• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

System random shutdowns

Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,764 (0.46/day)
Likes
343
Location
Darkness
System Name Unreal Machine III
Processor Intel Core i3 2120 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory Gskill 8GB 1866Mhz Ripjaw CL9
Video Card(s) Saphire HD6950 1GB
Storage Kingston SSD 240GB + 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 + WD 640GB Black eddition + WD 1TB green + 500GB F3
Display(s) HP W2207 22'
Case Termalthake xaser III black
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatal1ty + Creative inpire t7900 7.1
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM 850HP
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software 10 pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P14042;3DMark 11 P4408; Furmark 1.9 @840 3654
#1
Ok a friend of mine just "downgraded" his graphic card (the idiot) and here's what he wrote bellow:

Oh god I just hate hardware problems, and I work with them for a living. Its just when you run all the procedures and still get stumped.

Anyway, heres the rundown.

Issue 1
I got myself a new graphic card (Radeon HD 6670) to replace my old one (Gigabyte HD 4850). Problem is that my FPS is complete *whoosh* in any game I play. I did the following:
- Uninstall any drivers and software from the old graphics card via safe mode
- Driver sweep
- Install new drivers and software for new graphic card
- ???
- Rage
Yeah I'm stumped completely. Only praying now its just not the PSU, cause I'll probably breakdown and cry.

Issue 2
Since installing new graphics card I've been getting "random" shut downs. Meaning my computer just turns off completely out of nowhere. I did the following:
- Checked for any loose hardware when I was installing graphic card
- Its not due to heat, I checked and monitored it constantly
Please god it not be the PSU.

Any suggestions and help would be much apprieciated, oh god Skyrim in 7 days.

EDIT: Forgot to put down my specifications, silly me.

Graphic card: Radeon HD 6670
Case: Antec Solo
PSU: Antec NeoPower 550W
Motherboard: EP31-DS3L Gigabyte Series
CPU: E8400 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
RAM: 4Gb kit (2x 2Gb)
HDD: 500Gb SATA x2
Monitor: 22" View Sonic HD
Speakers: Logitech X-530 5.1
OS: Windows 7 x64bit
And i told him, you psu is bad, it happened to me years go, changed every single part of my pc before changing the psu and after frying some minor components, and it was all fixed by a simple psu exchange...

I would like to hear some opinions on this though, i also told him to go get a proper graphic card if he can still exchange i on the store...
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848 (1.92/day)
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
If his pc was able to run the 4850 without issue i dont see why it cant run the 6670,your probably right with it being the psu.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2011
Messages
79 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name HAL9000.1
Processor Intel i5 2500K@4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68V PRO
Cooling Arctic Freezer 11 LP
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX460 1GB 800/1600/4000
Storage Seagate 500GB 7200.12
Display(s) Acer 22" LCD // Toshiba 46" 1080P LCD
Case Antec 4482B Mini-Tower
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DS
Power Supply Antec EA500 Watt
Software Windows 7-64 (SP1)
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark11: 4065 Points
#3
+1
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#4
I would test the Ram and if the ram passes I would suspect the PSU as well.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
1,764 (0.46/day)
Likes
343
Location
Darkness
System Name Unreal Machine III
Processor Intel Core i3 2120 3.4Ghz
Motherboard Sabertooth P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory Gskill 8GB 1866Mhz Ripjaw CL9
Video Card(s) Saphire HD6950 1GB
Storage Kingston SSD 240GB + 500GB Barracuda 7200.12 + WD 640GB Black eddition + WD 1TB green + 500GB F3
Display(s) HP W2207 22'
Case Termalthake xaser III black
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatal1ty + Creative inpire t7900 7.1
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM 850HP
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software 10 pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage P14042;3DMark 11 P4408; Furmark 1.9 @840 3654
#5
He says it all works fine when he puts old card into place...
I saw on neweeg some of the lower scores either had doa units (Antec NeoPower 550W) some had psu blowing or burning, and random shutdowns as well...
It seems to me there might be some unreliable units in the market...
Usually when its ram it gives a bsod...

What should he do to test ram??
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#6