1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System is not shutting down

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Recca29, Aug 22, 2017.

  1. Recca29

    Recca29

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    257 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Location:
    Delhi India
    I have just setup a new Ryzen 1700 system with a temporary PSU and installed windows and drivers.

    The system is working fine but i am not able to shut it down through windows, it just restarts every time i try to shut down. had to force shutdown through the power button on the case.
    Anyone have any idea why it's happening.

    System specs:
    Processor: Ryzen 1700 (Stock)
    Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX B350-F GAMING
    Cooling: ICEEDGE 400 XT DEEPCOOL
    Memory: 8 GB COrsair 2400MHz
    Video Card(s): 750TI 2 GB
    Hard Disk(s): Samsung 960 EVO 250GB
    Case: Deepcool Dukase v3
    Sound Card: On Board
    Power Supply: Frontech 600 W (temp) will buy a new next month.
    Mouse: Logitech MX518
    Keyboard: Logitech K230

    Edit: Updated the BIOS but no change.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. clutchc

    clutchc

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    32 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Incorrect FP wiring? Something under the board grounding out a trace, something like an extra standoff not needed?
    Are you running Win7 or 10?
     
    Recca29 says thanks.
  3. StefanM

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    181 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Germany
    Recca29 says thanks.
  4. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    445 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Was this a clean install of your OS?
     
    Recca29 says thanks.
  5. Recca29

    Recca29

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    257 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Location:
    Delhi India
    not sure about the wiring issue. will have to check that.
    running win 10.

    clean install.

    i tried almost all things related to software issues. bios options. tried to boot with only ssd and mouse connected. nothing helped.
    will try to get some rubber washers to put betwwen the motherboard mounts.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. clutchc

    clutchc

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    32 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Any reason you'd want to do that? Those standoffs are supposed to be grounding the board at those points. Best not to weaken the ground path by insulating them.
    In fact, washers may even raise the board just enough that the IO ports won't line up with their openings in the IO Plate.
     
  7. Recca29

    Recca29

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    257 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Location:
    Delhi India
    so what do you suggest.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. clutchc

    clutchc

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    32 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    If this happens after a clean install of W10, I would suspect a defective board or BIOS. I presume you've already updated the BIOS to the latest. Or in fact, re-flashed with the latest if you already have the latest.
    Does this happen in safe mode as well as normal mode?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)