostromo"
Processor 2700X
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (X370) [BIOS v.7704]
Cooling Hydro H110i Extreme v2
Memory 2 x 8 GB HX429C15PB3A (2933MHz)
Video Card(s) 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage 960 M2/NVMe (500 GB) - 860 EVO (1 TB) - Red PRO (4 TB)
Display(s) VG248QE / C24G1
Case Lian-Li Test Bench
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse New model MX 518
Keyboard Drevo BladeMaster TE (TKL)
Great review :)

I do not understand why many "home user NAS boxes" have 2 ethernet ports ...

- how many people have LACP capable routers/switches at home ??

......hmmm could be a frontpage poll
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
756 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
it isn't so expensive any more to have 2 NICs so why not! As for managed switches you can find some very affordable ones nowadays from brands like TPlink etc.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,750 (0.32/day)
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle "Nostromo"
Processor 2700X
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (X370) [BIOS v.7704]
Cooling Hydro H110i Extreme v2
Memory 2 x 8 GB HX429C15PB3A (2933MHz)
Video Card(s) 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage 960 M2/NVMe (500 GB) - 860 EVO (1 TB) - Red PRO (4 TB)
Display(s) VG248QE / C24G1
Case Lian-Li Test Bench
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse New model MX 518
Keyboard Drevo BladeMaster TE (TKL)
it isn't so expensive any more to have 2 NICs so why not! As for managed switches you can find some very affordable ones nowadays from brands like TPlink etc.
Yes I know - but it still requires some basic network knowledge to configure those things.
I use HP ProCurve and Cisco Catalyst managed switches on work and they are not just "Plug n´ Play"

But maybe TPlink and brands in that category are easy to handle......
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
756 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
yeap TPLink is a piece of cake to setup and super-reliable so far.
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
756 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
Synology just informed me of something serious which all of Synology NAS owners should read, till the official PR is out.


DSM is undergoing a CryptoLocker hack called SynoLocker – as of yesterday (08/03/14). It’s a BitCoin Mining hack that encrypts portions of data, and ransoms the decryption key for .6 BitCoin ($350). So far, it looks like the matter is localized to non-updated versions of DSM 4.3, but we are actively working on, and researching the issue to see if it also effects DSM 5.0 as well.

In the interim, we are asking people to take the following precautions:
A. Close all open ports for external access as soon as possible, and/or unplug your Disk/RackStation from your router

B. Update DSM to the latest version

C. Backup your data as soon as possible

D. Synology will provide further information as soon as it is available.


If your NAS has been infected:

A. Do not trust/ignore any email from unauthorized/non-genuine Synology email. Synology email always has the “synology.com” address suffix.

B. Do a hard shutdown of your Disk/RackStation to prevent any further issues. This entails a long-press of your unit’s power button, until a long beep has been heard. The unit will shut itself down safely from that point.

C. Contact Synology Support as soon as possible at, http://www.synology.com/en-global/support/knowledge_base
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
878 (0.19/day)
Location
Overseas
System Name Old School
Processor Q6600 2.4Ghz @ 3.15Ghz (350x9, B3, Lapped)
Motherboard GA-P35C-DS3R (Ver. F4)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX-2 (Lapped)
Memory 2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 @ 534.0mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850
Storage Seagate 750GB, WD Caviar 120GB, WD Raptor 150GB
Display(s) LG 19" LCD L1952
Case Enermax Phoenix
Audio Device(s) Audigy X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W
Software Vista Home Premium X32 SP1
Hmm, mine is updated to 5.0, but I may just turn it off for the time being.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,982 (0.57/day)
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard ASUS Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Dark Rock TF
Memory 2x8 GB Gskill Trident Z
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 960 evo 500G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus + 650
Mouse Zowie EC2-A
Keyboard Logitech G513
Software Win10 pro 64bit

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
756 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
I don't rely at all on ATTO, I only take into consideration the results of my program. I just put it there for reference since many are used to it.
You have to move large volumes of data in order to have accurate results.
 
Top