• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

System randomly shuts down during gameplay

Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#1
Recently my system has begun randomly shutting down while playing various games, mostly Final Fantasy XI. I am not overclocking and my cpu temp, while using core temp, looks just fine (never more than 50 C). My power supply should be able to handle my setup and my motherboard and RAM is relatively new. Does anyone have any suggestions? This whole thing is getting very frustrating and any help would be most appreciated. :)
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,945 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
Any BSOD's? Have you checked the Event Log in Control Panel > Administrative Tools

I'd say run Memtest to ensure memory stability, and run Orthos or Prime95 for CPU/System stability.

What temps is your GPU hitting? Looks like a decent build, I'm not familiar with Kingwin PSU's...never used em', but 800W should be pretty sufficient I would imagine lol!
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#3
Thanks for the response. I've tested the system with prime95 before and never had problems. Never tried Orthos though. Also no BSOD errors.
GPU at idle was 62. I've run memtest and had no errors. Also this RAM is brand new and my PC was doing this with the old Patriot 9200 RAM (i just RMA'd it since one of the sticks burnt out for the second time!)


I did check the event manager and saw a few errors but none that seemed to indicate a shut down. the errors mentioned some problems with IP address, Forceware network stuff, and a Creativelabs error.

Also when the error occurred I forgot to mention I was running fraps and a mild OC of my vid card (about 14mhz gpu, 82mhz memory) using Rivatuner (latest version). I uninstalled Rivatuner, took off the vid card OC, installed new Creative soundcard drivers and am now running the game without fraps. Hopefully it won't shutdown again.

I will post pics of the event manager if you think it would be helpful.
 
Last edited:

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#4
try to use orthos so that you can stress both cores fully at 100%. Also, run mem test, but the dos version of it. Its better. If you need links, let me know.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#5
Ya I tried memtest using an ISO before the system booted into windows and dint get any errors. I will definitely try orthos though. so how long should I run Orthos?
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#6
Ya I tried memtest using an ISO before the system booted into windows and dint get any errors. I will definitely try orthos though. so how long should I run Orthos?
i like to leave it overnight while I sleep or something, just to be safe. Keep us updated.

Also, have you cleaned our your coolers. Dust them out, make sure they cool right. Could be your card maybe just overheating. temps seemed a bit high on idle.
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#7
temps seemed a bit high on idle.
Yea 62C idle is a bit high... I don't remember 8800's having heat issues like the 4850/70's do. I would take out the card and clean it with some compressed air... if you get some nice dust bunnies coming out keep going.

Other than that I don't see what could cause it..:confused:
 
Joined
May 9, 2006
Messages
2,083 (0.49/day)
Likes
267
System Name Not named
Processor Q6600 @ 3.65ghz 1.4375v w/Ultra 120 Extreme
Motherboard Asus P5K-E/WIFI-AP P35 (Pencil Mod)
Cooling 4x 120mm 1x 200mm fans
Memory 8GB DDR2 G.Skill @511mhz (5-5-5-15)
Video Card(s) Asus 7870
Storage Hitachi Deskstar 7K500 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 22Inch Samsung 2220WM
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) AuzenTech HDA X-PLOSION 7.1 DTS / Z-5500 logitech
Power Supply Corsair Tx750 watt
#8
the 8800's easily hit 80+C unless you upped the fan speed though. So that could be something to consider.
 

iStink

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2008
Messages
648 (0.19/day)
Likes
49
System Name The beast
Processor E6600@ 3.4
Motherboard P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120
Memory 3GB G.Sill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) 8800GT @ 700/975
Storage (1)80GB With XP, (1) 320GB storage
Display(s) 205BW & 710N
Case XClio Windtunnel (I love it)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply OCZ gamerXStream 700W
#9
8800 ultra was based off the g80 which ran very hot. I'd put my money on the card overheating. Download rivatuner, open the hardware monitor, play for a few moments and alt tab to check temperatures. Anything over 80 is generally unsafe, although the gpu will still function, things like voltage regulators will heat up and can cause issues.

Also, I think either ATITool or Fraps can give an onscreen display of your gpu temperature while in game.

HolyCow02 - 8800GT is the 8800 you're thinking of that doesn't run hot, but it's based off the g92 gpu.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.91/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
Run memtest and orthos see if you are getting any errors, also try a multimeter to test your 12 and 5 volt lines under load.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#11
Thanks for all the suggestions. I recently cleaned my vid card but will check again.

Last night I left the game running all night and had no crashes. I'm thinkin maybe that mild vid card OC may have been causing the shut downs, although for some reason I just can't believe it would do that with such a mild OC. I also ran the nvidia stability test on the gpu for about 20 minutes and it never got above 64 C. I'm gonna try leaving orthos on all night tonight.
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
#12
One other suggestion for monitoring the video card temp during the game is to use EVGA Precision. It has the ability to display the GPU temp in the upper left corner so you can see what is happening while you game. If it peaks just before you crash it might help isolate it to a video card temp issue.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#13
Sounds good Dadi_oh. gonna try that program out, although at this point it looks like the GPU isn't overheating. Also I did notice that my liquid cooling radiator had a ton of dust on it, which I thoroughly cleaned. Still the cpu wasn't overheating so I don't think this was the cause either.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#14
Well I've left Orthos on all night and the system was fine. Today my PC shut down multiple times within a few mintues and ONLY when I put on Crysis and FFXI. Crysis almost immediately shut down after loading to gameplay. FFXI crashed after maybe 20 mins. Attached are pics of my error messages I found in the event manager. None of them seem to have caused the shutdown though. I do notice my vid card getting up to 81 C but from what I've read thats o.k. for my card. This is wierd since my system seemed to be o.k. running Guild Wars...

now is it possible for a bad power strip/surge protector to cause this problem? Just an idea.
 

Attachments

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#15
man I don't recall what any of those error messages mean. Let me ask you, you stated you aren't overclocking right? What about like any power management setting in your bios or inside windows itself? Anything in the BIOS that might be changed by mistake, like a voltage setting or something??? Just throwing stuff out there dude, i'm clueless.

Have you tried 3dmark? How long can you run it if you have tried it? Also, if it runs fine, try to leave 3dmark running overnight looped. See if it crashes then. If its instability it'll show during 3dmark whether its your system or the card itself. IF it does not shut down in 3dmark running all night then it has to be the games or something. Are you running like a no CD crack or something like that for your games?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#16
Ya I'm not overclocking and I did check the bios settings, voltage, power management stuff, etc and didn't see anything that would be makin the system shutdown. The games are running off the drive and/or CD's (no cd cracks, etc.).

Gonna try runnin 3dmark06 on a loop now.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#17
Ya I'm not overclocking and I did check the bios settings, voltage, power management stuff, etc and didn't see anything that would be makin the system shutdown. The games are running off the drive and/or CD's (no cd cracks, etc.).

Gonna try runnin 3dmark06 on a loop now.
Thanks for the input. Loop 3dmark for a while and let us know if it makes it through.

If it does make it through 3dmark, I would say maybe, trying re-installing the games that have problems?
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.17/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#18
try reinstalling .net and dx9 and see if that does anything to help. sometimes if dx9/dx10 crashes or .net crashes in a game/comming out of a game it will cause the computer to crash.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#19
try reinstalling .net and dx9 and see if that does anything to help. sometimes if dx9/dx10 crashes or .net crashes in a game/comming out of a game it will cause the computer to crash.
Thats has a high chance of being the culprit as well.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#20

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#22
install them both, and let usk now how it goes. Definitely its related to video whether its hardware or software. Because it passed orthos all night, but not 3dmark. Hmmm...
 

dadi_oh

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
809 (0.21/day)
Likes
77
Location
Almonte, Canada
System Name Sonny Boy
Processor Q9550 3.8GHz 450X8.5 @ 1.3 Vcore
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-PRO
Cooling OCZ Vendetta 2 - lapped and MX2
Memory 2 X 2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500 1080MHz 5-5-5-15-2T 2.1V
Video Card(s) 5870 Eyefinity + GT 240 Physx
Storage WD Caviar Black 640
Display(s) 3X AOC 23" 1920X1080 = 5760X1080
Case HAF922 - 3X 200mm fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard - whatever
Power Supply Ultra LSP 750W
Software Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
#23
I had an issue once where I was Orthos stable but would crash in 3DMark loop. But it was because I had overclocked my FSB to 535MHz. Dropped it to 485MHz and all was fine. So it was a limitation of my Northbridge to work properly with the PCIe slot at such high frequencies.

I think that you said you have not overclocked right? So your FSB is something like 266?

One thought that I had was maybe your Northbridge is overheating. That might lead to video instability but not Orthos instability. You might try touching your Northbridge heatsink with your finger to see if it running really hot. If so, point a fan at it and see if it helps stability.

Kinda grasping at straws but might be worth a shot.
 

Chicken Patty

WCG Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
28,599 (7.79/day)
Likes
12,629
Location
Miami, Florida
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (WI-FI AC)
Cooling EK Water blocks P280 Water Cooling Kit
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (OS)// OCZ Vertex 4 128GB // WD Black 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 40" LED 4K TV
Case Corsair Obsidian 900D
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 120-G2
Software Windows 10 64 Bit Home Edition
Benchmark Scores Real man crunch for TPU! :)
#24
I had an issue once where I was Orthos stable but would crash in 3DMark loop. But it was because I had overclocked my FSB to 535MHz. Dropped it to 485MHz and all was fine. So it was a limitation of my Northbridge to work properly with the PCIe slot at such high frequencies.

I think that you said you have not overclocked right? So your FSB is something like 266?

One thought that I had was maybe your Northbridge is overheating. That might lead to video instability but not Orthos instability. You might try touching your Northbridge heatsink with your finger to see if it running really hot. If so, point a fan at it and see if it helps stability.

Kinda grasping at straws but might be worth a shot.
thats also a very good point.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Processor E6850
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Corsair Nautilus 500
Memory 2 X 1G DDR2 Corsair 8500
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 Ultra KO
Storage Seagate 500GB SATA 16MB, Maxtor 300GB SATA, 16MBMaxtor 200GB SATA 8MB
Display(s) Gateway FHD2400 24"
Case Cooler Master 832
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Kingwin Mach 1 800 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium & Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores 14072 3dMark06
#25
Ok after installing Directx and .net again my PC shut off again while looping 3Dmark06. I am running my RAM settings on auto so its showin up as running at 800mhz. I just installed the latest evga 780i bios, pulled off my soundblaster, extra case fans, and am running 3dmark on a loop again.

I did notice that my northbridge is getting very hot. Its using the factory cooling fan too. could the fan be causing problems? i'm using liquid cooling for my cpu so I figured it would be o.k. to use the northbridge fan.

At this point I'm thinking of rma'ing both my board and vid card since one of the two seems like the problem.