• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System crashes when using XMP profiles/Vendor Approved RAM profiles (CL16 3200); only stable at stock speeds (2133)

Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
333 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
I noticed that when I use my RAM's XMP or ASrock approved profiles, my system is pretty unstable. Games and programs are crashing, BSODs, etc. But it boots into windows. I only noticed it now since it was the long weekend and all my games were crashing every 5 mins or sometimes BSODing out with different errors. So far resetting the Ram profile to stock is the only solution but It kinda sucks since I'm not really getting much out of it. (specially on a ryzen system)

I've tried using the Ryzen ram calculator and inputting them individually on the safe preset but the system doesn't boot with those settings. I can't really ask for an RMA or a replacement since I got these for second hand. Worst comes to worst I'd prolly sell these and buy some G.Skill ram or those newer Vengeance Pros, but I kinda want to figure out and see if i can find a setting that would allow me to use the rated speed of these sticks

Any help is appreciated. Thanks! (System specs are in my details)
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,018 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
have you tried bumping up the voltage to 1.4 V?
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
333 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
have you tried bumping up the voltage to 1.4 V?
I haven't yet as I've read around that those voltages are kinda high. Are they safe voltages? I'll try em out with the XMP profile.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
4,910 (5.85/day)
Location
Poland
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
no 1.4v is still low,1.5v is fine for 24/7

I don't know what ryzen's imc voltage is called (it's vcssa for intel) but you should bump that too,it can compensate for weaker imc a little.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
333 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
Well for now I'm using the XMP Profile @ 1.4v
I've booted into windows and I'll try and get some stuff going. I'll report back in thing go bad or something comes up. Thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,018 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
Well for now I'm using the XMP Profile @ 1.4v
I've booted into windows and I'll try and get some stuff going. I'll report back in thing go bad or something comes up. Thanks!
Good luck. 1.4 V isn't overly high for most Ram. I'd not go higher 24/7 unless I had B-Die. My Micron is running at 1.37 stable @3200, so you may be able to drop it down after a little testing.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
333 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
Good luck. 1.4 V isn't overly high for most Ram. I'd not go higher 24/7 unless I had B-Die. My Micron is running at 1.37 stable @3200, so you may be able to drop it down after a little testing.
Well According to Thaiphoon my Ram is Samsung B-die, so i guess I'm kinda lucky in that aspect. Was really worried for a bit that everything was crashing and whatnot and thought it was a timing or ram setting issue and people saying that 1.4v is kinda high didn't made me think voltage was the problem. Even AsRock's warns me when I hit 1.35 so I was hesitant to increase it.

So far its been pretty stable tho. I need to test it on more stuff to see if it's rock solid. Really didn't think the up in voltage would've helped. Many thanks!
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,018 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
Well According to Thaiphoon my Ram is Samsung B-die, so i guess I'm kinda lucky in that aspect. Was really worried for a bit that everything was crashing and whatnot and thought it was a timing or ram setting issue and people saying that 1.4v is kinda high didn't made me think voltage was the problem. Even AsRock's warns me when I hit 1.35 so I was hesitant to increase it.

So far its been pretty stable tho. I need to test it on more stuff to see if it's rock solid. Really didn't think the up in voltage would've helped. Many thanks!
Nice. XMP profiles go all the way up to 1.5 V so you're safe up to there.

If it's Samsung B, then those like voltage, put it up to 1.5 V, increase the speed and play with the timings. You should be able to get 3600++ on it.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,077 (5.44/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Let me just say this..... needing more voltage is just BS. XMP/DOCP should run as-is. If not, you have another issue, IE not on the QVL, random incompatibility with a revision, something else is going on here.

Also, can the Ryzen 2600 even run 3600MHz normally?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,018 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
Let me just say this..... needing more voltage is just BS. XMP/DOCP should run as-is. If not, you have another issue, IE not on the QVL, random incompatibility with a revision, something else is going on here.

Also, can the Ryzen 2600 even run 3600MHz normally?
I agree, maybe the ram has degraded or something, but if it gets it working, then it's working.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
222 (1.76/day)
System Name Temp SFF Rig :'(
Processor Q9550
Motherboard HP OEM
Cooling just about...
Memory 8GB DDR2 :rockout:
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 LP OC to 1850+ Boost!!!
Storage 120GB SSD & 160GB HDD :(
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case HP SFF Desktop
Power Supply HP SFF 260w
Software Windows 10 1903
Let me just say this..... needing more voltage is just BS. XMP/DOCP should run as-is. If not, you have another issue, IE not on the QVL, random incompatibility with a revision, something else is going on here.

Also, can the Ryzen 2600 even run 3600MHz normally?
its a 3200 kit, but yes Ryzen+ can run at up to 4000 (OC mode) irregardless OP is talking about 3200 XMP profile not running and @silkstone mentioned he may be able to hit 3600 as they are b die rams. Latest agesa updates are much better than they were with ram compaitibility though there are still issues and more so with 1st and 2nd gen Ryzen as opposed to Ryzen 2. XMP is also an intel feature and doesnt always play well with Ryzen CPU's/motherboards, in which case, you can play with all the settings manually or in some case increase the ram and imc voltages for stability, so no, it's not BS
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,077 (5.44/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
its a 3200 kit, but yes Ryzen+ can run at up to 4000 (OC mode) irregardless OP is talking about 3200 XMP profile not running and @silkstone mentioned he may be able to hit 3600 as they are b die rams. Latest agesa updates are much better than they were with ram compaitibility though there are still issues and more so with 1st and 2nd gen Ryzen as opposed to Ryzen 2. XMP is also an intel feature and doesnt always play well with Ryzen CPU's/motherboards, in which case, you can play with all the settings manually or in some case increase the ram and imc voltages for stability, so no, it's not BS
You got me cold. I have no idea what it is I am talking about here. I will see myself out.
 

Punx223

Not so new member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
58 (0.08/day)
Location
somewhere around -195C
its a 3200 kit, but yes Ryzen+ can run at up to 4000 (OC mode) irregardless OP is talking about 3200 XMP profile not running and @silkstone mentioned he may be able to hit 3600 as they are b die rams. Latest agesa updates are much better than they were with ram compaitibility though there are still issues and more so with 1st and 2nd gen Ryzen as opposed to Ryzen 2. XMP is also an intel feature and doesnt always play well with Ryzen CPU's/motherboards, in which case, you can play with all the settings manually or in some case increase the ram and imc voltages for stability, so no, it's not BS
I'm sorry but this is both factually and architecturally incorrect. Zen 1 was horribly hamstrung for memory, Zen + (Ryzen 2000) i.e. what the OP is trying to run, in most cases will run 3200-3333 at best unless a very very very good screened kit, and a golden sample IMC even then it will not be recommended for long term stability as the IMC simply does not scale very well.

With the introduction of Ryzen 3000 (Ryzen 3600 would be the newest of this chip) introduced chiplets with an I/O die... this will indeed run 3600 with ease and is one of the best for running 1:1 FCLK.

I have several boards and CPUs here, and Ryzen20000 such as the OP has would be a massive problem at best to get 3600, let alone 4000. I'm not sure what exactly your definition of "OC mode" is, but unless OC Mode magically transforms 2600 to a 3600.

Also, I would NOT recommend 1.5VDimm as that's tantamount to placing a band-aid on a bullet wound...

I would recommend OP picks up a proper 3200 tight latency kit as that will be far more likely to run well for the specified application.

Cheers
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
222 (1.76/day)
System Name Temp SFF Rig :'(
Processor Q9550
Motherboard HP OEM
Cooling just about...
Memory 8GB DDR2 :rockout:
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 LP OC to 1850+ Boost!!!
Storage 120GB SSD & 160GB HDD :(
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case HP SFF Desktop
Power Supply HP SFF 260w
Software Windows 10 1903
I'm sorry but this is both factually and architecturally incorrect. Zen 1 was horribly hamstrung for memory, Zen + (Ryzen 2000) i.e. what the OP is trying to run, in most cases will run 3200-3333 at best unless a very very very good screened kit, and a golden sample IMC even then it will not be recommended for long term stability as the IMC simply does not scale very well.

With the introduction of Ryzen 3000 (Ryzen 3600 would be the newest of this chip) introduced chiplets with an I/O die... this will indeed run 3600 with ease and is one of the best for running 1:1 FCLK.

I have several boards and CPUs here, and Ryzen20000 such as the OP has would be a massive problem at best to get 3600, let alone 4000. I'm not sure what exactly your definition of "OC mode" is, but unless OC Mode magically transforms 2600 to a 3600.

Also, I would NOT recommend 1.5VDimm as that's tantamount to placing a band-aid on a bullet wound...

I would recommend OP picks up a proper 3200 tight latency kit as that will be far more likely to run well for the specified application.

Cheers
Fact check, he has a 3200 kit, I was replying to a comment about running his RAMS at 3600 which the OP is not talking about. I ran 3400 on zen 1 1600 non-x, did I have cherry picked golden sample CPU or RAM kit? :nutkick: 3600 is very acheivable on Ryzen+ but again I said the kit was an XMP 3200 kit anyway so you're missing the point completely,

Let me present it in plain english to you as you have a hard time comprehending. Ryzen + official support goes to 3200mhz. That is guaranteed. OC mode which means running out of official spec, most boards since agesa updates 12 months ago can run up to 4000+ mhz RAM. No cherry pick, no silicon lottery, though to get to 4000+ yes, I agree you will have to work for it, 3600? pfft piece of cake. go check HWBOT or youtube if you don't believe me. :slap:

Don't try and make me look like a fool when I have first hand experience of what I am talking about and the main sentiment of the OP has been lost in translation is that he has a 3200 RAM kit that won't work for him under normal conditions ie: XMP enabled and auto settings, higher vram voltage and imc may stable him out unless he wants to go through all ram settings manually. No one is talking about running 4000 RAM here, but as you're such the expert, pray do tell... whats the max frequency you have on your Ryzen motherboard for RAM?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,077 (5.44/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Why so much hate? Nobody quoted you until you made it personal. OP asked about his kit, the first answer was more volts. That is not the proper solution. silkstone made mention of 3600, I get that, but why are we overclocking this kit when the original issue was never dealt with?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
222 (1.76/day)
System Name Temp SFF Rig :'(
Processor Q9550
Motherboard HP OEM
Cooling just about...
Memory 8GB DDR2 :rockout:
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 LP OC to 1850+ Boost!!!
Storage 120GB SSD & 160GB HDD :(
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case HP SFF Desktop
Power Supply HP SFF 260w
Software Windows 10 1903
Why so much hate? Nobody quoted you until you made it personal. OP asked about his kit, the first answer was more volts. That is not the proper solution. silkstone made mention of 3600, I get that, but why are we overclocking this kit when the original issue was never dealt with?
you quoted me first iir, I just simply stated you were wrong, unless you werent replying to me, how did I make it personal?
 

Punx223

Not so new member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
58 (0.08/day)
Location
somewhere around -195C
Fact check, he has a 3200 kit, I was replying to a comment about running his RAMS at 3600 which the OP is not talking about. I ran 3400 on zen 1 1600 non-x, did I have cherry picked golden sample CPU or RAM kit? :nutkick: 3600 is very acheivable on Ryzen+ but again I said the kit was an XMP 3200 kit anyway so you're missing the point completely,

Let me present it in plain english to you as you have a hard time comprehending. Ryzen + official support goes to 3200mhz. That is guaranteed. OC mode which means running out of official spec, most boards since agesa updates 12 months ago can run up to 4000+ mhz RAM. No cherry pick, no silicon lottery, though to get to 4000+ yes, I agree you will have to work for it, 3600? pfft piece of cake. go check HWBOT or youtube if you don't believe me. :slap:

Don't try and make me look like a fool when I have first hand experience of what I am talking about and the main sentiment of the OP has been lost in translation is that he has a 3200 RAM kit that won't work for him under normal conditions ie: XMP enabled and auto settings, higher vram voltage and imc may stable him out unless he wants to go through all ram settings manually. No one is talking about running 4000 RAM here, but as you're such the expert, pray do tell... whats the max frequency you have on your Ryzen motherboard for RAM?
The context of your posts tells me all I need to know..

Please feel free to let me know which board and CPU combo you would like to know as I have so many here to choose from. But heres one as an example..

3900x mem.JPG

I also have reviewed all three generations fo Ryzen processors and tons of RAM kits on them.

Im sorry if this hurts your feels, but I don't appreciate people making wild assumptions and claims with no factual basis.

Your comments about AGESA and it improving speed capabilities while (somewhat) true, 3600 is not even close to being a guarantee.... 3200 is quite achievable. 3600 on solid CPUs is possible.

Also, I have a few trays of Zen and Zen+ chips, so I think I have a decent cross-section to base my findings on. But please carry on pushing your claimed experience with the Ryzen platforms, im sure your epeen is at a full 3" at this point.

But either way, im gonna bow out of this one and I hope the OP the best as with people like you guiding him im sure he will be purchasing a new Ryzen 3000 after everyone gets him to smoke his by pushing SOC voltage and cranking on it until it pops rather than sticking to something that makes more sense.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,077 (5.44/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
222 (1.76/day)
System Name Temp SFF Rig :'(
Processor Q9550
Motherboard HP OEM
Cooling just about...
Memory 8GB DDR2 :rockout:
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GT 1030 LP OC to 1850+ Boost!!!
Storage 120GB SSD & 160GB HDD :(
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case HP SFF Desktop
Power Supply HP SFF 260w
Software Windows 10 1903
show me your ryzen/+ bios ram speed options, that's all I asked


3600 in 4 of the top 10 videos I searched for on YT. And one 4000mhz. on Ryzen+ o_O
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Punx223

Not so new member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
58 (0.08/day)
Location
somewhere around -195C
show me your ryzen/+ bios ram speed options, that's all I asked


3600 in 4 of the top 10 videos I searched for on YT. And one 4000mhz. on Ryzen+ o_O

Out of this topic, SP you're a baiter, I'm not going to to be drawn into it with you.

OP good luck, you will figure it out, I dont want to say something I might regret by staying in this thread where a long term mod has a chip on his shoulder.
Again, you proved my point... just based on what you say and link tells me all I need to know..

Good luck and cheers /HT
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
4,018 (1.00/day)
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / HTPC-Server
Processor i5 8700K (@5 Ghz All-Core) / R5 3600
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling CM ML240L / CM Seidon 120XL
Memory 16Gb Hynix @3200 MHz/ 16Gb Ballistix @3600Mhz
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / 1060 GTX
Storage 750G MX300 / 8+4 TB WD Reds + 250 Sabrent NVMe
Display(s) 2x Dell U2515H-18D / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Zalman HTPC case
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply FSP 850 W Gold / 400 W IN-WIN
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 = 1542 3D Mark Timespy = 9580
But either way, im gonna bow out of this one and I hope the OP the best as with people like you guiding him im sure he will be purchasing a new Ryzen 3000 after everyone gets him to smoke his by pushing SOC voltage and cranking on it until it pops rather than sticking to something that makes more sense.
1.4 v won't even come close to smoking a set of samsung B's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
923 (0.28/day)
Too much drama for ram. I suggest OP list out what he's using cuz this is just shooting in the dark. Also, if he had real B-dies they'd be drop in, dead simple. I've got 3 sets of gskill trident z's all b-dies that were for Intel systems. They dropped into my Ryzen 3 setup w/o a single hiccup. And btw OP, being on the QVL doesn't really mean a whole lot as its still not a guarantee.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
333 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
my exact ram models is this: Corsair CMR32GX4M4C3200C16

I'm only using 2 sticks because I got it second hand and the seller is only using 16gb, so he sold 16gb.

please lets not make this anymore personal. I'm relatively new to a lot of these things (overlocking, voltages, etc) so I wanted to make sure that doing something is relatively safe for my system.
ram stuff.png


These are the full Thaipoon reports.

The reason why I made the post is because the sticks boot into windows with the XMP profiles but programs and games crash with it. For now I've stabilized the system with the bump to 1.4V. The stock XMP profile had 1.35V as stock.

I would also like to ask is its ok for me to update my Mobo BIOS to the latest version.
135586


I'm already on 2.50, and AsRock warns against updating if I don't have Ryzen 3rd gen on it


many thanks again for the inputs guys! I'm really learning a lot, just please don't make it any more personal. I'm open to a lot of input regarding the matter

Cheers!
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
27,077 (5.44/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
my exact ram models is this: Corsair CMR32GX4M4C3200C16

I'm only using 2 sticks because I got it second hand and the seller is only using 16gb, so he sold 16gb.

please lets not make this anymore personal. I'm relatively new to a lot of these things (overlocking, voltages, etc) so I wanted to make sure that doing something is relatively safe for my system. View attachment 135585

These are the full Thaipoon reports.

The reason why I made the post is because the sticks boot into windows with the XMP profiles but programs and games crash with it. For now I've stabilized the system with the bump to 1.4V. The stock XMP profile had 1.35V as stock.

I would also like to ask is its ok for me to update my Mobo BIOS to the latest version. View attachment 135586

I'm already on 2.50, and AsRock warns against updating if I don't have Ryzen 3rd gen on it


many thanks again for the inputs guys! I'm really learning a lot, just please don't make it any more personal. I'm open to a lot of input regarding the matter

Cheers!
This is the kind if things I meant earlier. If you are confident in flashing the bios, I would certainly do it.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
297 (0.06/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
All the advertised speeds for XMP required me to increase voltage, some over the years were to ridiculous levels.

I sent a set back in the 00's, due to not meeting spec, and was sent a set that was worse.

I finally got a stable system at 0.6V over stock.

That kinda sounds like what you're seeing, so the marketing hasn't changed.

If I'm cranking a xeon to 2GHz over the stock clocks, I expect to add a bump in voltage; to meet advertised specs, not so much.

I'm OK with insane cooling, various timing tweaks, whatever; but if you're going to market something for speed, give me the freaking numbers it took you to get there, you bastards!

:)
 
Top