1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

System Perfomance Club

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, May 17, 2010.

  1. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    I am currently running a Phenom II 550 BE @ 3.1Ghz w/ aftermarket cooler, OCZ Dual Channel Titanium 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory - 4-4-4-15. 2Tb HDD, Gigabyte MA770-UD3 Mobo, XFX 4850 1Gb (new Gigabyte 5850 in the mail), Creative X-FI Extreme Audio.

    Which will give me more performance from my PC, 4 more Gb or ram or a Quad core CPU?
     
  2. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,213 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    i would def say a quad core would give better perf. i'm using 4 gigs, and so are many other users, anything more than four is really not nessessary unless you do graphic/sound/3d editing or cad.. for gamers and light editing, 4 gigs is more than enough.. bfbc2 puts me just over 2 gigs used out of 4 with win7 x64 and all the background crap running.
     
  3. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,797 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    wrong section of the forums for your question i would advise you to post this in the overclocking section
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Not really, why not actually read the post. :confused: I was asking advice on upgrading physical components. NOT overclocking the CPU or RAM.:wtf: If the folks in the TechPowerUP! Club Forum can't figure it out, then GOD HELP US ALL. :shadedshu Maybe i should just ask the helpful guys at Overclockers club or Tomshardware.
     
  5. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,405 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,409
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    He's just saying, the info you put up was a question specific to you, and a club isn't specific to one person. You could easily just put up exactly what you just said, that this is a place where people can turn when they are wondering about what to upgrade next, or trying to narrow down what they want. Granted this section isn't really about hardware, since the whole topic of the main forum is hardware.
     
    Athlon2K15 says thanks.
  6. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    IC, but my point was that My question was not about overclocking. The forum he suggested was about overclocking so by logic, it would be misplaced to be located in the Overclockers.
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,947 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,676
    What do you use your computer for? If it's gaming, I would look more towards a different graphics card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    gaming. as i said in my first post my new 5850 is in the mail.
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,947 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,676
    Man, I wouldn't bother upgrading anything else. Well I'm not a big fan of Ultra PSU's but I'm sure yours is fine. Since you have an unlocked CPU, overclocking it can be your best upgrade.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    I wish i had a better mobo so that i may be able to unlock the 2 disabled cores and make it a quad core or so i hear.
     
  11. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,252 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    Location:
    Multidimensional
    I would recommend getting a quady cpu man, but wait for your HD5850 to arrive and see how it performs for you, it should rape TBH:laugh: and then maybe get a X4 955 or 965:toast:, the only advice I could give you:D
     
  12. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    hmm that is what i was thinking. m planning on selling my 4850 and cpu as a combo if possible. But i have to wait and see the performance of my machine. One thing is that windows 7 x64 is being very sluggish and losing the Internet connection on a Ethernet network. It drives me nuts cause on the same machine, i run ubuntu/kubuntu and they start ridiculously fast and im surfing the web in no time after logging in.
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Some of the newer games, especially Battlefield BC2 are really benefiting from quad cores. Duals just aren't enough anymore.

    I say grab a quad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,273 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Quad Core 100000000000%. I would suggest unlocking the CPU. SB700, I`m assuming that wont unlock. SB710 was the min if I`m not mistaken.
     
  15. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    so, which is less costly, Quad or new mobo?
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    A new mobo doesn't give you a performance boost. Your chip may not even unlock. Do you want to spend money at a chance to have a quad core, or spend your money to KNOW you have a quad core?
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    hmm. good point. But If i go Quad, for 50 more I can go Hexa. Whats the diff?
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    More money for more performance. Choice is yours. There are cheap quads tho. Things like the 955 and 965BE get all the attention, but even a sub $100 Athlon X4 630 would be a decent upgrade. AMD Athlon II X4 630 Propus 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Ca...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,828 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    thanks Ill keep that in mind:respect:
     
  20. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,124 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    Texas
    New 5850 is in the mail, so why not wait another month or so, and grab a new CPU & MB? Best of both worlds, and you can sometimes find a snazzy combo deal with a good discount.

    Good Luck :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)